real loud high pitch whistle noise at startup sometimes hmmm - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

real loud high pitch whistle noise at startup sometimes hmmm

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Specific Model Forums > 1st Gen Forums > S10 / S15
New User? Register Forgot Password

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-19-2010, 07:57 PM   #1
i saw what you did there!

User is: OffLine
real loud high pitch whistle noise at startup sometimes hmmm

well i have never seen or heard this noise ever before on any vehicle and ive been working on them and owning them since 1994, even own a repair shop biz and seen tons of vehicles including these trucks.....and just never seen this before.

and well my 91 recently has developed an odd sound every when i start it up after just having ran it across town real quick.

its a very loud odd high pitch whistle like noise and i cant tell if its coming from under the hood or under the truck by the tranny because by the time i get the hood popped it quits doing it or if i rev it up it will go away within a few seconds usually.

really odd......

right after you fire it up and its running is when it does it, not during cranking time,

wtf could it be?

its annoying.

only thing i can think is an odd vacuum hose or fitting leak

idle is kinda high in the truck now that i disconnected the EGR valve recently in which is the only thing ive changed and yes i plugged off the vacuum hose for it

sometimes it will do it long enough to put it into gear and drive it about 30 feet then it quits.

it only does it after having just run it and when its warmed up fully.

never when cold or first start of the day

weird.,

runs great strong perfect no issues otherwise.

any ideas?

maybe IAC motor is messing up. related to high idle anyways?

i do have a CEL code recently and its for the TPS sensor.