Broken cab mount - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

Broken cab mount

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Specific Model Forums > 1st Gen Forums > S10 / S15
New User? Register Forgot Password


 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-08-2009, 12:27 AM   #1
Registered User
 
K-Slice's Avatar
 
Age: 24
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 33
Location: Traverse City, MI
User is: OffLine
Broken cab mount

So I just bought my S10 the other day, got a good look underneith and found the passenger cab mount is rusted through and broken.

Now my jimmy had this too but I just ignored it, but this truck I plan on keeping and want to fix it. To be honest I'm really not sure how cab mounts work or how to separate the body from the frame...

Hope someone here can help.
Thanks.
Old 11-08-2009, 12:41 AM   #2
little mouse on a scooter
 
Built2NV's Avatar
 
Age: 25
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 726
Location: Long Island, NY
User is: OffLine
Re: Broken cab mount

Its not too bad its just a lot of work. You need to take everything out. Brake booster, heatercore/blower box, all the vents system behind the dash, the dash, pull the carpet back and rip out all parts that connect to the pedal like the clutch, brakes, and accelerator cable. Steering needs to come out as well, disconnect fuse panel, etc. Its a lot of work but to remove the cab its just 4 bolts and pick it up lol.

Edit: Forgot front fenders, inners, and hood lol
Old 11-08-2009, 10:14 AM   #3
ASE certified MasterTech
 
jtcfanof3's Avatar
 
Age: 38
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8,685
Location: A little here and a little there....
User is: OffLine
Re: Broken cab mount

Or you could just replace the cab mount. They sell them, I have an extra if you go that way. Check your floorpan as well along with the inner rocker panel, they may be rusted as well, if so then you have more work ahead of you because the cab mount is attached to the floor and rocker. DO you have access to a welder and or abilities? If not swapping cabs may be the way for you to go.
Old 11-08-2009, 04:29 PM   #4
i saw what you did there!
 
fast68chevy's Avatar
 
Age: 36
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 3,571
Location: Lincoln IL
User is: OffLine
Re: Broken cab mount

ive had a few that were like this and i just let them go and they were fine.

even my 91 now has a rusted out broken pass side front mount

so common

the full size trucks were worse about this problem though.

by far

we always just jack up the cab and stick blocks between the cab and rame rail

i there is enough floor left anyways

sometimes there are no floors or supports left at all and the front the cab floats around

the steering column keeps the cab in place yay

driven many this way over the years

pedo bear avatar haha great

Last edited by fast68chevy; 11-08-2009 at 04:31 PM.
Old 11-08-2009, 11:08 PM   #5
Registered User
 
K-Slice's Avatar
 
Age: 24
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 33
Location: Traverse City, MI
User is: OffLine
Re: Broken cab mount

Im not sure if its the "cab mount: that's broken.. I tried to draw what it would look like if it was new and the part that's rusted out is in red:

It;s like a piece of metal that sticks below the cab and is surrounded by bushings (i guess) and gas a bold through the middle..

The floor pan is decent, the top of tat bolt is just resting on the floor now since the other part rusted. It almost seems to me that if i could find something to inject that whole area with that would become rigid that it would hold good. I don't know what I'd use, some kinda plaster or something... Any idea for somwthing I could use for that?

I don't need this truck to be like new or ever real pretty. I just dont want it to die a premature death becasue of something stupid like this.

OH! And thanks for the help so far!
Old 02-23-2010, 09:13 PM   #6
junkyard dog
 
rusty7983's Avatar
 
Age: 40
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 164
Location: hohenwald, tn
User is: OffLine
Re: Broken cab mount

what holds the bolt in? is it a nut? or something special? i need to change my mounts and fix the drivers rotted floor. everywhere i look, there isn't a nut. how do i replace it?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:42 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
SEO by vBSEO
vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.