92 s10 temp sensor issue - S-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 12-15-2007, 10:13 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12

User is: jumpingjohn is offline
92 s10 temp sensor issue

had a 92 s10 for about 1 1/2 years. ever since i have had it, the remp has read nothing never moves. i have regularly checked the coolant leel.

recently i topped it off, and now the gauge says i am overheating, maxed out. and it tells me to check gauges. i know it isnt overheating, it is just messed up.

i was just boggled why it would all of a sudden change after 1.5 years.

Does anybody have a ny suggestions? how to fix this problem?

jumpingjohn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 12-15-2007, 10:51 AM
Registered User
 
s-dime blaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Texas
Age: 31
Posts: 18

User is: s-dime blaze is offline
Send a message via AIM to s-dime blaze Send a message via Yahoo to s-dime blaze
Re: 92 s10 temp sensor issue

new thermostat maybe
s-dime blaze is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 12-15-2007, 11:39 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12

User is: jumpingjohn is offline
Re: 92 s10 temp sensor issue

already put new thermostat in
jumpingjohn is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 12-15-2007, 10:48 PM
Registered User
 
DeathSlinger00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amherst, OH
Age: 30
Posts: 655

User is: DeathSlinger00 is offline
Send a message via AIM to DeathSlinger00 Send a message via MSN to DeathSlinger00 Send a message via Yahoo to DeathSlinger00
Re: 92 s10 temp sensor issue

the beginning of your post was making me think you should replace the sensor. but with it now maxing out, i'm thinking some kinda wiring/gounding issue.
DeathSlinger00 is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 12-15-2007, 11:39 PM
Rarely goes over 20mph
 
beaniebmx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Iowa
Posts: 3,164

User is: beaniebmx is offline
Re: 92 s10 temp sensor issue

more than likely the rear sensor for the gauge is bad.

mine did the same, when i first bought it, it would stay at the very bottom, then it pegged to the top at start up, and then it started to fluctuate.. it would go from flat bottom, to pegged at the top so fast it would make a ticking sound, and it would tick 1-2 times a second randomly, kinda like dragging a stick down a metal picket fence randomly.

the weird part is, i have an aftermarket water temperature gauge thats screwed into the thermostat housing where the stock one was, but the gauge still jumped around and acted weird.

which leads me to beleive its the rear gauge sensor.



03 S10 Ext Cab-BD 3.5" bagged- 18/20s its ORANGE
1991 s10 reg cab 5spd- SOLD- biggest mistake
1985 2wd 2dr jimmy-totaled- samwhiched in a 5 car pileup
beaniebmx is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 12-16-2007, 12:19 AM
Registered User
 
Blktalon456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: GSO
Age: 39
Posts: 38

User is: Blktalon456 is offline
Send a message via Yahoo to Blktalon456
Re: 92 s10 temp sensor issue

I have a 93 2.8l and it stays at the bottom and never moves. Which sensor is for the gauge and which one is for the computer? I know of two. One on the t-stat housing(2 wire) and the other on the front of the driver side head(1 wire). I could use some insight on this as I want my gauge to work.
Blktalon456 is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 12-16-2007, 11:11 AM
Rarely goes over 20mph
 
beaniebmx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Iowa
Posts: 3,164

User is: beaniebmx is offline
Re: 92 s10 temp sensor issue

the one on the back of the block near firewall is for the gauge.



03 S10 Ext Cab-BD 3.5" bagged- 18/20s its ORANGE
1991 s10 reg cab 5spd- SOLD- biggest mistake
1985 2wd 2dr jimmy-totaled- samwhiched in a 5 car pileup
beaniebmx is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 12-16-2007, 12:34 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12

User is: jumpingjohn is offline
Re: 92 s10 temp sensor issue

well about a year ago, i replaced the sensor on the thermostat housing. but it didnt change anything at all.

so does anybody have any pics of the other sensor or can give me instructions on where it is. and what it looks like
thanks
jumpingjohn is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 12-16-2007, 02:16 PM
Rarely goes over 20mph
 
beaniebmx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Iowa
Posts: 3,164

User is: beaniebmx is offline
Re: 92 s10 temp sensor issue

its on the very back of the head, basically touching the firewall by the fuel filter.

its on the drivers side, right by the valve cover, has a 1 wire plug going into it

but mines a 2.5l 4cyl so it might be in a diffrent area then the 4.3



03 S10 Ext Cab-BD 3.5" bagged- 18/20s its ORANGE
1991 s10 reg cab 5spd- SOLD- biggest mistake
1985 2wd 2dr jimmy-totaled- samwhiched in a 5 car pileup
beaniebmx is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 12-16-2007, 11:07 PM
Registered User
 
Blktalon456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: GSO
Age: 39
Posts: 38

User is: Blktalon456 is offline
Send a message via Yahoo to Blktalon456
Re: 92 s10 temp sensor issue

Alright for all the 2.8 tb people the temp gauge sensor is on the FRONT of the driver side head. A single green wire is ran to it. I just grounded the wire against the cab while running and the gauge went straight to 260. Let go and it dropped back to the bottom. Now I just need to find the sender at the parts house and I and everyone else that has this problem can fix the issue. Good luck people.
Blktalon456 is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 12-17-2007, 01:22 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Age: 45
Posts: 64

User is: basist_4 is offline
Re: 92 s10 temp sensor issue

On the 4.3...The one wire sensor for the temp gauge is on the passenger side...The 2 wire sensor by the thermostat is for the ecu...

easy way to check the 1 wire sensor (regardless if it's a 4 or 6 cyl) is to take the plug off the sensor and use a paper clip to ground it to the block...with someone sitting in the cab...turn the ignition on (you don't need to start the engine) and when you touch the paper clip to the block, the gauge should peg...when it's ungrounded, it should read zero...

with the issue you have, where the gauge is going from 0 to max...it sounds like you might have a issue w/ the wire...check/trace it to see if it's grounding out against something.

FWIW...my temp gauge didn't work when I bought the truck...I had to replace the sensor that went into the block (the 1-wire sensor) AND change the thermostat to get my temp gauge to work.

Hope this helps

91 GMC Sonoma 4.3 V-6 Auto...bone stock
ext. cab

Want a good body? Work at it. Want to be a success? Work at it. Want to be truly exceptional? Be a touch insane...
You need a little bit of insanity to do great things."
- Henry Rollins
basist_4 is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 12-17-2007, 03:15 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12

User is: jumpingjohn is offline
Re: 92 s10 temp sensor issue

thank you for the input.

i will try this out.
thanks blktalon456
your help is appreciated b/c its a 2.8
and thanks basist4 on how to test if this is it
jumpingjohn is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 10-21-2013, 08:16 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 137

User is: stihlayota is offline
Re: 92 s10 temp sensor issue

just tonight i noticed driving my temp sensor was dead cold. clearly it wasnt under 100 after driving 35 mins. the gauge was working perfectly for a good 5 months i wanna say. so i squeezed the coolant hoses and didnt feel anything (empty) i filled the rad, and topped off the overflow. ran the truck and still dont feel any pressure of the coolant in the hoses. the gauge didnt move either. should i just go with my gut instinct of a new thermostat? as long as everything is working fine i really could give a shit about the gauge working, i just dont wanna risk it overheating due to a stuck thermostat and then im sol. this is my daily
stihlayota is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 12-07-2014, 04:02 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 15

User is: legotech7 is offline
Re: 92 s10 temp sensor issue

I know these are older threads, but I' m having the same issues on my 91 s10 with a 4.3. My gauge was reading intermittently. When I turned the engine on it looked like it was reading normally, and sitting at idle it would go up to just above 210 and stay there. So this is what I did to try to fix it. I changed the thermostat, and the sensor to the ecu, I replaced the sensor to the temp. gauge, witch is on the side of the head on the 4.3's... Also noticed that the wire to that sensor was frayed at the connector, so I replaced that as well. Flushed the system, and bled all the air out.. Good to go right? Nope..... The gauge now reading about 240and stays there. I know its not over heating,... the engine runs smooth and my gas mileage is at about 18mpg... So just to be sure I have an inferred temp gauge with the laser beam thingy... At the thermostat housing its reading at about 180 to 185 , and at the gauge sensor is at about 190 to 205... Well with in range and thats after a 30 min. of driving..So the only thing I suspect is the faulty gauge at the cluster. So I decided to get an after market gauge and a pod to relocate it. I don't trust the original gauge at all... When I get that done, I will post up the results
legotech7 is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 06-29-2015, 11:01 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Age: 61
Posts: 7

User is: Herb is offline
Re: 92 s10 temp sensor issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by basist_4 View Post
On the 4.3...The one wire sensor for the temp gauge is on the passenger side...The 2 wire sensor by the thermostat is for the ecu...

easy way to check the 1 wire sensor (regardless if it's a 4 or 6 cyl) is to take the plug off the sensor and use a paper clip to ground it to the block...with someone sitting in the cab...turn the ignition on (you don't need to start the engine) and when you touch the paper clip to the block, the gauge should peg...when it's ungrounded, it should read zero...

with the issue you have, where the gauge is going from 0 to max...it sounds like you might have a issue w/ the wire...check/trace it to see if it's grounding out against something.

FWIW...my temp gauge didn't work when I bought the truck...I had to replace the sensor that went into the block (the 1-wire sensor) AND change the thermostat to get my temp gauge to work.

Hope this helps
I have a 93 GMC S15 Sonoma SLE with a 4.3L. I cannot find a wire on the passenger side, other than the plug wires, obviously. On the Drivers side see what could be the sensor and wire. It's a single wire and it's white. Did they move the sensor for the gauge to the drivers side some time after 91? My Chiltons manual is no help at all.
Herb is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 06-30-2015, 06:10 AM
Registered User
 
24digger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central Indiana
Age: 52
Posts: 2,021

User is: 24digger is offline
Re: 92 s10 temp sensor issue

My 94 is on the drivers side with the CPI engine. Which engine do you have TBI or CPI? My 89 is on the passenger sideTBI, thinking maybe you may have a CPI.
24digger is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 06-30-2015, 08:00 AM
Boozebag
 
Mad Max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 6,542

User is: Mad Max is offline
Re: 92 s10 temp sensor issue

I have an 85 3.4 4x4. I have replaced the temp sensor 3 times since 2002.

The test is simple. It was mentioned earlier. With ignition 'on' or truck running, dead ground the temp sensor wire. Gauge will peg. The wire is always green on a first gen S10 - unless someone has hacked the wiring harmess.
The sensor is really a rheostat (sort of like a radio loudness control) unless you have an idiot light.
If gauge doesn't peg, next is a bad wire (broken connection) It is pretty rare the gauge goes bad, although in rare cases it can.

I have also replaced the POS OP sensor 5 times!!!

S10 addiction: (1)'82 S10, 383, 700R4, Shorty,
(2) '85 S10, 3.4, 700R4 4x4 stretch cab (Redneck Truck), (3) '90 S10 2.5, 5 speed shorty,
(4) '91 S10, Built 3.4, 5 speed shorty (Voodoo Truck), (5) '92 S10, 2.5, 5 speed shorty, (Barbie Truck),
(6) '83 S10, 327, TH 350, shorty (13.00 best),
(7) '92 S10, 2.5 5 speed, Shorty,
(8) 1979 LUV, Buick 3.8 V6, TH 350 Shorty.
Mad Max is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome