Replacing Broken Wheel Studs??? - S-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 09-18-2005, 03:47 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Age: 37
Posts: 13

User is: haymaker11 is offline
Replacing Broken Wheel Studs???

HELP PLEASE!!! broke three wheel studs on one of the rear wheels of my 95S10. how do i replace/ change them? anyone know how? is it hard? easy>? how is it done?

haymaker11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 09-18-2005, 05:43 PM
the youngest has been
 
tippmann243's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: FLORISSANT MO
Posts: 4,357

User is: tippmann243 is offline
Re: Replacing Broken Wheel Studs???

pull the drum off and beat them out then use a lug nut and an impact to pull the new one in place

-mark
89 s10 blazer 5.7 vortec/t56 0411 pcm powered
03 zr2 s10 with some mods
tippmann243 is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 09-18-2005, 07:24 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Age: 37
Posts: 13

User is: haymaker11 is offline
Re: Replacing Broken Wheel Studs???

Quote:
Originally Posted by tippmann243
pull the drum off and beat them out then use a lug nut and an impact to pull the new one in place
are you sure it's that easy??? there is a big plate that covers the backside of the drum/hub area .... you can't see the back of the studs at all. check this link to see the plate i'm talking about look at the pic: http://www.s10forum.com/forum/attach...55772&viewer=1
haymaker11 is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 09-18-2005, 07:27 PM
No more switches
 
CustomS10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Western Mass
Age: 33
Posts: 13,451

User is: CustomS10 is offline
Send a message via AIM to CustomS10
Re: Replacing Broken Wheel Studs???

i thought u had to take the axle out to get them out.

-Ben-
Dime sold...but not forgotten
CustomS10 is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 09-18-2005, 07:56 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Age: 37
Posts: 13

User is: haymaker11 is offline
Re: Replacing Broken Wheel Studs???

Quote:
Originally Posted by CustomS10
i thought u had to take the axle out to get them out.
i had feared that. this pic shows that plate that covers the drum.hub area

Last edited by haymaker11; 09-18-2005 at 07:58 PM.
haymaker11 is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 09-18-2005, 08:07 PM
Getting faster
 
ZZ4Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Akron, Ohio
Age: 35
Posts: 1,220

User is: ZZ4Blazer is offline
Send a message via AIM to ZZ4Blazer
Re: Replacing Broken Wheel Studs???

I had enough room to get them in from behind the axle when I broke mine. All I had to do was pull the drum off. Air hammer will usually make short work of them as well.

Jim 94 Stepside
New v8 combo coming
5/6 drop QA1/hotchkis
ATS tall spindle/14" Z06 brakes
6 speed / 8.5" rear
ZZ4Blazer is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 09-18-2005, 08:31 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Age: 37
Posts: 13

User is: haymaker11 is offline
Re: Replacing Broken Wheel Studs???

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZ4Blazer
I had enough room to get them in from behind the axle when I broke mine. All I had to do was pull the drum off. Air hammer will usually make short work of them as well.
i can't see the studs even because of the plate that seems to cover the backside of the drum.hub as it shows in the pic i supplied. maybe there is a way to remove this plate?>

is yours a second gen?
haymaker11 is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 09-18-2005, 08:40 PM
Getting faster
 
ZZ4Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Akron, Ohio
Age: 35
Posts: 1,220

User is: ZZ4Blazer is offline
Send a message via AIM to ZZ4Blazer
Re: Replacing Broken Wheel Studs???

1st or 2nd, shouldn't be any difference. Your not gonna be able to see the backside of it. Yank the drum off, you'll see the axle flange, and the studs.

If you busted the studs, theyr'e short enough to just about fall out the back of the axle. You'll need to spin the axle around and find the most clearance around the brake stuff to fit the new stud back into the axle flange.

Just need to take 2 minutes and work it in there.

Trust me, theres enough clearance. I've done it myself. Took me maybe 30 minutes to replace them.

Jim 94 Stepside
New v8 combo coming
5/6 drop QA1/hotchkis
ATS tall spindle/14" Z06 brakes
6 speed / 8.5" rear
ZZ4Blazer is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 09-18-2005, 10:09 PM
import killer
 
syclonekid43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Age: 39
Posts: 2,470

User is: syclonekid43 is offline
Send a message via AIM to syclonekid43 Send a message via Yahoo to syclonekid43
Re: Replacing Broken Wheel Studs???

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZ4Blazer
1st or 2nd, shouldn't be any difference. Your not gonna be able to see the backside of it. Yank the drum off, you'll see the axle flange, and the studs.

If you busted the studs, theyr'e short enough to just about fall out the back of the axle. You'll need to spin the axle around and find the most clearance around the brake stuff to fit the new stud back into the axle flange.

Just need to take 2 minutes and work it in there.

Trust me, theres enough clearance. I've done it myself. Took me maybe 30 minutes to replace them.
x2. the picture that was posted was the backing plate. that hold the shoes,springs,and wheel cylinder. it has nothing to do with the wheel studs.

91' syclone (0465)
88' tuneport gta
93' 4dr jimmy
93' blazer
88' s-10 blazer (2 wd)
01' raptor
97' mxz 670 yamaha ysr 50 with a 125 cc 6-speed
THE SURGEON GENERAL WARNING NEVER SAID ANYTHING ABOUT SMOKING A FORD
syclonekid43 is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 09-18-2005, 10:12 PM
Registered User
 
pvfjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Age: 32
Posts: 43

User is: pvfjr is offline
Re: Replacing Broken Wheel Studs???

Quote:
Originally Posted by tippmann243
use a lug nut and an impact to pull the new one in place
Don't ever do that. You're supposed to used a press. Drawing them in by the threads is a very bad practice, any good mechanic will tell you that. It's easy to do it that way, but the torque required to seat them properly will over stress the studs. Either that, or they won't be seated properly. I'm guilty of doing it wrong too, until someone who knew better educated me.
pvfjr is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 09-19-2005, 01:05 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Age: 37
Posts: 13

User is: haymaker11 is offline
Re: Replacing Broken Wheel Studs???

Quote:
Originally Posted by syclonekid43
x2. the picture that was posted was the backing plate. that hold the shoes,springs,and wheel cylinder. it has nothing to do with the wheel studs.
actually it does. read my posts, i said the backing plate covers the entrie hub where the studs are located, making it impossible to get at them from the back end with that in place. you have to remove the drum, shoes etc..to be able toi see the hub and stus. there isn't much room back there champ. post something i didn't already know next time.
haymaker11 is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 09-19-2005, 01:13 PM
NO H-body, New Dime
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Birmingham, AL
Age: 32
Posts: 2,526

User is: IceDime is offline
Send a message via AIM to IceDime
Re: Replacing Broken Wheel Studs???

just take the axle out, its a slam! Remove the wheel and drum. Then remove your pumpkin cover and spin the axle till you see the pinion shaft in the middle of the gears. There is a small bolt going through it. Remove that bolt and the pinion shaft will literally fall out. Then there is a c clip that just falls out if you push the axle in towards the gears. Then you can just slide the axle out. Its really easy. remove bolt, shaft, c clip, then pull axle out. SLAM. Then you can take it somewhere and get it pressed in or use the lugnut method. If you use the lugnut way go to lowes and get 3 or 4 grade 8 washers and put them between the lugnut and axle. This will spread out the impact from all the torque so you damage the axle flange or the stud. good luck buddy. PM me if you need help.

Bagged 2000 s-10 built to DRAG for trade for STOCK or close to it daily

http://www.s10forum.com/classifieds/...&cat=22&page=1



Vertically-Challenged Alabama Chapter V.P.

IceDime is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 09-19-2005, 03:26 PM
Getting faster
 
ZZ4Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Akron, Ohio
Age: 35
Posts: 1,220

User is: ZZ4Blazer is offline
Send a message via AIM to ZZ4Blazer
Re: Replacing Broken Wheel Studs???

You don't need to go through all that. I busted one of mine right before I was leaving to go racing one night. They won't let me race with a stud missing. It took all of maybe 30 minutes to replace it in mine.

All you have to do is pull the drum off. And spin the axle for the most clearance.

Jim 94 Stepside
New v8 combo coming
5/6 drop QA1/hotchkis
ATS tall spindle/14" Z06 brakes
6 speed / 8.5" rear
ZZ4Blazer is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 09-19-2005, 03:54 PM
the youngest has been
 
tippmann243's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: FLORISSANT MO
Posts: 4,357

User is: tippmann243 is offline
Re: Replacing Broken Wheel Studs???

Quote:
Originally Posted by pvfjr
Don't ever do that. You're supposed to used a press. Drawing them in by the threads is a very bad practice, any good mechanic will tell you that. It's easy to do it that way, but the torque required to seat them properly will over stress the studs. Either that, or they won't be seated properly. I'm guilty of doing it wrong too, until someone who knew better educated me.
been doing it this way for years and never had one problem

-mark
89 s10 blazer 5.7 vortec/t56 0411 pcm powered
03 zr2 s10 with some mods
tippmann243 is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 09-20-2005, 04:36 PM
Sky.... here i come
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Michigan
Age: 29
Posts: 153

User is: sonoma-project is offline
Send a message via AIM to sonoma-project
Re: Replacing Broken Wheel Studs???

How much different would it be to change the front stud in my 1997 S10 4WD?? I snapped one off putting my tires on last night.

1997 S-10, Black, 4x4, V6, 32" Wild Country's
Just got shackled 3/2/05, full 2 inches all the way around
Keyways, 8/15/05, 1 more inch
9/10/05 Body lift, full 5 inches of lift
9/19/05 32x11.5x15 Wild Country TXR's
sonoma-project is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 09-20-2005, 04:44 PM
my hoopty
 
5timedime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gastonia, just west of Charlotte, NC
Age: 38
Posts: 1,946

User is: 5timedime is offline
Send a message via Yahoo to 5timedime
Re: Replacing Broken Wheel Studs???

Quote:
Originally Posted by tippmann243
been doing it this way for years and never had one problem
x2. no problem. just make sure you got an extra lugnut or two and some type of spacer between the nut and the axle. I used to use old fwd axle shaft nuts.
If nothing else, go ahead and knock out the broken ones, and then you will see how much room you have to work around the inside of the brake shoes.



'89 x-cab 4.3 auto. dime number 6
5timedime is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 09-21-2005, 12:53 AM
Pushrod for life!
 
pare_john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Saint-Eustache, PQ
Age: 37
Posts: 3,480

User is: pare_john is offline
Send a message via AIM to pare_john Send a message via MSN to pare_john
Re: Replacing Broken Wheel Studs???

Quote:
Originally Posted by pvfjr
Don't ever do that. You're supposed to used a press. Drawing them in by the threads is a very bad practice, any good mechanic will tell you that. It's easy to do it that way, but the torque required to seat them properly will over stress the studs. Either that, or they won't be seated properly. I'm guilty of doing it wrong too, until someone who knew better educated me.
any mechanic who says that has too much time on their hands. you do not need to go through all that. pulling them through with a lugnut works just fine. i have been doing it that way for yearsand never had a problem


1992 Chevy S10, 3.1L V6 5 speed. Bored .40 over, 272 crane cam, heads ported,polished,plained. Decked block. Port matched intake.
Valve job. High compression pistons. Roller rockers. AFPR. Compression 9.5/1. 3.43 rearend. 2/2 drop. Taurus E-Fan



www.s-series.org
pare_john is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 09-22-2005, 09:35 AM
the youngest has been
 
tippmann243's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: FLORISSANT MO
Posts: 4,357

User is: tippmann243 is offline
Re: Replacing Broken Wheel Studs???

but then again what would i know im not ASE certified or anything

-mark
89 s10 blazer 5.7 vortec/t56 0411 pcm powered
03 zr2 s10 with some mods
tippmann243 is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 01-07-2015, 06:05 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Age: 22
Posts: 59

User is: 0Evil1 is offline
Garage
Re: Replacing Broken Wheel Studs???

Thanks everyone.. I get to replace some on my new 90' s-10 2wd... I will let y'all know how it goes for me in 0 degree weather!... got to love not having a garage!
0Evil1 is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 01-08-2015, 12:20 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Age: 22
Posts: 59

User is: 0Evil1 is offline
Garage
Re: Replacing Broken Wheel Studs???

I will say, the hammer/heat/pb blaster.. I have replaced two... its 0 degrees with a wind chill of -14 right now so im giving up for the night.
0Evil1 is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 01-08-2015, 04:39 AM
Dichotomy In One
 
Blazed5spd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Pasadena, Ca
Age: 27
Posts: 523

User is: Blazed5spd is offline
Re: Replacing Broken Wheel Studs???

Nobody mentioned it but I wouldn't pull them in dry, when I pulled the new ones in with the impact I used a buttload of grease on the threads and around where they slide into the axle face....
Blazed5spd is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 01-08-2015, 07:07 AM
BLU BALLER
 
xskarekrowx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: S-haven, MS
Posts: 143

User is: xskarekrowx is offline
Re: Replacing Broken Wheel Studs???

I've never used grease, always done it the way most others. Knock em out from the front, then push the new one in from the back, stack some washers, install lug nut, impact, done. Just realized this thread is from 05', glad it helped ya though.

95 S10 LS 2.2 5spd
Fully bagged, caddy tails, fully shaved, and more shit.
Built not Bought

http://www.s10forum.com/forum/f30/pr...nished-667738/
xskarekrowx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome