Rear End Gear oil - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

Rear End Gear oil

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Engine and Drivetrain Tech > Transmission & Rearend
New User? Register Forgot Password

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-16-2007, 09:40 PM   #1

Question Rear End Gear oil

How do you change out the gear oil in the rear end? How much oil do you put back in? Where do you put it back in? How do you drain it?
Sorry for the dumb questions but I have never done it before and want to be fully prepared this weekend when I do it.

Thanks Guys your the best.
Old 08-16-2007, 10:06 PM   #2
Who ya gonna call?

User is: OffLine
Re: Rear End Gear oil

First remove the lower bolts around the differential cover and just loosen the top ones.

Then use a screwdriver to pry open the differential cover allowing the fluid to drain into a bucket or drain pan.

Once all the fluid drains out remove the rest of the differential cover bolts and the cover.

Use a clean rag to wipe the cover off and clean up the puddled up gear oil in the bottom of the differential.

Using a gasket scraper or screwdriver scrape away the old gasket from around the differential cover and the differential case.

Apply a thin coat of RTV sealant around the inside edge of the differential cover and stick the new gasket onto it making sure the holes line up

Bolt the cover back on using a criss-cross pattern (don't know what the bolts should be torqued to, just make sure they are tight)

On the backside of the differential there is a fill hole (mine is on the passenger side) You may need to clean off the dirt to find it but it is there. Unscrew the plug and fill the differential to the bottom of the fill hole. (mine took about two quarts) Put the plug back in and your done. Check the fluid level again after you drive it some.
Old 08-17-2007, 07:08 AM   #3
no longer has a 95