4l60e to 700r4 swap - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

4l60e to 700r4 swap

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Engine and Drivetrain Tech > Transmission & Rearend
New User? Register Forgot Password


 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-07-2005, 12:36 AM   #1
Registered User
 
fatsak's Avatar
 
Age: 41
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 391
Location: cape girardeau, mo
User is: OffLine
4l60e to 700r4 swap

is this a direct swap or is if a pain i know it bolts up but what bout the wirinc and the comp in the jimmy
Old 02-07-2005, 05:00 AM   #2
Registered User
 
dumpeds10's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 383
Location: scottsdale az
User is: OffLine
Re: 4l60e to 700r4 swap

why would you want to switch to a 700r4 the 4l60e are a much stronger tranny
Old 02-07-2005, 05:51 AM   #3
doofus
 
93s10inprog's Avatar
 
Age: 28
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 774
Location: Edwardsburg Michigan
User is: OffLine
Re: 4l60e to 700r4 swap

I want to know if this will work also, the 700r4 is a much more common tranny and I have like 3 of them laying around. so will this work? I really need my truck back so Im going for the quickest way out, plus I don't have the 700 for a new tranny.

Chad
Old 02-07-2005, 06:01 AM   #4
Registered User
 
Age: 60
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 7,255
Location: NEPA
User is: OffLine
Re: 4l60e to 700r4 swap

Yes it should work, but you will not be able to get the SES light to go out without reprograming it. You'll have to do a little wiring to get the convertor to lock up, but that's no major issue since the sell cheap kits to do it for non-ECM controlled vehicles. or you can just change the pressure switch inside the tranny and save the money of the kit.
Old 02-07-2005, 10:21 AM   #5
LT1 Powered
 
Navecm's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,463
Location: Southern NH
User is: OffLine
Re: 4l60e to 700r4 swap

Quote: Originally Posted by dumpeds10
why would you want to switch to a 700r4 the 4l60e are a much stronger tranny
Its the same transmission, just not electronically controlled, so strength isn't much of an issue, ive seen some 700r4s take a beating.

Anyway the main difference that you will have to hook up is that kick down cable.
Old 02-07-2005, 10:52 AM   #6
doofus
 
93s10inprog's Avatar
 
Age: 28
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 774
Location: Edwardsburg Michigan
User is: OffLine
Re: 4l60e to 700r4 swap

Yes it should work, but you will not be able to get the SES light to go out without reprograming it. You'll have to do a little wiring to get the convertor to lock up, but that's no major issue since the sell cheap kits to do it for non-ECM controlled vehicles. or you can just change the pressure switch inside the tranny and save the money of the kit.



How do I do this?

Chad
Old 02-07-2005, 04:30 PM   #7
Registered User
 
eugenen's Avatar
 
Age: 41
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2,306
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 4l60e to 700r4 swap

Whay year is your truck? I found a post one a Camaro forum where the guy made a small PCB with resistors to simulate the soloniod coils and it fooled the computer.
Old 02-07-2005, 05:44 PM   #8
Registered User
 
sparky2263's Avatar
 
Age: 51
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 151
Location: Melrose, FL
User is: OffLine
Re: 4l60e to 700r4 swap

Yank converters sell a box to hook up to the existing harness to fool the VCM into thinking the electronic trans. is still there. Also provides a lockup function or you can direct wire the lock-up to engage anytime it is in 4th gear.

The 700R4 IS a 4L60. The 4L60E is simply the electronic version.
Old 02-08-2005, 01:31 AM   #9
Static on 20's
 
joebush44's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 117
Location: Southern Minnesota
User is: OffLine
Re: 4l60e to 700r4 swap

Sell all of your 700R4's and buy a 4l60e.
Old 02-08-2005, 09:47 AM   #10
doofus
 
93s10inprog's Avatar
 
Age: 28
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 774
Location: Edwardsburg Michigan
User is: OffLine
Re: 4l60e to 700r4 swap

I don't want another 4l60e, I want to put in a 700r4, how do I do this? and can someone send me a directlink to that yank convertors box, IF IT'S NECESSARY FOR MY TRUCK TO RUN.

thanks,

Chad
Old 02-08-2005, 11:52 AM   #11
.
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 15,118
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 4l60e to 700r4 swap

Quote: Originally Posted by dumpeds10
why would you want to switch to a 700r4 the 4l60e are a much stronger tranny
the 700R4 and 4L60E are both weak ass pieces of shit
Old 02-08-2005, 04:27 PM   #12
your opinion sucks
 
casey53's Avatar
 
Age: 61
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,890
Location: NW IL
User is: OffLine
Re: 4l60e to 700r4 swap

Quote: Originally Posted by 93s10inprog
I want to know if this will work also, the 700r4 is a much more common tranny and I have like 3 of them laying around. so will this work? I really need my truck back so Im going for the quickest way out, plus I don't have the 700 for a new tranny.

Chad
You have too many setting around, send one to me.
Old 02-08-2005, 05:59 PM   #13
Registered User
 
dumpeds10's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 383
Location: scottsdale az
User is: OffLine
Re: 4l60e to 700r4 swap

The swap was pretty easy and only required:

700R4 Transmission (of course).
Plug for TH350 vacuum line.
New kick-down (correct name?) cable.
New rubber trans mount.
New oil-filler tube (old one may be used with some patient bending).
Mechanical speedometer cable connection adapter (later 700R4's came with electric speedometer interface).
Speedometer gears (both shaft and cable).
Change electric connector (provides +12V for torque converter lockup solenoid). Old one was 2-pin, new one is 4-pin.
New flex plate. Only because old flex plate had cracks where it bolts to crank shaft. Look for these and replace if found. May cause torque converter to wobble and leak oil shortly after install, due to excessive oil seal wear.
Relocate cross member about 1" (from original position) towards rear.
Notes:

Original drive-shaft length is OK (doesn't need mod).
Original oil cooler lines are OK (don't need mod).
Original linkage may need changing (if you insist on shifting to 1st gear detent position), otherwise OK.

Last edited by Captain Morgan; 02-09-2005 at 02:17 PM.
Old 02-08-2005, 11:42 PM   #14
Registered User
 
sparky2263's Avatar
 
Age: 51
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 151
Location: Melrose, FL
User is: OffLine
Re: 4l60e to 700r4 swap

Here's how GM sees it with the new trans. numbering system.

First digit is number of forward speeds. Second is mounting ("L" is longitudnal and "T" is transverse). Last 2 digits are relative torque capacity. All trans are referred to by the new system REGARDLESS of what they used to be named (as far as GM is concerned).

Powerglide is a 2L40
TH350 is a 3L60
TH400 is a 3L80
700R4 is a 4L60
200R4 is a 200R4 !!! (j/k think it's a 4L55 but don't remember)
TH125 is a 3T40
TH440T4 is a 4T60 (and new/improved 4T65E)


4L80 has the same gear ratios as a 400 (1,2,3 anyway)

Add yourself an "E" (if applicable) and you have yourself an electronic version.

Last edited by sparky2263; 02-08-2005 at 11:45 PM.
Old 02-09-2005, 02:19 PM   #15
i wanna go fast
 
Rollin Single's Avatar
 
Age: 33
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 700
Location: Central, IL
User is: OffLine
Re: 4l60e to 700r4 swap

Quote: Originally Posted by dumpeds10
New kick-down (correct name?) cable.
Throttle valve cable. You will need to figure out a way to attach the cable to your throttle bellcrank and adjust it properly. If not adjusted correctly you will be swapping transmissions again.
Old 10-25-2005, 09:28 PM   #16
Registered User
 
98Blazer98's Avatar
 
Age: 41
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 46
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 4l60e to 700r4 swap

Quote: Originally Posted by dumpeds10
why would you want to switch to a 700r4 the 4l60e are a much stronger tranny
I don't see how this could be. I too am considering swapping a 700r4 in my 98 blazer. Recently my 4l60e stopped shifting and won't go in reverse. I asked for advice from the forums here and it would said that I possibly cracked the sun shell. In either case, I took the truck to AAMCO and they told me it was internal and would need to be rebuilt. I am absolutely pissed off that I have to put a new tranny in my truck which is why I am considering the 700r4. It was stated that the 700r4 is not as strong but I disagree. I had a 1984 Suburban Silverado 4x4 with a 383 and a 700r4. I used to beat the living hell out of that truck off road and the trans just kept going. The 4l60E in my 98 was working fine when my wife brought the kids home from school, then it wouldn't shift for her on her way to work. The next day I noticed it wouldn't back up. No warning just a POS trans in my opinion.
Old 10-25-2005, 09:30 PM   #17
Registered User
 
eugenen's Avatar
 
Age: 41
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2,306
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 4l60e to 700r4 swap

Well the 4l60e is basically a 700r4 with electronic controls added, supposedly they made other upgrades, but it seems that in some areas they cheapened it up. But other than the bottom valves they are the same basic transmission.
Old 10-26-2005, 06:12 AM   #18
Registered User
 
Age: 60
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 7,255
Location: NEPA
User is: OffLine
Re: 4l60e to 700r4 swap

Quote: Originally Posted by 98Blazer98
I don't see how this could be. I too am considering swapping a 700r4 in my 98 blazer. Recently my 4l60e stopped shifting and won't go in reverse. I asked for advice from the forums here and it would said that I possibly cracked the sun shell. In either case, I took the truck to AAMCO and they told me it was internal and would need to be rebuilt. I am absolutely pissed off that I have to put a new tranny in my truck which is why I am considering the 700r4. It was stated that the 700r4 is not as strong but I disagree. I had a 1984 Suburban Silverado 4x4 with a 383 and a 700r4. I used to beat the living hell out of that truck off road and the trans just kept going. The 4l60E in my 98 was working fine when my wife brought the kids home from school, then it wouldn't shift for her on her way to work. The next day I noticed it wouldn't back up. No warning just a POS trans in my opinion.
If you broke the sun gear shell, it was from not coming to a complete stop, when shifting from reverse to forward. Most people, that have it brake, don't completely stop, when backing out of parking spaces. This problem happens more often in 4WD's, than 2WD's. You're luck to get such good wear from your 84 700R4, since they weren't one of the better years for those trannies. If you're going to trade out your 4l60E for a 700R4, try to use an 87 on up. Both the trannies basicly use the same internal parts, so one shouldn't be that much better than the other. Over the years GM did fix some of the weak points, with these trannies and the aftermarket, took care of some more. The biggest differances between the two is the 4L60E shifts smarter than a 700R4, since it actually has a brain controlling it.
Old 10-26-2005, 06:17 AM   #19
Registered User
 
Age: 60
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 7,255
Location: NEPA
User is: OffLine
Re: 4l60e to 700r4 swap

PS Your tranny should have a shift selector switch on the side of it, to tell the PCM which gear you've selected. I don't know how your PCM will react without that signal. You should be able to add it to a 700R4, but you need a special longer shift shaft and will have to fabricate a bracket to hold it
Old 10-26-2005, 04:46 PM   #20
Registered User
 
98Blazer98's Avatar
 
Age: 41
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 46
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 4l60e to 700r4 swap

Quote: Originally Posted by poconojoe
If you broke the sun gear shell, it was from not coming to a complete stop, when shifting from reverse to forward. Most people, that have it brake, don't completely stop, when backing out of parking spaces. .
Guilty as charged. I do that all the time. Im always in a hury when using the truck so that is a habbit I am going to have to brake. I spoke with a guy at a local tranny shop and he said the same as you. He said he would rebuild the 4l60e for me and put some heavy duty parts in there along with a mild shift kit for $1100 if I r&r it. That makes more sense to me then messing around with the 700r4. My wife and I have been sharing the truck for almost 2 years now. I work from home so we didn't really have the need for 2 vehicles. This kind of works out in the long run because having the blazer down forced me to buy her an 05 Cavalier so that she can get to work. Now I get the blazer all to myself. I wonder what I'll to next

Thanks everyone I really appreciate it. These forums are awesome.
Old 10-26-2005, 07:05 PM   #21
Registered User
 
Age: 60
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 7,255
Location: NEPA
User is: OffLine
Re: 4l60e to 700r4 swap

Quote: Originally Posted by 98Blazer98
I spoke with a guy at a local tranny shop and he said the same as you. He said he would rebuild the 4l60e for me and put some heavy duty parts in there along with a mild shift kit for $1100 if I r&r it.
That sounds a little high, if you're doing all the bull work, of pulling it and installing it. Even with them putting all the HD parts in it. Most of the time, the kit already comes with the extra clutches and stuff, so unless they're putting in all the extras like the teflon coated front pump bushings, the wider sun gear bushing and rear bushing, kevlar band, an updated check valve to extend the 3-4 clutch life and improve the 2-3 shift, enhanced performance,1-2 accumulator spring to firm up the soft 1-2 shifts, Pump Slide Spring to replace the two OEM springs to maintain higher pump volume at high RPM, an oversized accumulator pin (requires reaming the case), updated actuator feed limit valve (requires reaming the valve body), oversize boost valve & sleeve, make sure they replace all the Torrington Bearings, use a heavy duty sun assembly, and of course the 553 (corvette)servo assembly.Also make sure the pump housing is properly shimmed, if its rebuilt, instead of new. I'd call around and ask questions before I'd part with the money.
Old 10-27-2005, 09:09 PM   #22
Registered User
 
98Blazer98's Avatar
 
Age: 41
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 46
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 4l60e to 700r4 swap

Quote: Originally Posted by poconojoe
That sounds a little high, if you're doing all the bull work, of pulling it and installing it. Even with them putting all the HD parts in it. Most of the time, the kit already comes with the extra clutches and stuff, so unless they're putting in all the extras like the teflon coated front pump bushings, the wider sun gear bushing and rear bushing, kevlar band, an updated check valve to extend the 3-4 clutch life and improve the 2-3 shift, enhanced performance,1-2 accumulator spring to firm up the soft 1-2 shifts, Pump Slide Spring to replace the two OEM springs to maintain higher pump volume at high RPM, an oversized accumulator pin (requires reaming the case), updated actuator feed limit valve (requires reaming the valve body), oversize boost valve & sleeve, make sure they replace all the Torrington Bearings, use a heavy duty sun assembly, and of course the 553 (corvette)servo assembly.Also make sure the pump housing is properly shimmed, if its rebuilt, instead of new. I'd call around and ask questions before I'd part with the money.
Im not sure as to the details but I will call him back and ask. All I know is the price includes a complete rebuild along with some heavy duty internals and a mild shift kit. He also indicated that the valve used to lock up the tq-converter causes the converter to slip going in lock up and that he could remedy that as well. If they do the r&r then it will be $1500 out the door with a 3-year 36k warranty. I've called around in my area and he has been the cheapest so far. AAmco want's $2500 to do it and a few other shops have me around $1800-$2200. The dealer wants $2200 for a new one excluding installation. My options are pretty small right now. I can r&r the trans myself very easily but time may be an issue with work and location is another problem. Lucky for me the truck still drives so I can take it where it needs to go if necessary. Im not in a hurry to fix it since we have a brand new car but I hate to see the blazer just sit.

Thanks for the information, I'll read it to the guy and see what he says.
Old 10-27-2005, 09:26 PM   #23
Registered User
 
Age: 60
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 7,255
Location: NEPA
User is: OffLine
Re: 4l60e to 700r4 swap

You might live in an area, where it costs that. I could get bit done by the best shop in my area for that, including the updates and him pulling it and putting it back in. But in comparisonng my girl freind live by balitamore (about 180 miles away), we just had to have her 2001 ford ranger 4wd tranny done and the best deal we could find down there was $2600, to have it done right. I'd have brought it up here, but even though I know the guy for 20 years, he still has a 2 week waiting list. He'd have done it sooner, if I'd pull it, but sex only gets her so much and that was past the limil. If you feel conferable after talking to this guy and checking around, I'd go for it. Don't forget to check some of the online places, even look at some of the rebuilder on Ebay. I got a FWD tranny off one of them once, for less than the yards around here would sell me a used one for. Of course a lot of times you have the hassle of sending the core back.

PS As long as the guy is a member of one of the rebuilders assoc, they generally keep up and the issues and fixes, with most of the trannies

Last edited by poconojoe; 10-27-2005 at 09:28 PM.
Old 10-27-2005, 09:49 PM   #24
Registered User
 
98Blazer98's Avatar
 
Age: 41
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 46
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 4l60e to 700r4 swap

Quote: Originally Posted by poconojoe
You might live in an area, where it costs that. I could get bit done by the best shop in my area for that, including the updates and him pulling it and putting it back in. But in comparisonng my girl freind live by balitamore (about 180 miles away), we just had to have her 2001 ford ranger 4wd tranny done and the best deal we could find down there was $2600, to have it done right. I'd have brought it up here, but even though I know the guy for 20 years, he still has a 2 week waiting list. He'd have done it sooner, if I'd pull it, but sex only gets her so much and that was past the limil. If you feel conferable after talking to this guy and checking around, I'd go for it. Don't forget to check some of the online places, even look at some of the rebuilder on Ebay. I got a FWD tranny off one of them once, for less than the yards around here would sell me a used one for. Of course a lot of times you have the hassle of sending the core back.

PS As long as the guy is a member of one of the rebuilders assoc, they generally keep up and the issues and fixes, with most of the trannies
This guy has been in business for almost 30 years. His shop is family owned and operated. What I liked most about this guy was when I called him and told him I had a 98 blazer, he stopped me and said "let me guess, no reverse and it won't shift right?". Right then a started to feel comfortable. He then told me about the problems with the trannys around that year and what he would do for me. Everyone else just offered to rebuild it for a higher price. Im going to call him in the morning and throw a few more questions his way and if I like what I here then I will put him at the top of the list. I have family 30 miles away so I plan to make some more phone calls in that area to see if I can get a better quote. I haven't had a great deal of luck with ebay so I think I might stay away from there.

Thanks again.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:33 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
SEO by vBSEO
vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.