failed emissions test? - S-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 02-14-2006, 02:18 PM Thread Starter
dun4sho
 
david owens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: nashville tn
Age: 38
Posts: 254

User is: david owens is offline
failed emissions test?

i have a2001 2.2 4cyl. ok just bagged the truck a month ago i relocated the evap canister and purge sylinoid . now i went thru emissions testing and failed it said the readiness monitors arent ready . i have no check engine lights on. the chevy dealer said to drive the truck and they will reset. just wondering if anyone else had this problem and long does it take to reset?

david owens is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 02-14-2006, 02:38 PM
5 inch bodydrop bitches
 
sdimelayenframe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: grand forks, nd
Age: 34
Posts: 1,651

User is: sdimelayenframe is offline
Send a message via AIM to sdimelayenframe Send a message via MSN to sdimelayenframe
Re: failed emissions test?

we dont have emisions tests here

95 S10 4x4
96 Sonoma - doored shaved and for sale
86 Toyota - flat pepto bismol pink and crushed on 19s
87 Suburban - the "meat machine" also for sale
sdimelayenframe is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 02-14-2006, 02:39 PM
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
 
1fast4by's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Age: 33
Posts: 17,874

User is: 1fast4by is offline
Send a message via AIM to 1fast4by
Re: failed emissions test?

WHat the chevy dealer said is true. It means that the computer once saw a fault (probably durring relocation) and no longer sees the fault. It will take some time now as the computer scans and readys the system back out. Just drive the truck. If there are no more faults then the system will reset itself and you will pass

"The police cannot protect the citizen at this stage of our development, and they cannot even protect themselves in many cases. It is up to the private citizen to protect himself and his family, this is not only acceptable, but mandatory."
-Jeff Cooper

Ban gun free zones!
1fast4by is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 02-14-2006, 02:47 PM
Registered User
 
thepunkerguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Age: 30
Posts: 1,261

User is: thepunkerguy is offline
Re: failed emissions test?

I don't know if it works like the check engine light and all, but did you try unhooking your battery for a few hours and then putting it back in to reset the computer? That would probably do it as long as there is no more faults
- Mike

- Mike
thepunkerguy is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 02-14-2006, 02:48 PM
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
 
1fast4by's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Age: 33
Posts: 17,874

User is: 1fast4by is offline
Send a message via AIM to 1fast4by
Re: failed emissions test?

Quote:
Originally Posted by thepunkerguy
I don't know if it works like the check engine light and all, but did you try unhooking your battery for a few hours and then putting it back in to reset the computer? That would probably do it as long as there is no more faults
- Mike
That does not work on OBDII vehicles (96+)

"The police cannot protect the citizen at this stage of our development, and they cannot even protect themselves in many cases. It is up to the private citizen to protect himself and his family, this is not only acceptable, but mandatory."
-Jeff Cooper

Ban gun free zones!
1fast4by is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 02-14-2006, 02:53 PM
Registered User
 
thepunkerguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Age: 30
Posts: 1,261

User is: thepunkerguy is offline
Re: failed emissions test?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1fast4by
That does not work on OBDII vehicles (96+)
Ok, just an idea. My truck is a 98 and I have a bad connection on the sensor on the top of my gas tank and it keeps popping my check engine light on every now and again, if i take out the battery for a bit then it clears the code and the light goes off. Thats why i figured it might work for him.
- Mike

- Mike
thepunkerguy is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 02-14-2006, 03:29 PM
Hoods are overrated
 
sadexcuse4s10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lexington, NC
Age: 33
Posts: 12,693

User is: sadexcuse4s10 is offline
Send a message via AIM to sadexcuse4s10
Re: failed emissions test?

drive the truck for about 500 miles, the computer takes that long to fully read the EVAP system, charcoal box, and O2 sensors, and air injection

Project '86 *Shame to Fame* FOR SALE, wife expecting baby. No engine or trans.


'93 Honda XR650L rebuild
sadexcuse4s10 is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 02-14-2006, 03:36 PM
forum idiot
 
orangesonoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Indian Trail, NC
Age: 38
Posts: 49,675

User is: orangesonoma is offline
Re: failed emissions test?

or get a scanner and clear the codes...

i used to pull out my ecu fuse in my 96 sonoma and that would reset the check engine light...


Best Car Insurance | Auto Protection Today | FREE Trade-In Quote

Brian
orangesonoma is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 02-14-2006, 03:42 PM
!! TALK NOW !!
 
drps10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Northern Ohio
Age: 31
Posts: 4,910

User is: drps10 is offline
Send a message via AIM to drps10
Re: failed emissions test?

i would unhook my ground cable for a few hrs.. that seem to reset it when i needed it... and if you still can't pass.. get Truck plates.. rate the truck at a GVW over 10,000 lbs and u get truck plates... no need for emissions or anything.. just little more expensive. that is what i have done and will always need to do

-- Anthony --
__________________________________________________ _____
SMM ??
PhotoBucket B/D
CarDomain B/d
Stock Floor Body Drop.... Check it

**R.I.P. "Freddy".. you will be missed 7/2/06**
drps10 is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 02-14-2006, 04:50 PM
~~<<' DRIVEN '>>~~
 
DJDAudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Age: 33
Posts: 23,957

User is: DJDAudio is offline
Send a message via AIM to DJDAudio Send a message via Yahoo to DJDAudio
Re: failed emissions test?

Quote:
Originally Posted by drps10
i would unhook my ground cable for a few hrs.. that seem to reset it when i needed it... and if you still can't pass.. get Truck plates.. rate the truck at a GVW over 10,000 lbs and u get truck plates... no need for emissions or anything.. just little more expensive. that is what i have done and will always need to do

More details?

The opinions and views expressed in the above post are the intellectual property of DJDAudio. The above mentioned information shall also hold no legal binding against Doug DeHaven in the court of law.

---\\\CALCULATE Compressor fill time HERE ///---

QUOTE: (Kevdog00) "You sir are like the Einstein of Mini Truckin'! lol"
DJDAudio is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 02-14-2006, 05:02 PM
!! TALK NOW !!
 
drps10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Northern Ohio
Age: 31
Posts: 4,910

User is: drps10 is offline
Send a message via AIM to drps10
Re: failed emissions test?

well where I live, you can get truck plates for anything with a GVW over 10,000 lbs. ( i think that is the right weight) If you open your door. the sticker should show the GVW. If you actually use that, you won't get the plates. We did it with a dually because were were 100 lbs short of it and we tow alot of things. So dad just wrote down 10,100 lbs as the GVW and we got the TRUCK plates. That is what i will do with my s10 cuz it won't pass Echeck.. I can ask him more about it, if you have to do anything else with it. But i think that is it.. NO emissions needed

-- Anthony --
__________________________________________________ _____
SMM ??
PhotoBucket B/D
CarDomain B/d
Stock Floor Body Drop.... Check it

**R.I.P. "Freddy".. you will be missed 7/2/06**
drps10 is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 02-14-2006, 06:19 PM
Registered User
 
fiveinchbodydrop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: mt.juliet, tn
Age: 36
Posts: 5,261

User is: fiveinchbodydrop is offline
Re: failed emissions test?

i swap my tags from my corolla to whatever wont pass. in tenn you can take a vaild tag off a car transfer it to the "bad" vehicle, then in a week or so go back and test your good car and re-tag it. pretty easy...

CHRIS



"....deaf and blind and dumb and born to follow, what you need is someone strong to guide you....." -Opiate
fiveinchbodydrop is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 02-14-2006, 08:20 PM Thread Starter
dun4sho
 
david owens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: nashville tn
Age: 38
Posts: 254

User is: david owens is offline
Re: failed emissions test?

i dont think i will put 500 miles on there between now and march thats when my tags expire . i only have 28000 on it now its a 2001 lol
david owens is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 02-14-2006, 08:56 PM
AWESOOOOOOOOOOOOOOME
 
bzzzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: bay area, CA
Age: 35
Posts: 2,036

User is: bzzzt is offline
Re: failed emissions test?

Quote:
Originally Posted by david owens
i dont think i will put 500 miles on there between now and march thats when my tags expire . i only have 28000 on it now its a 2001 lol
Seriously though, that's all you can do, i know exactly what you're talking about.. It's not a problem with the job you did relocating the evap, if it was that your MIL would be on, which it isnt. It's because the evap monitor takes FOREVER to become "ready" resetting the ecu will only make it take longer most likely, there's no "code" to clear, the answer is to just drive the shit out of it. Mine had to be driven about 20 miles before the evap system showed as ready the last time i got a smog check.
bzzzt is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 02-14-2006, 09:09 PM
62 Impala member
 
lilbluetruck98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: High point
Age: 33
Posts: 630

User is: lilbluetruck98 is offline
Send a message via AIM to lilbluetruck98 Send a message via Yahoo to lilbluetruck98
Re: failed emissions test?

Quote:
Originally Posted by david owens
i have a2001 2.2 4cyl. ok just bagged the truck a month ago i relocated the evap canister and purge sylinoid . now i went thru emissions testing and failed it said the readiness monitors arent ready . i have no check engine lights on. the chevy dealer said to drive the truck and they will reset. just wondering if anyone else had this problem and long does it take to reset?
every time the battery is dissconnected it clears the memory in the on board computer(s) when reconnected they will have to go through a re-learn process your has not fully finished goin through the re-learn process thats why its NOT READY do not disconect your battery or ground cables all of this will prolong the process of getting your truck passed i dont know what state you are in but in nc when a vehicle is not ready it doesnt issue a fail it only issues a rejection based on what the readines monitors say 96-00 are allowed 2 not ready codes(not dtc's) 01 and up are only allowed 1 not ready code in order to reset the readiness codes all you hafe to do is drive it some take 10 miles others take 500 miles the dealer can reset them by doing what i think is called a drivecyle relearn dont know how much it costs or even if they will do it but they do have the info to speed up the process

Myspace
Outkast Kustoms

Quote:
Originally Posted by scrubz739 View Post
it was. after he saved it about 3 times from hitting walls, he got out and pumped his fist in the air. honestly it was a hell of a sight.

Last edited by lilbluetruck98; 02-14-2006 at 09:12 PM.
lilbluetruck98 is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 02-14-2006, 11:31 PM
Headturners
 
2002ZQ8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lilburn, Georgia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,921

User is: 2002ZQ8 is offline
Send a message via AIM to 2002ZQ8
Re: failed emissions test?

i was just in the same boat i disconnected the batter for a few minutes then drove it about 80 miles and it was good to go but what a PITA

___________

MY GALLERY .......................................... MY GARAGE
2002ZQ8 is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 02-15-2006, 06:39 AM
!! TALK NOW !!
 
drps10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Northern Ohio
Age: 31
Posts: 4,910

User is: drps10 is offline
Send a message via AIM to drps10
Re: failed emissions test?

also. my Echeck will give you 30day tags if you tell them you need the tags so you can drive it around after you fix the problem. I did that for 2 mths in a row..

-- Anthony --
__________________________________________________ _____
SMM ??
PhotoBucket B/D
CarDomain B/d
Stock Floor Body Drop.... Check it

**R.I.P. "Freddy".. you will be missed 7/2/06**
drps10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome