can i use my AC as a compressor for air ride - S-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 08-30-2005, 03:41 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
MR MR MR MIKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Age: 41
Posts: 391

User is: MR MR MR MIKE is offline
can i use my AC as a compressor for air ride

can i use my AC as a compressor for air ride ? I am trying to see if you can do it some how thanks Tell me what i might need and stuff

MR MR MR MIKE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 08-30-2005, 04:29 PM
Severed Ties Petitioning
 
black82s10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lakeland, Fl.
Age: 28
Posts: 2,553

User is: black82s10 is offline
Send a message via AIM to black82s10
Re: can i use my AC as a compressor for air ride

yes you can, but unless it's a york you hae to run and oiling system. that's all the EDC's on the market now are, just converted a/c comps. but if you get a york compressor, it's internally oiled. just mount it and plumb it.



Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFue View Post
all tools are neutral in existance until they're handled by the flaws of humanity.
black82s10 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 08-30-2005, 05:14 PM
Registered Fabricator
 
cdog24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Peoria, IL
Age: 33
Posts: 777

User is: cdog24 is offline
Send a message via AIM to cdog24
Re: can i use my AC as a compressor for air ride

Stock compressors use lubricating oil within the R-134a. You can use the stock unit if you have an oiler - not as reliable IMO, but you are better or just using a york 210 like said above. If it was easier to use your stock compressor, everyone would be doing it - but the majority use a 210 from a junk yard or just a kit from Easy Street or Jason @ SD. I'm sure as soon as I say that, somebody is going to tell me they are using thier stock compressor and that it's the greatest thing in the world. Oh well

///RA Illinois Chapter
cdog24 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 08-30-2005, 05:20 PM
Daily Draggers 4-LyF!
 
XtReMe FrOm HeLL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Miami
Age: 30
Posts: 1,521

User is: XtReMe FrOm HeLL is offline
Send a message via AIM to XtReMe FrOm HeLL
Re: can i use my AC as a compressor for air ride

yeah but the stock ac comp. doesnt pump out enough psi, and it wouldnt be worth it, not only that, but eventually it'll die out, i wouldnt even think about using one not even for temporary use....
XtReMe FrOm HeLL is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 08-30-2005, 05:39 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
MR MR MR MIKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Age: 41
Posts: 391

User is: MR MR MR MIKE is offline
Re: can i use my AC as a compressor for air ride

ok thanks for all your help. I am going to look in to a nitrogen tank i have a reg that i think will work let me know if looks like it will work thanks
MR MR MR MIKE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome