bonus: electric or belt driven? - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

bonus: electric or belt driven?

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Suspension Tech > Baggin' It
New User? Register Forgot Password


 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-28-2013, 07:55 PM   #1
Registered User
 
nineninedime's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 149
Location: cincinnati,ohio
User is: OffLine
bonus: electric or belt driven?

Ok so I just got a nice suprise today in the mail and i got a bonus check so naturally I thought more parts. I was originally going to wait until this spring and see if i could find a decent york 210 in a junkyard but with this new found bonus decided i would treat myself early. So here's the question first off I have a viair 480 and two other off brand compressors right now but am really wanting to go with beltdriven and wire those as back up. So what are your thoughts as far as belt over electric and where is a decent place to pick up a york 210 or something similiar.(other than ebay) i've seen rebuilt ones all over ebay but anywhere else?
Old 01-28-2013, 08:28 PM   #2
Ol' Sparky
 
Prime's Avatar
 
Age: 36
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,289
Location: Flatwoods
User is: OffLine
Re: bonus: electric or belt driven?

I got my rebuilt 210 off ebay and it has been in my truck since June 2009 and has seen alot of miles. So far she has been rock solid and in all the gallons upon gallons of air she has pumped she is only 1.6 seconds slower now than she was when new. I just check the oil regularly and add more when needed. Only mod to it is the crank case breather. After having a EDC I could never go back to only electrics. I do have a pair of 450s for back up though.
Old 01-28-2013, 08:36 PM   #3
Registered User
 
nineninedime's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 149
Location: cincinnati,ohio
User is: OffLine
Re: bonus: electric or belt driven?

cool good to know, now I have been researching these a lot and i have heard many different things about this crank case breather. any benefit with this because I've also read its not needed?
Old 01-28-2013, 11:11 PM   #4
Ol' Sparky
 
Prime's Avatar
 
Age: 36
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,289
Location: Flatwoods
User is: OffLine
Re: bonus: electric or belt driven?

I know it cuts down on blow by, plus Doug said from his testing it is the best mod so....
Old 01-29-2013, 07:06 PM   #5
ELTC
 
Gimp's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,370
Location: CT
User is: OffLine
Re: bonus: electric or belt driven?

York 209 or 210 can be found all over ebay for real cheap if you spend some time looking hard. Generally you'll find them for $150+ ut if you keep browsing through pages you will def find them with starting bids of $50. Ive picked up all style remanned 206's, 209's and 210's for $70-90 shipped and still run a 209 in my truck going on two yrs that came from ebay.
installing a 210 this spring. as for the crankcase breather i have one on mine as well and i cant really tell the difference on blow by honestly. Even running two water/oil seperators. I mainly run it to vent the crankcase and disipate heat.
Ive had two 380's for backup forever and after running EDC i would never go back to electric air.. never
Old 01-29-2013, 08:17 PM   #6
Registered User
 
adam101's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 300
Location: li new york
User is: OffLine
Re: bonus: electric or belt driven?

i have a york 209. it passes so much oil i just gave up on using it. works great but i felt like i was filling it daily. im debating wether to put it back on or just stick with my 480s.
Old 01-29-2013, 11:36 PM   #7
ELTC
 
Gimp's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,370
Location: CT
User is: OffLine
Re: bonus: electric or belt driven?

Quote: Originally Posted by adam101
i have a york 209. it passes so much oil i just gave up on using it. works great but i felt like i was filling it daily. im debating wether to put it back on or just stick with my 480s.
Is it a junkyard 209 or is it an ebay remanned york. Do you fill it past 12-14oz ? U could always sell it to me adam i wouldnt mind throwing a backup on the shelf
Old 01-30-2013, 12:04 PM   #8
Ol' Sparky
 
Prime's Avatar
 
Age: 36
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,289
Location: Flatwoods
User is: OffLine
Re: bonus: electric or belt driven?

Quote: Originally Posted by adam101
i have a york 209. it passes so much oil i just gave up on using it. works great but i felt like i was filling it daily. im debating wether to put it back on or just stick with my 480s.
Thats nuts. Mine uses next to no oil, about 1-1.5oz during a month of hard use.
Old 01-30-2013, 12:56 PM   #9
Registered User
 
nineninedime's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 149
Location: cincinnati,ohio
User is: OffLine
Re: bonus: electric or belt driven?

When I ordered my 210 today so hopefully all goes well. Once I get my firewall done I will be posting up a build thread of the whole deal and the finish.
Old 01-30-2013, 01:41 PM   #10
Registered User
 
adam101's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 300
Location: li new york
User is: OffLine
Re: bonus: electric or belt driven?

Quote: Originally Posted by Gimp
Is it a junkyard 209 or is it an ebay remanned york. Do you fill it past 12-14oz ? U could always sell it to me adam i wouldnt mind throwing a backup on the shelf
yea man i was thinking about getting rid. i bought it from airlift. or suicide . i dont remember. ill keep you in mind.
Old 01-30-2013, 10:42 PM   #11
resident crybaby
 
mesterz2889's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,509
Location: nashville
User is: OffLine
Re: bonus: electric or belt driven?

ive had my 210 on for months now and havent had ANY issues despite all the torment. i put a sight glass on the side of mine and havent had to put any oil at all in it
Old 02-04-2013, 04:40 PM   #12
~~<<' DRIVEN '>>~~
 
DJDAudio's Avatar

 
Age: 31
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 23,957
Location: Pittsburgh PA
User is: OffLine
Re: bonus: electric or belt driven?

If you do the intake oil passage plug, be sure to vent the crank case. Removing the crank case pressure helps prevent oil from being blown past the ring.

These compressors on have one ring per piston, no real oil control ring. So any little bit helps.

Also straight weight 30 oil is a must, 10w30 just will not work.

Redline Race SAE30 non foaming non detergent is about the best, but a bit expensive to be passing through your compressor.

Well that and old compressors have old rings, and there may be a reason they ditched it as an AC compressor so lack of compression is a good sign it will pass allot of oil.


I have been inside up in and around these things for years, any odd questions let me know happy to help out.
Old 02-04-2013, 04:42 PM   #13
~~<<' DRIVEN '>>~~
 
DJDAudio's Avatar

 
Age: 31
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 23,957
Location: Pittsburgh PA
User is: OffLine
Re: bonus: electric or belt driven?

That and the Airlift SC209 I have in my truck has been run HARD for 9 years now!

If you have the money the Airlift 209's are special made by CCI ( climate control inc. ) with cast iron bits to allow them to live longer as Air compressors. For as an AC compressor they where continuously lubed by the freon in a dry no moisture system. As well had PAG oil.
Old 02-04-2013, 05:35 PM   #14
ELTC
 
Gimp's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,370
Location: CT
User is: OffLine
Re: bonus: electric or belt driven?

Hi Doug!!
Old 02-04-2013, 06:04 PM   #15
~~<<' DRIVEN '>>~~
 
DJDAudio's Avatar

 
Age: 31
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 23,957
Location: Pittsburgh PA
User is: OffLine
Re: bonus: electric or belt driven?

Hi, Scotty , not been in here in a while....
Old 02-04-2013, 06:05 PM   #16
~~<<' DRIVEN '>>~~
 
DJDAudio's Avatar

 
Age: 31
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 23,957
Location: Pittsburgh PA
User is: OffLine
Re: bonus: electric or belt driven?

I need to find the time to take the junk one I have and do a cutaway model to show people what the 'mysterious' oil passage is , how it works and what to do about it.
Old 02-04-2013, 06:47 PM   #17
ELTC
 
Gimp's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,370
Location: CT
User is: OffLine
Re: bonus: electric or belt driven?

Quote: Originally Posted by DJDAudio
I need to find the time to take the junk one I have and do a cutaway model to show people what the 'mysterious' oil passage is , how it works and what to do about it.
or sell me one of those V-twin models you have and let me do it
Old 02-04-2013, 10:19 PM   #18
~~<<' DRIVEN '>>~~
 
DJDAudio's Avatar

 
Age: 31
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 23,957
Location: Pittsburgh PA
User is: OffLine
Re: bonus: electric or belt driven?

Quote: Originally Posted by Gimp
or sell me one of those V-twin models you have and let me do it
I still want to see what one of those is capable of!

And I still have the grand daddy sitting on the floor in the shop, an engine coolant cooled V4 piston compressor from a BUS! lol
Old 02-04-2013, 11:30 PM   #19
ELTC
 
Gimp's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,370
Location: CT
User is: OffLine
Re: bonus: electric or belt driven?

Quote: Originally Posted by DJDAudio
I still want to see what one of those is capable of!

And I still have the grand daddy sitting on the floor in the shop, an engine coolant cooled V4 piston compressor from a BUS! lol
Dont know if ive ever seen one of those before.
Old 02-05-2013, 12:21 PM   #20
Registered User
 
xmb63's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,078
Location: pittsburgh
User is: OffLine
Re: bonus: electric or belt driven?

Quote: Originally Posted by DJDAudio
I still want to see what one of those is capable of!

And I still have the grand daddy sitting on the floor in the shop, an engine coolant cooled V4 piston compressor from a BUS! lol
Is that the one I gave you?
Old 02-05-2013, 01:26 PM   #21
~~<<' DRIVEN '>>~~
 
DJDAudio's Avatar

 
Age: 31
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 23,957
Location: Pittsburgh PA
User is: OffLine
Re: bonus: electric or belt driven?

Quote: Originally Posted by xmb63
Is that the one I gave you?
Sure is! haha
Old 02-07-2013, 12:52 PM   #22
Registered User
 
xmb63's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,078
Location: pittsburgh
User is: OffLine
Re: bonus: electric or belt driven?

That compressor was huge. I bet you could get it under the hood of a full size truck.
Old 02-07-2013, 07:48 PM   #23
~~<<' DRIVEN '>>~~
 
DJDAudio's Avatar

 
Age: 31
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 23,957
Location: Pittsburgh PA
User is: OffLine
Re: bonus: electric or belt driven?

Quote: Originally Posted by xmb63
That compressor was huge. I bet you could get it under the hood of a full size truck.
Thing is like one cubic foot haha
Old 02-07-2013, 07:54 PM   #24
~~<<' DRIVEN '>>~~
 
DJDAudio's Avatar

 
Age: 31
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 23,957
Location: Pittsburgh PA
User is: OffLine
Re: bonus: electric or belt driven?

I think it is the old vr of this,





it is big lol
Old 02-07-2013, 08:39 PM   #25
ELTC
 
Gimp's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,370
Location: CT
User is: OffLine
Re: bonus: electric or belt driven?

^^ holy shitzu!!
Old 02-07-2013, 09:34 PM   #26
will detail for food
 
Tex Star's Avatar
 
Age: 33
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,066
Location: Georgetown, Texas
User is: OffLine
Re: bonus: electric or belt driven?

that thing have valve covers? lol
Old 02-08-2013, 11:23 AM   #27
Proud Canadian
 
Lutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 960
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
User is: OffLine
Re: bonus: electric or belt driven?

That thing is monstrous! But I bet it pumps out a shit ton of air
Old 02-08-2013, 11:45 AM   #28
~~<<' DRIVEN '>>~~
 
DJDAudio's Avatar

 
Age: 31
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 23,957
Location: Pittsburgh PA
User is: OffLine
Re: bonus: electric or belt driven?

Quote: Originally Posted by Lutz
That thing is monstrous! But I bet it pumps out a shit ton of air
I think it pulls 10HP when running as well
Old 02-08-2013, 01:50 PM   #29
Dems 22s
 
mattadams13's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,485
Location: Lexington TN
User is: OffLine
Re: bonus: electric or belt driven?

I had the airlift kit on my truck. I recently sold it. If you are going to play with the switches a lot then yeah you need an edc. Im over all that stuff now. Im going to run 2 480s with a 7 gallon tank. that will be plenty for me.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
SEO by vBSEO
vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.