Battery and computer relocation - S-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 38 Old 11-17-2012, 01:57 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
whitelowereddime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,145

User is: whitelowereddime is offline
Battery and computer relocation

About to relocate my battery under the bed and computer behind dash. Can I just buy another harness and connect the two together to make it longer? That way I only have one part that is spliced together? And on the battery do I just run the positive from the fuse on the core support to the back and then run a ground to the frame? That's the only ground I need right? The chassis and body should get grounded through the frame?

whitelowereddime is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 38 Old 11-17-2012, 11:17 AM
Kurrupted Kreations
 
Garage Customs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cen Cal
Age: 31
Posts: 3,837

User is: Garage Customs is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

I hav never heard of anyone get another harness and put em together. When i relocated my battery under teh bed, i was highly adviced to run both cables to teh front. So i did. Maybe someone who onl ran teh positive cable can chime in.

2001 Indigo ext cab S10 Xtreme [Sept 2003 -Oct 2011]

2001 S10 ,bagged F/B/S/S [June 2005 - present]

2007 F250 Crew Cab Diesel FX4 [Oct 2011 - present]
www.kurruptedkreations.com
www.myspace.com/jessekk

Garage Customs is offline  
post #3 of 38 Old 11-17-2012, 11:28 AM
Registered User
 
Chiefron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Folsom,CA
Posts: 1,687

User is: Chiefron is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

A good (emphasize good) ground to the frame, backed up by multiple grounds from engine to frame is usually just fine. Ron Francis makes a great engine compartment mega grounding kit. As far as the relocation of the computer, most folks solder in splices/extensions to do just that. I have considered going to the salvage yard and cannibalizing a harness to relocate mine. That way it would be just connecting color for color and only one solder/heat shrink per wire. I can't help but think the ECU inside the passenger compartment wouldn't be better (cooler, cleaner, dryer) anyway. Know what I mean, Vern?
Chiefron is offline  
post #4 of 38 Old 11-17-2012, 12:36 PM
Registered User
 
AaronK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Gulf Shores, AL
Age: 31
Posts: 949

User is: AaronK is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

Make sure you get a good battery cable to. Not that fine braid stereo wire. They usually have it in stock at napa. My friend ran a 4 gauge and said he had serious voltage drop. He went and got bigger wire from napa (cost close to $150) but has not had an issue since.

On the wire harness, that will work fine if you match the trucks. If not you won't have the right wires in the right places. Like engine size, year, ac or no ac, manual or auto, etc
AaronK is offline  
post #5 of 38 Old 11-17-2012, 12:43 PM
Sold :'(
 
s10xtremist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: State Capitol Raceway, Louisiana
Age: 34
Posts: 7,446

User is: s10xtremist is offline
Garage
Re: Battery and computer relocation

Wouldn't welding cable be good for that positive wire? I find it to be much cheaper per foot than the same stuff that's labeled "Battery Cable", and the gauge of wire you buy is the gauge you get. I use it for my sound installs. I agree with AaronK on the PCM plug/harness. You would have to find a pretty much identical truck or add/repin some wires. It shouldn't be all that difficult to find a match at the salvage yard, and I'm always for eliminating splices where possible.

Getting better with every failure



Project threads:
Punching bag
Unicorn XJ
s10xtremist is offline  
post #6 of 38 Old 11-18-2012, 04:22 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
whitelowereddime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,145

User is: whitelowereddime is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

well i just ordered my wire for the battery i got 1/0 gauge wire. now with the other grounds they should be ok right im not adding anything or removing any grounds just relocating the battery and as long as my frame ground is good then the rest should be grounded through the existing grounds correct?
whitelowereddime is offline  
post #7 of 38 Old 11-18-2012, 11:50 AM
Registered Asshole
 
sdime99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Orlando FL
Age: 35
Posts: 1,136

User is: sdime99 is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitelowereddime View Post
well i just ordered my wire for the battery i got 1/0 gauge wire. now with the other grounds they should be ok right im not adding anything or removing any grounds just relocating the battery and as long as my frame ground is good then the rest should be grounded through the existing grounds correct?
When moved my battery I went ahead and did the big 3 upgrade, redid all the + and - Havent had a single problem out of mine yet.

99 bagged s10 extreme

02 stock blazer extreme
sdime99 is offline  
post #8 of 38 Old 11-18-2012, 04:01 PM
Registered User
 
AaronK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Gulf Shores, AL
Age: 31
Posts: 949

User is: AaronK is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

It never hurts to overground. If you have left over battery wire, use it to ground. I beefed up all of mine. Cab to frame, engine to frame, bed to frame, core support to frame, etc... Makes life so much easier
AaronK is offline  
post #9 of 38 Old 11-18-2012, 09:36 PM
Registered User
 
badmofo529's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Flint, MI
Age: 24
Posts: 2,685

User is: badmofo529 is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

Quote:
Originally Posted by AaronK View Post
Make sure you get a good battery cable to. Not that fine braid stereo wire. They usually have it in stock at napa. My friend ran a 4 gauge and said he had serious voltage drop. He went and got bigger wire from napa (cost close to $150) but has not had an issue since.

On the wire harness, that will work fine if you match the trucks. If not you won't have the right wires in the right places. Like engine size, year, ac or no ac, manual or auto, etc
your friend was anally raped without lube
badmofo529 is offline  
post #10 of 38 Old 11-18-2012, 10:54 PM
Dems 22s
 
mattadams13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lexington TN
Age: 28
Posts: 3,594

User is: mattadams13 is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

just drill a hole in the fire wall and mount the ecu under the dash. no extending wires. Of course use a grommet for the hole.

Matt Adams


Project thread: Laying on billet 22s http://www.s10forum.com/forum/f30/si...thread-486853/
mattadams13 is offline  
post #11 of 38 Old 11-18-2012, 11:29 PM
Registered User
 
AaronK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Gulf Shores, AL
Age: 31
Posts: 949

User is: AaronK is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

Quote:
Originally Posted by badmofo529 View Post
your friend was anally raped without lube
Sorry I just re read that, I'm on here with an iPhone, it was $50 not $150. Like 5$ a foot ten foot run. My apologies
AaronK is offline  
post #12 of 38 Old 11-19-2012, 01:16 AM
Registered User
 
badmofo529's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Flint, MI
Age: 24
Posts: 2,685

User is: badmofo529 is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

its all good lol, thats still a little much for wire
badmofo529 is offline  
post #13 of 38 Old 11-20-2012, 02:11 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
whitelowereddime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,145

User is: whitelowereddime is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattadams13 View Post
just drill a hole in the fire wall and mount the ecu under the dash. no extending wires. Of course use a grommet for the hole.
pics? i would love to do it without extending wires. but i still run ac so im limited on space as to where to out it behind the dash
whitelowereddime is offline  
post #14 of 38 Old 11-20-2012, 08:26 AM
Dems 22s
 
mattadams13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lexington TN
Age: 28
Posts: 3,594

User is: mattadams13 is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

ill try to get a pic for ya later today. If i dont pm me and remind me.

Matt Adams


Project thread: Laying on billet 22s http://www.s10forum.com/forum/f30/si...thread-486853/
mattadams13 is offline  
post #15 of 38 Old 11-20-2012, 10:16 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hurley, VA
Age: 30
Posts: 34

User is: sgtford is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

i so wanna see a pic of the hole in the firewall and mount the ECU under the dash without extending anything. I'm an electrician and don't even wanna prick with butt splicing all those wires.
sgtford is offline  
post #16 of 38 Old 11-20-2012, 10:55 AM
Proud Canadian
 
Lutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 960

User is: Lutz is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

you can do that, but to make it pretty, shits gotta be extended to put it simply


'03 S10 Xtreme Build
4.3L Automatic; Bagged on 2500's; Turbo 5.3/4L60e in the works..
Lutz is offline  
post #17 of 38 Old 11-20-2012, 06:23 PM
Dems 22s
 
mattadams13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lexington TN
Age: 28
Posts: 3,594

User is: mattadams13 is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

i disagree, there is plenty of wire to put the computer behind the dash without extending the wires. You could pull the wires that go to the computer out of the harness, drill a hole in the firewall behind the motor and put a grommet in there. i took the easier route. I drilled a hole as close as i could to the motor that is out of the way of the tire and ran it through there. in my pics its hard to tell but maybe you will understand. lol


I drilled a hole as close to the purple rivet as i could. Of course the hole is not pictured, but this will sorta give you a visual.

hard to see, but this is the hole i made.

This is the grommet im using. They are like 30 bucks, but well worth the money.

As you can see in this pic, the computer is almost touching the mounting bolt to the seat, i figure i got close to a foot of wire so it could be mounted in a lot of different places under the dash.

Matt Adams


Project thread: Laying on billet 22s http://www.s10forum.com/forum/f30/si...thread-486853/
mattadams13 is offline  
post #18 of 38 Old 11-20-2012, 06:42 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
whitelowereddime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,145

User is: whitelowereddime is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

very nice. thank ya sir i hope my harness is long enough for that i plan to start it tomorrow
whitelowereddime is offline  
post #19 of 38 Old 11-20-2012, 06:45 PM
Dems 22s
 
mattadams13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lexington TN
Age: 28
Posts: 3,594

User is: mattadams13 is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

my truck is a 2.2 maybe there isnt a difference between it and a 4.3

Matt Adams


Project thread: Laying on billet 22s http://www.s10forum.com/forum/f30/si...thread-486853/
mattadams13 is offline  
post #20 of 38 Old 11-20-2012, 06:52 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
whitelowereddime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,145

User is: whitelowereddime is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

where did you buy your grommet from?
whitelowereddime is offline  
post #21 of 38 Old 11-20-2012, 06:57 PM
Dems 22s
 
mattadams13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lexington TN
Age: 28
Posts: 3,594

User is: mattadams13 is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

i think it was summit. its a seals it 1 inch grommet.

Matt Adams


Project thread: Laying on billet 22s http://www.s10forum.com/forum/f30/si...thread-486853/
mattadams13 is offline  
post #22 of 38 Old 11-20-2012, 07:17 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
whitelowereddime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,145

User is: whitelowereddime is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

cool thanks
whitelowereddime is offline  
post #23 of 38 Old 11-20-2012, 08:24 PM
Dems 22s
 
mattadams13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lexington TN
Age: 28
Posts: 3,594

User is: mattadams13 is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

yeah man no problem

Matt Adams


Project thread: Laying on billet 22s http://www.s10forum.com/forum/f30/si...thread-486853/
mattadams13 is offline  
post #24 of 38 Old 11-20-2012, 11:21 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hurley, VA
Age: 30
Posts: 34

User is: sgtford is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

thanks for the pics!!! gonna attempt this soon myself. How much did it clean everything up around the actual motor?
sgtford is offline  
post #25 of 38 Old 11-20-2012, 11:53 PM
Dems 22s
 
mattadams13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lexington TN
Age: 28
Posts: 3,594

User is: mattadams13 is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

well it really uncluttered the passenger side because there is no computer, but as far as wiring goes not much because its just one thick group of wires.

Matt Adams


Project thread: Laying on billet 22s http://www.s10forum.com/forum/f30/si...thread-486853/
mattadams13 is offline  
post #26 of 38 Old 11-21-2012, 01:19 AM
4 bangin and love it
 
squareterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mt Washington, Ky
Age: 23
Posts: 1,367

User is: squareterror is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

^its all about making it neater and less obvious.

to the OP

i see the flame a coming, but your basic idea is the same as tucking a honda. you might could even contact RyWire and see about the possibility of a mil-spec harness. i cant swear that he would make one for an s10, but his harnesses are clean as hell.

www.rywire.com

95 Civic coupe-RHD swapped, b16a/y21, bordeux red/captiva blue, dumped on 17's, just a daily/family car

03 QX4-litteraly bone stock. Wife's daily, and im not allowed to touch it.lol

93 Del Sol SI-FF time attack/daily build in progress. we'll see what all happens as it goes.lol
squareterror is offline  
post #27 of 38 Old 11-21-2012, 09:40 AM
Proud Canadian
 
Lutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 960

User is: Lutz is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

yeah i think the 4.3 makes a difference, mine just barely fit inside the cab if i remember.. regardless ill be cleanin it up in the spring time!


'03 S10 Xtreme Build
4.3L Automatic; Bagged on 2500's; Turbo 5.3/4L60e in the works..
Lutz is offline  
post #28 of 38 Old 11-21-2012, 11:24 AM
Registered User
 
Chiefron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Folsom,CA
Posts: 1,687

User is: Chiefron is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

Yeah, my LT harness is not that long. But then again the primary reason I want to move/relocate my ECU is to make the engine compartment pretty. Also, an aftermarket company "Watson's Street Works" makes those grommet/dress-up escutcheons (made in the good old USA) from billet aluminum, that look better, for about the same price as Summit's (made in China). Just sayin'.
Chiefron is offline  
post #29 of 38 Old 11-21-2012, 07:49 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
whitelowereddime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,145

User is: whitelowereddime is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

Got mine tore apart today and have about a foot and a half of extra harness. I wanted to put it behind the dash but there's no room I'm afraid. Between the air ducats and heater core there's just no room anywhere. Back to the drawing board.
whitelowereddime is offline  
post #30 of 38 Old 11-22-2012, 09:39 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
whitelowereddime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,145

User is: whitelowereddime is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

heres where im thinking of putting my battery





maybe here but idk how safe it is above the exhaust


no room out back

whitelowereddime is offline  
post #31 of 38 Old 11-22-2012, 09:41 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
whitelowereddime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,145

User is: whitelowereddime is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

heres where im at with the front



and a pic of the truck

whitelowereddime is offline  
post #32 of 38 Old 11-22-2012, 12:47 PM
Proud Canadian
 
Lutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 960

User is: Lutz is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

i heard you mention your removing the ac and shit, so just take that ductwork out from the inside as well and therell be room. i slid my computer in through the hole revealed when you remove all that ductwork.


'03 S10 Xtreme Build
4.3L Automatic; Bagged on 2500's; Turbo 5.3/4L60e in the works..
Lutz is offline  
post #33 of 38 Old 11-22-2012, 01:19 PM
Registered User
 
AaronK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Gulf Shores, AL
Age: 31
Posts: 949

User is: AaronK is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

Why couldn't you put the battery outside the frame rail?
AaronK is offline  
post #34 of 38 Old 11-23-2012, 07:34 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
whitelowereddime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,145

User is: whitelowereddime is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

i cant put it outside the rail because of the step shavers and i cant put it in front of the tire outside the rails because i have a bag on bar 2 link and the bags mount there. and since i decided to body it im just gonna pull the vents and put the fuse box and comp there
whitelowereddime is offline  
post #35 of 38 Old 11-23-2012, 07:51 PM
Registered User
 
AaronK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Gulf Shores, AL
Age: 31
Posts: 949

User is: AaronK is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

No offense but I see a lot of wasted space how you have your tank. Turn it parallel to the frame and put you battery on one side and the tank on the other. My opinion
AaronK is offline  
post #36 of 38 Old 11-24-2012, 03:35 AM
AcrophobiA
 
STEN_(d_slammd_1)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Satellite Beach, FL
Age: 31
Posts: 4,661

User is: STEN_(d_slammd_1) is offline
Send a message via AIM to STEN_(d_slammd_1) Send a message via Yahoo to STEN_(d_slammd_1)
Re: Battery and computer relocation

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitelowereddime View Post
i cant put it outside the rail because of the step shavers and i cant put it in front of the tire outside the rails because i have a bag on bar 2 link and the bags mount there. and since i decided to body it im just gonna pull the vents and put the fuse box and comp there

Here you go.... just move the compressors to the inside of the frame rails and you have room for batteries back there.....

Forgive the crappy job, I'm in Afghanistan and the MWR only has MS Paint LOL.


_____,---|'o'......................I_
l l'---"'---BRANDON---;==;;;;;;;;;;;;I=+==
|'"```/_/-'`|__|''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
STEN_(d_slammd_1) is offline  
post #37 of 38 Old 11-24-2012, 07:51 PM
www.adanbanuelos.com
 
ADAN BANUELOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: TUCSON
Age: 30
Posts: 73

User is: ADAN BANUELOS is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

Look forward to seeing the rest of this.... how are you planning on body dropping the bed? Maybe you can get a few extra inches vertically if you raise your bed floor a little higher. Might make it a little easier to squeeze a battery under there.

...side question: what kind of shock are you running??
ADAN BANUELOS is offline  
post #38 of 38 Old 11-25-2012, 09:07 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
whitelowereddime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,145

User is: whitelowereddime is offline
Re: Battery and computer relocation

Nissan hardbody shocks 1986 I just painted them red lol
The bed floor is raised pretty high already it's only like 5 or 6" deep
whitelowereddime is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome