3 stage 1500psi DC comp! - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Suspension Tech > Baggin' It
New User? Register Forgot Password


 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-05-2005, 10:46 PM   #1
Wanna Race? To the ground
 
nimbyfaygo's Avatar
 
Age: 31
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,404
Location: Columbia, TN
User is: OffLine
3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

Look at what I found at the scrap metal yard! I paid 4$ for it as the weight of alumnium.

Its a cornelius brand 27VDC three stage compressor. I did some online research, and I discovered that it was used on old millitary bomber planes. It supplied air for the Cylinders that opened the bomb bay doors.
I havn't done any real testing on it. But I stuck a oxygen gauge on it and it pumped to 2500psi in about 5sec.



Old 10-05-2005, 10:48 PM   #2
Registered User
 
laidoutmini's Avatar
 
Age: 33
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 596
Location: London Ontario Canada
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

wow that is huge what are ur plans for it ?
Old 10-05-2005, 10:49 PM   #3
forum idiot
 
orangesonoma's Avatar
 
Age: 36
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 49,674
Location: Indian Trail, NC
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

no shit!!!
Old 10-05-2005, 10:50 PM   #4
Registered User
 
s10blaza's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,346
Location: El Paso, TX
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

I bet djdaudio would love to play with that
Old 10-05-2005, 10:53 PM   #5
Registered User
 
LowNoma22's Avatar
 
Age: 23
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,248
Location: Highland, Illinois
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

haha thats huge man....
Old 10-05-2005, 10:55 PM   #6
Wanna Race? To the ground
 
nimbyfaygo's Avatar
 
Age: 31
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,404
Location: Columbia, TN
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

I don't know yet. I still want to test it on a regular 5 gallon.
That thing isn't big. It only a little bigger than my hand.
Old 10-05-2005, 10:57 PM   #7
Registered User
 
ss383's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,343
Location: Casper, Wyoming
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

you have small chairs... lol
Old 10-05-2005, 11:00 PM   #8
Wanna Race? To the ground
 
nimbyfaygo's Avatar
 
Age: 31
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,404
Location: Columbia, TN
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

Quote: Originally Posted by ss383
you have small chairs... lol
Hey shutup! My chairs can take on your chairs any day of the week!
Old 10-05-2005, 11:02 PM   #9
HARÍA PIS EN SU EXTREMO
 
sdimess's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,544
Location: Chassell Michigan
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

thats some hairy ass arms j/k

whats the pressure rating on a 5 gallon tank?
Old 10-05-2005, 11:24 PM   #10
dixie highway destroyer
 
xbrightsidex's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 4,418
Location: louisville, ky
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

did you test it earlier at 12v or 24v?
Old 10-05-2005, 11:25 PM   #11
dont scare her, shock 'er
 
kyhombre's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 588
Location: KENTUCKY
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

Quote: Originally Posted by sdimess
thats some hairy ass arms j/k

whats the pressure rating on a 5 gallon tank?
150psi on most of them
Old 10-05-2005, 11:39 PM   #12
Wanna Race? To the ground
 
nimbyfaygo's Avatar
 
Age: 31
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,404
Location: Columbia, TN
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

Quote: Originally Posted by xbrightsidex
did you test it earlier at 12v or 24v?
I ran it at 12v. Tomorrow I'll try it out at 24v.

Standard 5gal tank is like 150psi. I just want to see what type of fill times is has. I can also get an adapter for a scuba tank and try running it up to 1500psi.
My Dad says that filling the tank to high psi will get it too hot so I am going to stick to tank in a trash can full of water to cool it.
Old 10-05-2005, 11:43 PM   #13
**** you
 
AssDragginSdime's Avatar
 
Age: 28
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 9,528
Location: from the mean streets of southington, CT
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

cool beans
Old 10-05-2005, 11:53 PM   #14
Registered User
 
De00vize's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,333
Location: Close to jackson TN
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

If you leave it sitting there to long it will take flight and fly away...or at least it looks like it would lol
Old 10-06-2005, 01:24 AM   #15
ITS NOT EASY BEING EASY
MODERATOR
 
Dragginbody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 19,339
Location: LORAIN OHIO
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

i want 1 !
Old 10-06-2005, 01:29 AM   #16
Wanna Race? To the ground
 
nimbyfaygo's Avatar
 
Age: 31
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,404
Location: Columbia, TN
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

I just found out that it has an adjustable pressure switch built into the bottom plate. But its minimum cutoff is still about 430psi.
Old 10-06-2005, 01:42 AM   #17
I AM A LUNATIC!
 
suicidedoors.com's Avatar
 
Age: 40
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 5,924
Location: Francisco, Indiana 47649
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

that is pretty cool man. id like to play with that too!
Old 10-06-2005, 07:50 AM   #18
~~<<' DRIVEN '>>~~
 
DJDAudio's Avatar

 
Age: 31
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 23,957
Location: Pittsburgh PA
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

Quote: Originally Posted by s10blaza
I bet djdaudio would love to play with that
Fo Shizzle!!,

ha ha that is awsome!
I love it. I would hold on o that it will come in handy.
Old 10-06-2005, 07:52 AM   #19
~~<<' DRIVEN '>>~~
 
DJDAudio's Avatar

 
Age: 31
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 23,957
Location: Pittsburgh PA
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

Quote: Originally Posted by nimbyfaygo
I ran it at 12v. Tomorrow I'll try it out at 24v.

Standard 5gal tank is like 150psi. I just want to see what type of fill times is has. I can also get an adapter for a scuba tank and try running it up to 1500psi.
My Dad says that filling the tank to high psi will get it too hot so I am going to stick to tank in a trash can full of water to cool it.
Yea the tank will get hot but to have any heat problems you will have to fill it at a rate of about 54CFM+ that comp will just make the tank warm, no big safty issue, I guess it has a fill rate of about 0.12CFM at 1,500PSI going by amp draw.

These kind of comps go for $2K easy ha ha great find.
Old 10-06-2005, 08:14 AM   #20
Now owns an S-10
 
Lowsonoma03's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 8,099
Location: Erie, PA
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

nice find! do they have any more?
Old 10-06-2005, 10:25 AM   #21
~~<<' DRIVEN '>>~~
 
DJDAudio's Avatar

 
Age: 31
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 23,957
Location: Pittsburgh PA
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

What I found,




Cornelius High Pressure SCUBA Compressor from the mid 1950's. The Cornelius Company was making aircraft high pressure compressors during World War II, and were later involved in vending machines. They entered into the SCUBA business in the 1950's by converting some of their high pressure pumps and adding filtering systems. This one is model 32-R-1505 and is powered by a 1 1/2 HP single cylinder two cycle gasoline engine, made by Power Products. It is capable of pressures up to 2500 PSI and 0.6 cubic feet free air per minute.


I was almost close with my CFM guess ha ha.

#RE16. (Not pictured) Cornelius High Pressure Pump Conversion Plans. Complete instructions for converting Cornelius high pressure pump into SCUBA compressor. 5 pages, includes 8 illustrative photos. From Fawcett Publications, 1964. Price $10.00.

Last edited by DJDAudio; 10-06-2005 at 10:28 AM.
Old 10-06-2005, 10:33 AM   #22
SOLD!
 
Chappy316's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,967
Location: Cedar Point Ohio
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

that thing looks awesome man, keep us posted on the test results...
Old 10-06-2005, 10:40 AM   #23
Registered User
 
xdraggerx's Avatar
 
Age: 32
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,850
Location: Boston MA
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

Those thing are sweet. I'm going to my local junk yard today just to walk around and look for cool stuff!
Old 10-06-2005, 12:27 PM   #24
NOW TUCKIN' 20'S
 
97bagdS10's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,961
Location: Wichita Kansas
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

that is bad @$$, i have gotten a few finds at my local scrap metal yard but most were only old engine blocks from corvettes and stuff. lol
Old 10-06-2005, 02:52 PM   #25
Registered User
 
Age: 32
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 410
Location: OKC, OK
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

hmm...time to search, I want to find one to play with.
Old 10-06-2005, 03:05 PM   #26
V going 4 door!
 
98layinframe's Avatar
 
Age: 33
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 14,863
Location: Pittsburgh Pa
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

430 psi in my air tanks sound damn good to me...
Old 10-06-2005, 04:00 PM   #27
Wanna Race? To the ground
 
nimbyfaygo's Avatar
 
Age: 31
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,404
Location: Columbia, TN
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

A bit of bad news. I don't know the exact CFM but it took 16min to fill a 7gallon tank to 75psi At 24v.

It would take all day to fill a scuba tank to 1500psi. But I do think that it's 100% duty, it would have to be.
Old 10-06-2005, 04:11 PM   #28
4 years : 3 weeks
 
03IndigoBlazerX's Avatar
 
Age: 33
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 460
Location: Jacksonville, FL
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

Quote: Originally Posted by nimbyfaygo
A bit of bad news. I don't know the exact CFM but it took 16min to fill a 7gallon tank to 75psi At 24v.

It would take all day to fill a scuba tank to 1500psi. But I do think that it's 100% duty, it would have to be.
Sounds like something must definately be faulty with it... plumbing issue maybe? I find it hard to belive that it should really take 16min... Damn thats like 5 times as long as a viair
Old 10-06-2005, 05:03 PM   #29
smurf
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 305
Location: Springfield MO
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

its like a jillion years old too im sure the innards arent working properly after sitting in a junkyard forever
Old 10-06-2005, 05:10 PM   #30
Registered User
 
Age: 32
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 410
Location: OKC, OK
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

I will buy it if you don't want to mess with it..
Old 10-06-2005, 05:29 PM   #31
Wanna Race? To the ground
 
nimbyfaygo's Avatar
 
Age: 31
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,404
Location: Columbia, TN
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

Also you ahve to think that the third stage pistion is about the same diameter as a pencil. That would explain the slowness.
The first stage piston is roughly the same size as a viair 380's

Off topic, but will a 380's upper head fit onto a 450?
Old 10-06-2005, 05:35 PM   #32
SOLD!
 
Chappy316's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,967
Location: Cedar Point Ohio
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

if you end up selling this thing or giving it away make sure DJD gets it... he will get it to fill a 12 gallon tank to 200 instantly...
Old 10-06-2005, 08:27 PM   #33
Wanna Race? To the ground
 
nimbyfaygo's Avatar
 
Age: 31
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,404
Location: Columbia, TN
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

Quote: Originally Posted by Chappy316
if you end up selling this thing or giving it away make sure DJD gets it... he will get it to fill a 12 gallon tank to 200 instantly...
If I ever get rid of it. Doug would be the only one I'd mail it too.
I have to say that he is the "certified compressor guy"
Old 10-06-2005, 08:34 PM   #34
Registered User
 
xtrmlow's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 687
Location: owosso, michigan
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

does it run in a 12V system????
Old 10-06-2005, 09:21 PM   #35
Wanna Race? To the ground
 
nimbyfaygo's Avatar
 
Age: 31
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,404
Location: Columbia, TN
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

Quote: Originally Posted by xtrmlow
does it run in a 12V system????
Not really. It only turns about 300rpm at 12v
Old 10-06-2005, 09:35 PM   #36
SOLD!
 
Chappy316's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,967
Location: Cedar Point Ohio
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

Quote: Originally Posted by nimbyfaygo
If I ever get rid of it. Doug would be the only one I'd mail it too.
I have to say that he is the "certified compressor guy"
you misspelled god there.... its G.O.D. not G.U.Y. just a little info for later
Old 10-06-2005, 11:45 PM   #37
Completly Useless Truck
 
GETNLWR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,489
Location: MYOB
User is: OffLine
Re: 3 stage 1500psi DC comp!

God Damn that thing is beautyful... If it is meant for planes it has to be ultra reliable back in the day. I would personally clean it up, see if any parts needed to be replaced and use it to fill nitrogen tanks for your truck. imagine never having to pay to fill your tanks again. you could leave it on powered at your house for hours on end and get up in the moring to a full tank witha pressure switch... I want one.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:06 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
SEO by vBSEO
vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.