1st Gen Blazer with 2nd Gen Blazer spindles for C6 Z06 brakes.... - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

1st Gen Blazer with 2nd Gen Blazer spindles for C6 Z06 brakes....

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Suspension Tech > Baggin' It
New User? Register Forgot Password


 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-25-2013, 09:19 PM   #1
Registered User
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Location:
User is: OffLine
1st Gen Blazer with 2nd Gen Blazer spindles for C6 Z06 brakes....

I have an 88 s10 blazer that will be bagged and laying frame. I already ordered Thor Bros control arms for a 1st gen blazer. I am going to swap the spindles for a ser of Belltech 98+ Blazer spindles and from what I have read it is not uncommon an not a major problem.

Any one else done the c6 zo6 brake swap on a 1st gen?

Seen it done on a couple of 2nd gens
Old 02-26-2013, 04:01 PM   #2
Longbeds FTMFW
 
gunther19820's Avatar
 
Age: 33
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 8,226
Location: central NJ
User is: OffLine
Re: 1st Gen Blazer with 2nd Gen Blazer spindles for C6 Z06 brakes....

Starting it shortly
Old 02-26-2013, 06:58 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 1st Gen Blazer with 2nd Gen Blazer spindles for C6 Z06 brakes....

Quote: Originally Posted by gunther19820
Starting it shortly
What setup are you going to run specifically?
Old 02-27-2013, 08:18 AM   #4
Longbeds FTMFW
 
gunther19820's Avatar
 
Age: 33
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 8,226
Location: central NJ
User is: OffLine
Re: 1st Gen Blazer with 2nd Gen Blazer spindles for C6 Z06 brakes....

C5 rotors/C6 calipers/Belltech Blazer drop spindles

You can also do this without switching over to the blazer hub-type spindles.
Old 02-27-2013, 08:44 AM   #5
Registered User
 
JeremyCollins13's Avatar
 
Age: 24
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,925
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 1st Gen Blazer with 2nd Gen Blazer spindles for C6 Z06 brakes....

^ Do share, please.
Old 02-27-2013, 08:58 AM   #6
Registered User
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 1st Gen Blazer with 2nd Gen Blazer spindles for C6 Z06 brakes....

Quote: Originally Posted by gunther19820
C5 rotors/C6 calipers/Belltech Blazer drop spindles

You can also do this without switching over to the blazer hub-type spindles.
Really? Everything that I have been looking into has required the 98+ Blazer spindles in order to do the C6 Z06 brake setup. I talked also with Kore3 and they said it would require the 98+ spindles or ATS AFX spindles (which are way overpriced and not recommended as blazers will not be track cars typically).

Do you have any pics or more info of a 1st gen s1-/blazer that uses the 1st gen spindles?

Thanks
Old 02-27-2013, 11:59 AM   #7
Longbeds FTMFW
 
gunther19820's Avatar
 
Age: 33
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 8,226
Location: central NJ
User is: OffLine
Re: 1st Gen Blazer with 2nd Gen Blazer spindles for C6 Z06 brakes....

you take old rotors, and turn them down into hubs. Then slide the hat-style vette or LS1 rotors onto them. I believe you have to trim a little of the spindle away, for the abutments to fit. Also, your track width will increase more (to compensate for your newly made "hub").

A good example is Hi_i'm_sean, look in his thread. I believe he is running LS brakes, not vettes. But you can see what he did with the rotors turned to hubs.

A lot of guys do it this way, because it keeps them from having to buy New spindles (especially if you need drop spindles, they arent ****ing cheap). I wanted to keep my overall track width as close to what i have as possible, so I opted to go with the blazer spindles.

Also, why are you sold on it being "Z06"? They only difference in calipers was color of the paint. I think the rotors may have been a little thicker, but their diam is the same.
Old 02-27-2013, 12:10 PM   #8
Longbeds FTMFW
 
gunther19820's Avatar
 
Age: 33
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 8,226
Location: central NJ
User is: OffLine
Re: 1st Gen Blazer with 2nd Gen Blazer spindles for C6 Z06 brakes....

http://www.s10forum.com/forum/f30/86...23/index5.html seans thread

http://www.s10forum.com/forum/f14/1s...e-swap-509517/ a thread i started with some info

http://s-seriesforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=74977 some great info.
Old 02-27-2013, 05:45 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 1st Gen Blazer with 2nd Gen Blazer spindles for C6 Z06 brakes....

Rotor Diameters/Thicknesses:
Base: F 325mm/R 305mm
Z51: F 340mm/R 330mm
Z06: F 355mm/R 340mm
ZR1: F 394mm/R 380mm
All (3) variants Rotor thickness (with exception of ZR1): F 32mm/R 26mm
Old 02-27-2013, 05:48 PM   #10
Registered User
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 1st Gen Blazer with 2nd Gen Blazer spindles for C6 Z06 brakes....

Thanks for the info. I am just going to go with the 2nd gen spindles for this setup. I was just wondering what other options there were for a 1st gen.
Old 02-27-2013, 05:57 PM   #11
Longbeds FTMFW
 
gunther19820's Avatar
 
Age: 33
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 8,226
Location: central NJ
User is: OffLine
Re: 1st Gen Blazer with 2nd Gen Blazer spindles for C6 Z06 brakes....

all the brake info:
http://lukeskaff.com/?page_id=333
Old 02-27-2013, 05:59 PM   #12
Registered User
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 1st Gen Blazer with 2nd Gen Blazer spindles for C6 Z06 brakes....

Btw Calipers are completely different on the C6 Z06 compared to the Z51 or base.

C6 Z06: Front 6 Piston Calipers, Rear 4 Piston Calipers
C6 Z51 and C5 use the same calipers but the C6 Z51 uses a larger rotor: Front 4 Piston Calipers, Rear 4 Piston Calipers
Old 02-27-2013, 06:00 PM   #13
Longbeds FTMFW
 
gunther19820's Avatar
 
Age: 33
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 8,226
Location: central NJ
User is: OffLine
Re: 1st Gen Blazer with 2nd Gen Blazer spindles for C6 Z06 brakes....

There are multiple threads on here talking about the calipers. If you want to pay more for red paint its cool...
Old 02-27-2013, 06:01 PM   #14
Registered User
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 1st Gen Blazer with 2nd Gen Blazer spindles for C6 Z06 brakes....

Quote: Originally Posted by gunther19820
Yep, good info.
Old 02-27-2013, 06:02 PM   #15
Registered User
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 1st Gen Blazer with 2nd Gen Blazer spindles for C6 Z06 brakes....

Quote: Originally Posted by gunther19820
you arent listing years man.
My bad, I should have put, generic in there. But I was just trying to put that there are difference other than rotor diameter and paint color between the z06 and base brake systems for a C6 or C5
Old 02-27-2013, 06:03 PM   #16
Longbeds FTMFW
 
gunther19820's Avatar
 
Age: 33
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 8,226
Location: central NJ
User is: OffLine
Re: 1st Gen Blazer with 2nd Gen Blazer spindles for C6 Z06 brakes....

Quote: Originally Posted by mexinaction
My bad, I should have put, generic in there. But I was just trying to put that there are difference other than rotor diameter and paint color between the z06 and base brake systems for a C6 or C5
I caught the C6, so I edited my post- my apologies
Old 02-27-2013, 06:07 PM   #17
Registered User
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 1st Gen Blazer with 2nd Gen Blazer spindles for C6 Z06 brakes....

Quote: Originally Posted by gunther19820
I caught the C6, so I edited my post- my apologies
haha no problem I was starting to second guess my knowledge there. I was like wtf!! lol
Old 02-27-2013, 06:13 PM   #18
Longbeds FTMFW
 
gunther19820's Avatar
 
Age: 33
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 8,226
Location: central NJ
User is: OffLine
Re: 1st Gen Blazer with 2nd Gen Blazer spindles for C6 Z06 brakes....

so the C6 Z06 are 6 pots, while the C6 Z51, C6 base are 4 pots. I also believe the C5 calipers are identical.

Maybe its the C5 calipers that the only difference is color (between the Z06 and base/Z51)
Old 02-27-2013, 06:53 PM   #19
twisted metal fab
 
Age: 35
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 64
Location: ohio
User is: OffLine
Re: 1st Gen Blazer with 2nd Gen Blazer spindles for C6 Z06 brakes....

I have mmw flat uppers with 98 belltech spindles. The caliper hits the control arm when turning and it would compress the caliper. The caliper is moved up higher on the 98+ spindles. I had to reshape the uppers to work.
Old 02-27-2013, 06:56 PM   #20
Longbeds FTMFW
 
gunther19820's Avatar
 
Age: 33
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 8,226
Location: central NJ
User is: OffLine
Re: 1st Gen Blazer with 2nd Gen Blazer spindles for C6 Z06 brakes....

^with what brakes?? I have MMW uppers aw well
Old 02-27-2013, 10:22 PM   #21
twisted metal fab
 
Age: 35
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 64
Location: ohio
User is: OffLine
Re: 1st Gen Blazer with 2nd Gen Blazer spindles for C6 Z06 brakes....

98+ blazer with 2 piston stock calipers and belltech spindles.


problem fixed
Old 02-28-2013, 07:57 AM   #22
Longbeds FTMFW
 
gunther19820's Avatar
 
Age: 33
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 8,226
Location: central NJ
User is: OffLine
Re: 1st Gen Blazer with 2nd Gen Blazer spindles for C6 Z06 brakes....

****.

I have the 1 piece flat uppers... lets see how this works out for me.
Old 08-15-2014, 02:33 AM   #23
Registered User
 
84blaze's Avatar
 
Age: 23
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,493
Location: Victoria, BC
User is: OffLine
Re: 1st Gen Blazer with 2nd Gen Blazer spindles for C6 Z06 brakes....

I'm pulling this up from the dead... but how would the C6 Z06 Callipers work with SD flat plate uppers and Belltech 2102 spindles? I hope the callipers don't bind like the photo above...
Old 08-15-2014, 08:21 AM   #24
Longbeds FTMFW
 
gunther19820's Avatar
 
Age: 33
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 8,226
Location: central NJ
User is: OffLine
Re: 1st Gen Blazer with 2nd Gen Blazer spindles for C6 Z06 brakes....

84- mine have been fine.
Old 08-15-2014, 10:02 AM   #25
Registered User
 
squeak's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 491
Location: Jesup, GA
User is: OffLine
Re: 1st Gen Blazer with 2nd Gen Blazer spindles for C6 Z06 brakes....

Quote: Originally Posted by gunther19820
so the C6 Z06 are 6 pots, while the C6 Z51, C6 base are 4 pots. I also believe the C5 calipers are identical.

Maybe its the C5 calipers that the only difference is color (between the Z06 and base/Z51)
I know this post is old, but aren't all the C6 except z06 and all C5 brakes 2 piston? I know they aren't opposed calipers, meaning it's a floating caliper with all the pistons on the inside of the rotor.


Edit: a little bit of searching came up with this http://www.kore3.com/proddetail.php?prod=10105-02
they are 2 piston calipers.
Old 08-15-2014, 12:01 PM   #26
Longbeds FTMFW
 
gunther19820's Avatar
 
Age: 33
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 8,226
Location: central NJ
User is: OffLine
Re: 1st Gen Blazer with 2nd Gen Blazer spindles for C6 Z06 brakes....

Quote: Originally Posted by squeak
I know this post is old, but aren't all the C6 except z06 and all C5 brakes 2 piston? I know they aren't opposed calipers, meaning it's a floating caliper with all the pistons on the inside of the rotor.


Edit: a little bit of searching came up with this http://www.kore3.com/proddetail.php?prod=10105-02
they are 2 piston calipers.
you are probably right. I was misinformed.
Mine are C5 calipers- 2 piston
Old 08-15-2014, 12:43 PM   #27
Registered User
 
squeak's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 491
Location: Jesup, GA
User is: OffLine
Re: 1st Gen Blazer with 2nd Gen Blazer spindles for C6 Z06 brakes....

I'm interested to see some c7 brake swaps, since they use 4 piston brembos.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
SEO by vBSEO
vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.