12-15gal to a 5 gal tank? - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Suspension Tech > Baggin' It
New User? Register Forgot Password


 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-18-2012, 09:09 AM   #1
Registered User
 
lowlife187's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 117
Location:
User is: OffLine
12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

Right not im running a 12-15 gal air tank that i got from a dumptruck.


I have a 5 gal tank that came with the truck originally, it mounts under the bed. I am wanting to clean the system up a little and get my bed back. So i guess my question is would i be hurting my self going back to a 5gal? Im sure it would fill up faster. Im running two viair 480c with a 165on/200off pressure swtich. What is your opinion on this?
Old 03-18-2012, 09:35 AM   #2
We Bend Stainless
 
JDrummond Service Inc.'s Avatar

 
Age: 28
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,795
Location: Grand Haven, MI
User is: OffLine
Re: 12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

Anything you have to do to clean that up is okay with me! lol I was running a 5 gal and 12v and I wasn't thrilled with the fact that it took two fills to fill the front, and recovery time wasn't that great. I am running a 5 and a 3 gal and a york 209 and I'm SUPER pleased with it.

Honestly, if you have two 480s and a leak free system, you should be pretty happy... 5 gals is a legit amount of volume. IMO
Old 03-18-2012, 09:37 AM   #3
Registered Asshole
 
rstadelmaier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,059
Location: Pittsburgh
User is: OffLine
Re: 12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

Just my opinion. a 200 off pressure switch is not necessary. Youre just going to burn your compressor life away. 5 gallons fine. Only reason I can see such a large tank is with an edc and your ice cube hitting switches constantly
Old 03-18-2012, 09:39 AM   #4
Registered User
 
lowlife187's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 117
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

Quote: Originally Posted by JDrummond Service Inc.
Anything you have to do to clean that up is okay with me! lol I was running a 5 gal and 12v and I wasn't thrilled with the fact that it took two fills to fill the front, and recovery time wasn't that great. I am running a 5 and a 3 gal and a york 209 and I'm SUPER pleased with it.

Honestly, if you have two 480s and a leak free system, you should be pretty happy... 5 gals is a legit amount of volume. IMO
LOL..I know. I just threw it together when i got my new compressors. I was going to put on a tonno cover, but decided aginst it. Thank you for your input.
Old 03-18-2012, 09:45 AM   #5
We Bend Stainless
 
JDrummond Service Inc.'s Avatar

 
Age: 28
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,795
Location: Grand Haven, MI
User is: OffLine
Re: 12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

Quote: Originally Posted by rstadelmaier
Just my opinion. a 200 off pressure switch is not necessary. Youre just going to burn your compressor life away. 5 gallons fine. Only reason I can see such a large tank is with an edc and your ice cube hitting switches constantly
Damn! Ya caught me! lolz

Old 03-18-2012, 09:46 AM   #6
Registered User
 
lowlife187's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 117
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

Quote: Originally Posted by rstadelmaier
5 gallons fine. Only reason I can see such a large tank is with an edc and your ice cube hitting switches constantly
Thank you for your input. And no, im not ice cube. LOL. Hell most the time i just leave the front up even when i park, it take more air to fill. So i usually just drop the rear when i park and fill it back up when i take off.
Old 03-18-2012, 09:47 AM   #7
Registered Asshole
 
rstadelmaier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,059
Location: Pittsburgh
User is: OffLine
Re: 12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

hahaha. i'm gonna go watch "today was a good day" now
Old 03-18-2012, 09:48 AM   #8
Registered User
 
lowlife187's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 117
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

Quote: Originally Posted by rstadelmaier
hahaha. i'm gonna go watch "today was a good day" now
Old 03-18-2012, 09:48 AM   #9
Registered Asshole
 
rstadelmaier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,059
Location: Pittsburgh
User is: OffLine
Re: 12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

Quote: Originally Posted by lowlife187
Thank you for your input. And no, im not ice cube. LOL. Hell most the time i just leave the front up even when i park, it take more air to fill. So i usually just drop the rear when i park and fill it back up when i take off.

whats it take to fill your front? your back probably take like 30psi with boa
Old 03-18-2012, 09:49 AM   #10
Registered User
 
lowlife187's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 117
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

Old 03-18-2012, 09:55 AM   #11
Registered User
 
lowlife187's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 117
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

Quote: Originally Posted by rstadelmaier
whats it take to fill your front? your back probably take like 30psi with boa
Not sure. I will pay attention to it today.
Old 03-18-2012, 10:12 AM   #12
Registered Asshole
 
rstadelmaier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,059
Location: Pittsburgh
User is: OffLine
Re: 12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

i'm currently running an 8 gallon tank and one of those dc7000 compressors from airbagit and it takes a little time to fill but it's not too bad. i'm switching to a 6 gallon tank i got from a truck shop because i never really touch my switches much unless i need to. you'll be happy with a smaller tank. also how's your compressors ran? and on what relay? if you're running a 30/40 amp square relay i'd switch to an 80amp and larger wires. youre compressors might be restricted
Old 03-18-2012, 10:33 AM   #13
Registered User
 
lowlife187's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 117
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

I am running the relays that cam with the kit, 1 relay per compressor. Im running a inline 60 am fuse(what viair recomends) and 10gauge wire. All connections where made with heat shink fittings and i followed the wiring instrucions that came with the kit. Everything Viair recomended i either followed it, or up'd it. Im not taking any chances with this. These damn compressors are expensive.
I just went and looked at the guage as well. To fill my front it jumps from 180 down to 150. Im running 1/2" lines and BIG bags up front. Im not sure on the bag size, but i have been told from other people that have more experiance than me that they are much larger than 2600#. If that means anything. The lower control arms have been modified as well. Not sure if that means anything either, but just thought i would add that.
Old 03-18-2012, 10:43 AM   #14
Registered Asshole
 
rstadelmaier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,059
Location: Pittsburgh
User is: OffLine
Re: 12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

if you're running bags that large and you're running at 180 psi something is wrong. you should be at like 80 max.
Old 03-18-2012, 10:55 AM   #15
DOOR'D FOR HER PLEASURE!
 
Slappy McNasty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,688
Location: CENTRAL COW'LEE'4N'YA
User is: OffLine
Re: 12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

180 up front is unheard of to me. the most it should take to lock-up is 130. anything more and it would ride like wooden blocks wedged up front.
one 5 gal tank will fill extremely quick but will also drain that fast too = run comps to fill, hit switches, fill the bags then run again to refill tanks. nothing wrong w/ it but "play time" is all but lost
Old 03-18-2012, 11:17 AM   #16
Registered User
 
lowlife187's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 117
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

I run a little under 60 up front I was refrerring to my tank pressure
Old 03-18-2012, 01:28 PM   #17
Registered Asshole
 
rstadelmaier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,059
Location: Pittsburgh
User is: OffLine
Re: 12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

Ohhhh alright a little confusion on my part. Yeah id ditch the huge tank. Go with the 5 if you don't touch the switches nonstop.
Old 03-18-2012, 03:46 PM   #18
Registered User
 
Patawick's Avatar
 
Age: 24
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,076
Location: Dora Alabama
User is: OffLine
Re: 12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

Needs cleaned up quick!!
Old 03-18-2012, 04:08 PM   #19
Registered User
 
lowlife187's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 117
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

Quote: Originally Posted by Patawick
Needs cleaned up quick!!
WOW....no way?!?!
Old 03-19-2012, 11:08 AM   #20
ELTC
 
Gimp's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,384
Location: CT
User is: OffLine
Re: 12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

Quote: Originally Posted by rstadelmaier
i'm currently running an 8 gallon tank and one of those dc7000 compressors from airbagit and it takes a little time to fill but it's not too bad. i'm switching to a 6 gallon tank i got from a truck shop because i never really touch my switches much unless i need to. you'll be happy with a smaller tank. also how's your compressors ran? and on what relay? if you're running a 30/40 amp square relay i'd switch to an 80amp and larger wires. youre compressors might be restricted
totally agree you. you should ditch the 30/40 relays and switch to an 80amp if youre running two comps. it will certainly help you clean up all that wiring quickly. plenty safe for your 480's. Hell i run three backup 380's to my EDC off one of these.
wires from the battery with 4g to be safe, grounds to frame, wire up your + and - from comps and boom
http://www.newmaticsinc.com/AAMP_SR80_p/107643.htm

and as also said the 165/200 pressure switch is a little bit over kill at times but having a pressure of lower rating sucks big time.. and to have no pressure switch would just be stupid!!!
Have you ever thought of putting in an inline toggle on your pressure switch? I did and love it. Have one on my EDC too. allows me to cut down on oil consumption and also lets say i pull up on a drivethru somewhere and my comps are running i dont have to shut the truck down just to shut them up. flip the 30amp toggle and theyre quiet for the time being till im on the road again or if im just cruisin around and only feel the need to have lets say 140 psi in my tanks i kill the comps whenever i want and give them a rest..
might be an idea for ya man to consider

edit: btw that tank looks like it weighs a ton!!! lol
Old 03-19-2012, 11:23 AM   #21
Registered User
 
lowlife187's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 117
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

Thanks you for all that info. Not sure if you thought I was running only one relay. But I am running a 40amp relay per compresso tied together with 4 gauge wire and a 60amp fuse comeing off the battery. I am also running a 30 amp fuse for my toggle switch. I also have it set up where I can control the compressors or the pressure switch does. Since I installed this a few days ago I have only had the compressors come on 3 times, and each time its was for about 5-8 minutes just to bring the pressure up from 160 to 200. Once again I really apreciate the information. Sorry if its all kindda jumbled together, I'm typing from my black berry. LOL.
Old 03-19-2012, 10:56 PM   #22
ELTC
 
Gimp's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,384
Location: CT
User is: OffLine
Re: 12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

no i pretty much had it figured out that u had two relays already man.. im saying you can ditch the those two 40 amps and all the seperate wiring per relay for one 80amp and wire both comps directly to one relay.. its alot cleaner that way.
Old 03-20-2012, 01:19 AM   #23
Registered User
 
Gelsinger's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 568
Location: Vandalia, IL
User is: Online
Re: 12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

Jeez gimp. Over achiever. Lol. Got me jealous for sure. Haha. I have 12 gallon tank and 2 viairs with 80 amp relay. Highly recommend the 80 amp relay. When compressors start gettin weak, they draw more power and pull more through relays burning up smaller relays very quickly and when you're going to local parts store and are buying them at 6 bucks a piece, it adds up quickly and you realize your better off to buy 80 amp relay. I bought mine at suicide doors and ordered it around like 4 o clock one evening and got it next day around 11 o clock. Very pleased
Old 03-20-2012, 05:25 AM   #24
Registered User
 
lowlife187's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 117
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

Awesome. I will do that. Thanks for all the help
Old 03-20-2012, 11:04 AM   #25
ELTC
 
Gimp's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,384
Location: CT
User is: OffLine
Re: 12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

Quote: Originally Posted by Gelsinger
Jeez gimp. Over achiever. Lol. Got me jealous for sure. Haha. I have 12 gallon tank and 2 viairs with 80 amp relay. Highly recommend the 80 amp relay. When compressors start gettin weak, they draw more power and pull more through relays burning up smaller relays very quickly and when you're going to local parts store and are buying them at 6 bucks a piece, it adds up quickly and you realize your better off to buy 80 amp relay. I bought mine at suicide doors and ordered it around like 4 o clock one evening and got it next day around 11 o clock. Very pleased
I ike lots of air what can i say
Old 03-20-2012, 01:10 PM   #26
Registered User
 
Gelsinger's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 568
Location: Vandalia, IL
User is: Online
Re: 12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

I went from 5 gallon tank to 12 gallon tank myself also.. I don't like to compromise air play time either. Lol. So props to ya gimp. Very impressive
Old 03-20-2012, 11:39 PM   #27
ELTC
 
Gimp's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,384
Location: CT
User is: OffLine
Re: 12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

Quote: Originally Posted by Gelsinger
I went from 5 gallon tank to 12 gallon tank myself also.. I don't like to compromise air play time either. Lol. So props to ya gimp. Very impressive
actually on my truck i run a 12gal and an 8gal. edc and the 380's. hot air balloons dont pack as much air as my truck does
Old 03-21-2012, 12:54 AM   #28
Registered User
 
Gelsinger's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 568
Location: Vandalia, IL
User is: Online
Re: 12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

Haha. Might as well get ya big propane truck and filler up with air. Nice man. Crazy play time there
Old 03-21-2012, 06:37 AM   #29
Registered Asshole
 
rstadelmaier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,059
Location: Pittsburgh
User is: OffLine
Re: 12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

Quote: Originally Posted by Gimp
actually on my truck i run a 12gal and an 8gal. edc and the 380's. hot air balloons dont pack as much air as my truck does

haha might as well through a nitrogen bank in the rear
Old 03-22-2012, 11:30 AM   #30
ELTC
 
Gimp's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,384
Location: CT
User is: OffLine
Re: 12-15gal to a 5 gal tank?

Quote: Originally Posted by rstadelmaier
haha might as well through a nitrogen bank in the rear
haha
that post should hve said three 380's too..
ive consider nitrogen but my 12gal and 8gal are already in the bed so i havent wanted to stuff another tank in there. Im thinking of a different setup for this yr tho we'll see
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:57 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
SEO by vBSEO
vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.