What does P0103 Mass or Volume Air Flow Circuit High Input mean? - S-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 01-29-2008, 06:35 PM Thread Starter
▂ ▃ ▅ ▆ █ ▆ ▅ ▃ ▂
 
ZQ8 Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Western, Ky
Age: 33
Posts: 34,376

User is: ZQ8 Blazer is offline
What does P0103 Mass or Volume Air Flow Circuit High Input mean?

What does P0103 Mass or Volume Air Flow Circuit High Input mean?



ℐustin
ZQ8 Blazer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 01-29-2008, 06:42 PM
Life Begins @ Zero PSI
 
jakefiddlesticks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Coloma Ca
Age: 39
Posts: 4,927

User is: jakefiddlesticks is offline
Re: What does P0103 Mass or Volume Air Flow Circuit High Input mean?

ECM code for the mass air flow sensor.
Did you install a cold air intake?
If your truck doesn't run its time to replace the MAF.

wanted 2002 4.3 5 speed gauge cluster
jakefiddlesticks is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 01-29-2008, 06:44 PM Thread Starter
▂ ▃ ▅ ▆ █ ▆ ▅ ▃ ▂
 
ZQ8 Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Western, Ky
Age: 33
Posts: 34,376

User is: ZQ8 Blazer is offline
Re: What does P0103 Mass or Volume Air Flow Circuit High Input mean?

it runs fine and I have a cold air intake, but I installed it back in october and the code just showed up...


ℐustin
ZQ8 Blazer is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 12-02-2010, 09:36 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SoCal
Age: 29
Posts: 13

User is: Demonchild is offline
Re: What does P0103 Mass or Volume Air Flow Circuit High Input mean?

***cough***cough***bump from almost three years ago.

I lurk around these forums, however, I've never had any issues with that noma. First post: does anyone know what cause a p0103? Truck is running fine. I'm completely stock.
Demonchild is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 12-02-2010, 09:41 PM
Registered User
 
zacharyh687's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Age: 28
Posts: 382

User is: zacharyh687 is offline
Re: What does P0103 Mass or Volume Air Flow Circuit High Input mean?

try cleaning the MAF with the cleaner that they sell at the autoparts store and reset the computer and see if it comes back on

96 Chevy Blazer 4.3L HO 4L60E with 291,XXXmi and 14x,xxx on a reman 4.3.. Mods: 5000K 35W hid's, K&N drop in filter, Magnaflow high flow cat, MSD coil.

09 GMC Sierra 1500 X-Cab Short Bed 4.8L auto.
Mods. Magnaflow exhaust true duals.
5k hid. Undercover se tonneau cover. Afe dry flow air filter. Diablo sport predator.
future mods. Factory fog lights with hid. Billet front grille. And stereo system
zacharyh687 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 12-02-2010, 09:45 PM
Wire Splicin Fool :-)
 
lesterl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Harrisonville, MO
Age: 36
Posts: 8,692

User is: lesterl is offline
Re: What does P0103 Mass or Volume Air Flow Circuit High Input mean?

It is an error triggered by too high of a frequency of the MAF sensor and as I recall that would be excessive airflow thru the sensor....

Sensor Resistance Chart -> http://www.s10forum.com/forum/attachments/f107/98606d1222052466-little-help-needed-gm-sensor-chart.gif
1997 Venture 3.4l Auto / 2006 Malibu Maxx 3.5l Auto / 1995 Tahoe 5.7l TBI Auto / 1998 GMC Sierra Z71
Will have another S10 one day.... Anyone have a freebie? :-)
lesterl is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 12-03-2010, 12:45 AM Thread Starter
▂ ▃ ▅ ▆ █ ▆ ▅ ▃ ▂
 
ZQ8 Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Western, Ky
Age: 33
Posts: 34,376

User is: ZQ8 Blazer is offline
Re: What does P0103 Mass or Volume Air Flow Circuit High Input mean?

When I reset it it never came back.


ℐustin
ZQ8 Blazer is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 12-03-2010, 01:36 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SoCal
Age: 29
Posts: 13

User is: Demonchild is offline
Re: What does P0103 Mass or Volume Air Flow Circuit High Input mean?

I reset my computer and then did some errands tonight. I haven't thrown a code yet. I'll keep an eye on it. I think I'll get some MAF cleaner this weekend. Has anyone ever had any adverse effect with using it?

1998 Sonoma
4.3L v6|5 speed|completely stock
Demonchild is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 12-03-2010, 01:41 AM
Registered User
 
AWD V8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Surrey, BC, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 6,430

User is: AWD V8 is offline
Re: What does P0103 Mass or Volume Air Flow Circuit High Input mean?

Oiled air filters will cause the MAF to send an code.
AWD V8 is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 12-03-2010, 01:47 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SoCal
Age: 29
Posts: 13

User is: Demonchild is offline
Re: What does P0103 Mass or Volume Air Flow Circuit High Input mean?

Why will oiled air filters cause a code?

1998 Sonoma
4.3L v6|5 speed|completely stock
Demonchild is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 12-03-2010, 07:12 PM
Registered User
 
AWD V8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Surrey, BC, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 6,430

User is: AWD V8 is offline
Re: What does P0103 Mass or Volume Air Flow Circuit High Input mean?

The oil picked up by the air flow over the filter media will coat the MAF sensor wire and throw the resistance off resulting in an inaccurate reading of the air flow, thus the ECM throws a code. Cleaning sometimes works, but it will happen again unless the type of filter is changed to a dry paper element.

I've seen this lots of times.
AWD V8 is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 12-04-2010, 07:30 PM
Wire Splicin Fool :-)
 
lesterl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Harrisonville, MO
Age: 36
Posts: 8,692

User is: lesterl is offline
Re: What does P0103 Mass or Volume Air Flow Circuit High Input mean?

Depends upon how heavily you oil them, I have run plenty of K&N filters and never threw a MAF code.

The MAF sends out a signal based upon the resistance of the wires in the unit. The resistance is dependent upon the airflow over the wires. The PCM monitors the signal and alters the fueling parameters based upon the signal. If the signal falls out of a preprogramed threshold for certian other engine paramters, I.E. RPM/ MAP/ ETC..... it will set a DTC assuming something is wrong with the MAF.....

Sensor Resistance Chart -> http://www.s10forum.com/forum/attachments/f107/98606d1222052466-little-help-needed-gm-sensor-chart.gif
1997 Venture 3.4l Auto / 2006 Malibu Maxx 3.5l Auto / 1995 Tahoe 5.7l TBI Auto / 1998 GMC Sierra Z71
Will have another S10 one day.... Anyone have a freebie? :-)
lesterl is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 12-11-2010, 07:04 PM
ASE certified MasterTech
 
jtcfanof3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: A little here and a little there....
Age: 40
Posts: 8,694

User is: jtcfanof3 is offline
Send a message via AIM to jtcfanof3
Re: What does P0103 Mass or Volume Air Flow Circuit High Input mean?

Perform POWERTRAIN ON-BOARD DIAGNOSTIC (OBD) SYSTEM CHECK. Retrieve and record FREEZE FRAME and/or FAIL RECORDS data for each DTC set. After performing OBD system check, go to next step.

Start engine. With engine at idle, use scan tool to read MAF value. If MAF value is greater than 20 gm/s, go to step 4). If MAF value is not greater than 20 gm/s, go to next step.

Turn engine off. Turn ignition on, engine off. Using scan tool, read and record FAIL RECORDS data. Operate vehicle within conditions noted in FAIL RECORD data. Using scan tool, read SPECIFIC DTC. If scan tool displays that this DTC FAILED THIS IGN, go to next step. If scan tool does not indicate that this DTC FAILED THIS IGN, see DIAGNOSTIC AIDS.

Turn ignition off. Disconnect MAF sensor harness connector. Start and allow engine to idle. Using scan tool, read MAF value. If value is about 0 gm/s, go to next step. If value is not 0 gm/s, go to step 7).

Check for faulty connection at MAF sensor. Repair as necessary. After repairs, go to step 10). If connection is okay, go to next step.

Replace MAF sensor. After replacing sensor, go to step 10).

Ensure MAF sensor harness is not routed too close to high-voltage wires, such as spark plug cables, ignition coils or other high-voltage components. Reroute harness if necessary and then go to step 10). If harness routing is okay, go to next step.

Check MAF sensor signal circuit connection at VCM. Repair as necessary. After repairs, go to step 10). If connection is okay, go to next step.

Replace VCM. Program replacement PCM using required equipment. After replacing VCM, go to next step.

Using scan tool, select DTC, CLEAR INFO function. Start engine and allow it to reach operating temperature. Using scan tool, select DTC, SPECIFIC function and enter this DTC. Operate vehicle within conditions required to set DTC. If scan tool indicates that this DTC RAN AND PASSED, go to next step. If scan tool does not indicate that this DTC RAN AND PASSED, repeat step 2).

Using scan tool, select Read and Record INFO, REVIEW INFO function. If any undiagnosed DTCs are displayed, diagnose affected DTCs. If no additional DTCs are displayed, system is okay.


1989 Chevrolet Blazer 3.4
1989 Chevrolet Blazer 4.3 4x4
1989 Chevrolet Blazer 4.3 Edelbrock equipped
2003 Chevrolet S10 4.3
1999 Chevrolet S10 Xtreme 2.2

Last edited by jtcfanof3; 12-11-2010 at 07:07 PM.
jtcfanof3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome