Symptoms for a bad Throttle Position Sensor - S-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 01-26-2006, 02:59 PM Thread Starter
hatetheblazer
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Age: 39
Posts: 537

User is: lovetheblazer is offline
Symptoms for a bad Throttle Position Sensor

Does anyone know what happens when this part goes bad or starts going bad?


'99 Blazer V6 4.3L Vortec 262ci, custom y-pipe, no cat, Flowtech Raptor Muffler, K&N FIPK 2, MSD Blaster Coil...

$$$SOLD AND GONE FOR GOOD!
lovetheblazer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 01-26-2006, 06:46 PM Thread Starter
hatetheblazer
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Age: 39
Posts: 537

User is: lovetheblazer is offline
Re: Symptoms for a bad Throttle Position Sensor

hello?

'99 Blazer V6 4.3L Vortec 262ci, custom y-pipe, no cat, Flowtech Raptor Muffler, K&N FIPK 2, MSD Blaster Coil...

$$$SOLD AND GONE FOR GOOD!
lovetheblazer is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 01-26-2006, 06:48 PM
Primer?
 
Tha s-10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: FAIRFAX
Age: 28
Posts: 512

User is: Tha s-10 is offline
Re: Symptoms for a bad Throttle Position Sensor

On hard take off it studder, may not want to idle, hesitation, bad mpg, it goes on and on .

What problems r u having

Mods350 vortec,edelbrock performer rpm carb mani
600 edelbrock carb,Holley electric pump
fuel pressure regulator,.488 lift cam duration 292
headers 2 1/2 exhuast true duals,flowmaster mufflers,hei distributer stock,vacuum advance curve kit,Trans/ Rear end,700r4 stock stall,Vette servo
street shift kit,Z-28 camaro rear end 3:73 posi
Tha s-10 is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 01-27-2006, 06:28 AM Thread Starter
hatetheblazer
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Age: 39
Posts: 537

User is: lovetheblazer is offline
Re: Symptoms for a bad Throttle Position Sensor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tha s-10
On hard take off it studder, may not want to idle, hesitation, bad mpg, it goes on and on .

What problems r u having
Shaking at idle...already did a super complete tune-up and it's still there...

'99 Blazer V6 4.3L Vortec 262ci, custom y-pipe, no cat, Flowtech Raptor Muffler, K&N FIPK 2, MSD Blaster Coil...

$$$SOLD AND GONE FOR GOOD!
lovetheblazer is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 01-27-2006, 06:47 AM
takes 2 balls in our game
 
s10-den's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Missouri
Age: 43
Posts: 5,664

User is: s10-den is offline
Re: Symptoms for a bad Throttle Position Sensor

Quote:
Originally Posted by lovetheblazer
Shaking at idle...already did a super complete tune-up and it's still there...
mine did the exact same thing as this.never could get it out so i sold it was a 4.3 5 speed truck
s10-den is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 01-29-2006, 11:44 AM
Primer?
 
Tha s-10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: FAIRFAX
Age: 28
Posts: 512

User is: Tha s-10 is offline
Re: Symptoms for a bad Throttle Position Sensor

4.3l are very shaky with out a balance shaft. But sounds like iac more than tps any engine lights

Mods350 vortec,edelbrock performer rpm carb mani
600 edelbrock carb,Holley electric pump
fuel pressure regulator,.488 lift cam duration 292
headers 2 1/2 exhuast true duals,flowmaster mufflers,hei distributer stock,vacuum advance curve kit,Trans/ Rear end,700r4 stock stall,Vette servo
street shift kit,Z-28 camaro rear end 3:73 posi
Tha s-10 is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 01-29-2006, 07:03 PM
Blown ex ***
 
Jess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: sw sub shitcago
Posts: 5,354

User is: Jess is offline
Re: Symptoms for a bad Throttle Position Sensor

the trans will shift funny, if the tps is bad.

97, VORTECH V2 SQ / PowerStroke FMIC @14 psi, A4, 3.08
a broken down 13.88 @ 96.65
now with, 2114, 270ahr, ported heads, 1 5/8 L/T's & true duals, TunerCat, LC1 & XD-16, 3:73 Z/T
My Truck...
video = http://video.google.com/videoplay?do...55517765935057
95 x-cab, silver, tint, 4.3cpi, a4, 3/4

EDELBROCK TES & 3 1/2" exhaust for sale. PM me
Jess is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 01-29-2006, 07:13 PM
.:|Hustlin4life|:.
 
dirttysouth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NE, Arkansas
Posts: 5,662

User is: dirttysouth is offline
Re: Symptoms for a bad Throttle Position Sensor

I had the TPS go out on an F150 I had, and it was alot like having a mess uped transmission, when I tried to go up even a small hill it would not pull itself up the hill and it would shit really jerky and hard at times
dirttysouth is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 01-29-2006, 08:25 PM
A4, A5, A6, A8 ASE Cert
 
madscientist101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brick, NJ
Age: 30
Posts: 374

User is: madscientist101 is offline
Send a message via AIM to madscientist101
Re: Symptoms for a bad Throttle Position Sensor

sounds like a vacuum leak or a sticky EGR VALVE, check your lines and take off the EGR valve and clean out the passageways in the EGR intake and the valve itself. the comp its trying to run rich when its running lean
madscientist101 is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 01-30-2006, 01:54 PM Thread Starter
hatetheblazer
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Age: 39
Posts: 537

User is: lovetheblazer is offline
Re: Symptoms for a bad Throttle Position Sensor

When I was just about to buy every freakin' sensor built for the '99 4.3l 262ci, and approx. $1500 after...
I re-checked the motor mounts and I guess I mounted one incorrectly 'cause when I tookthe nuts out of the lh motor mount and pushed the engine up with the jack it fell apart in half...without doing this you could say that the mounts were ok...BUT the engine is now smooth...
It still shakes but nothing like it was before... I know 4.3's are shakers but now it is smoother than ever...Now I am back in love with my truck again...was really considering selling it...

'99 Blazer V6 4.3L Vortec 262ci, custom y-pipe, no cat, Flowtech Raptor Muffler, K&N FIPK 2, MSD Blaster Coil...

$$$SOLD AND GONE FOR GOOD!
lovetheblazer is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 01-30-2006, 10:31 PM
A4, A5, A6, A8 ASE Cert
 
madscientist101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brick, NJ
Age: 30
Posts: 374

User is: madscientist101 is offline
Send a message via AIM to madscientist101
Re: Symptoms for a bad Throttle Position Sensor

If you want to check for a Bad TPS, jump the tps with three wires then hook up a voltmeter in parrallel with the graound and signal wire and start the engine, rev the engine from idle and WOT and check for a spot where the volts dont change. if the volts wont change from 0 to 5 volts then its bad and need a replacement TPS it works like everyother sender, map, IAC, EGR and IAT or Mat sensor.
madscientist101 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome