Random Misfire. Help No Codes Dealer is Stumped. 1996 AWD 4.3 Blazer - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

Random Misfire. Help No Codes Dealer is Stumped. 1996 AWD 4.3 Blazer

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Engine and Drivetrain Tech > 262ci Forum (4.3)
New User? Register Forgot Password

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-10-2012, 10:51 PM   #1
96 AWD Chevy Blazer 4.3

User is: OffLine
Random Misfire. Help No Codes Dealer is Stumped. 1996 AWD 4.3 Blazer

Truck Specs. 1996 Chevy Blazer, 4.3 V6 AWD 4spd Auto. 150,000 miles on it. Maintained well, used to be great on gas. Mid to high 20's on the highway with the cruise at 70mph.

OK so I am a newb here, but not a newb to working on cars. My personal daily driver ride is an 87 Pontiac Fiero with a Nitrous Fed 4.9 Aluminum Block Fuel Injected V8 5spd that I built myself. So working on cars I am fairly good at it.

We bought a 96 AWD Blazer. Kinda neat unusual to find an AWD version but we got a good deal on it. The miss started out minor and would only act up at part throttle. If you got up to 1/2 throttle it would be fine. Then slowly it got worse to the point that at any throttle it misses. This is not a soft miss, its almost like someone is flicking the ignition off and on. This was over the course of 20,000 miles.

So far my list of parts.

New Plugs E3 Diamond Fire

New Wires, cant remember brand but they were one step below the Accell 8.5mm wires.

New Ignition Coil

New Accell Cap and Rotor. Farking plastic dist shaft, stripped out so I used a larger screw on one side.

Replaced MAP, MAF, Blocked off EGR, unblocked it when it had no effect on the miss.

Known Good Used Ignition Module.