oil pressure switch - S-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 09-24-2008, 10:47 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
ddg1025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Erie, PA
Age: 28
Posts: 109

User is: ddg1025 is offline
oil pressure switch

sorry i know this has been on here before but from the search I could not find the location for my mine. i have an 88 S10 4.3TBI and im am just wondering where the oil pressure switch/sensor is on it?

ddg1025 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 09-24-2008, 10:50 PM
Works too much!
 
laydout97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Roll Tide!!!
Posts: 4,679

User is: laydout97 is offline
Re: oil pressure switch

It's right beside the dizzy on the drivers side. It has three wires going into it. I think the colors are orange, grey, and balck.s

92 4.3/700r4 315k- ole red
2011 altima- daily ride
laydout97 is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 09-24-2008, 11:01 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
ddg1025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Erie, PA
Age: 28
Posts: 109

User is: ddg1025 is offline
Re: oil pressure switch

i thought that was it, its like right behind the egr valve
ddg1025 is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 09-24-2008, 11:14 PM
Works too much!
 
laydout97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Roll Tide!!!
Posts: 4,679

User is: laydout97 is offline
Re: oil pressure switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by ddg1025 View Post
i thought that was it, its like right behind the egr valve
yup

92 4.3/700r4 315k- ole red
2011 altima- daily ride
laydout97 is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 09-25-2008, 09:03 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
ddg1025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Erie, PA
Age: 28
Posts: 109

User is: ddg1025 is offline
Re: oil pressure switch

well i put the new switch in, it was hard to find a socket to take it out I went everywhere looking for one and never found the right one. I ended up breaking the old switch so I could get to the nut. The reason I replaced it was because it was causing the "check gauges" light to turn on and off repeatedly when idling. It was also causing the relay under the hood to do the same thing. it has always read around 0 on the gauge when idling and goes up a little above 40 when rpms increase. with the new pressure switch it reads the same thing. just wondering what your guys gauges normally read when idling? I believe it is normal for it to be that low when idling just want to see if your trucks the same.
ddg1025 is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 09-25-2008, 09:13 PM
Works too much!
 
laydout97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Roll Tide!!!
Posts: 4,679

User is: laydout97 is offline
Re: oil pressure switch

Mine idles around 35 to 40 and 55 to 60 driving.

92 4.3/700r4 315k- ole red
2011 altima- daily ride
laydout97 is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 09-25-2008, 09:28 PM
Boards don't hit back
 
00s104.3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nevada
Posts: 976

User is: 00s104.3 is offline
Re: oil pressure switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by ddg1025 View Post
well i put the new switch in, it was hard to find a socket to take it out I went everywhere looking for one and never found the right one. I ended up breaking the old switch so I could get to the nut. The reason I replaced it was because it was causing the "check gauges" light to turn on and off repeatedly when idling. It was also causing the relay under the hood to do the same thing. it has always read around 0 on the gauge when idling and goes up a little above 40 when rpms increase. with the new pressure switch it reads the same thing. just wondering what your guys gauges normally read when idling? I believe it is normal for it to be that low when idling just want to see if your trucks the same.
I had the same trouble with my '89 blazer. The gauge would drop to zero and the "check gauges" light would come on while idling. I replaced the switch and the oil pressure is still low but not all the way to zero. I just keep an eye on it now. It sits around 17-18 psi at idle and then goes up to around 40-45 psi while cruising.

By the time you realize this doesn't say anything it's too late for you to stop reading it.
00s104.3 is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 09-25-2008, 09:36 PM
Registered User
 
NTL1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 208

User is: NTL1991 is offline
Re: oil pressure switch

Mine idles at 40 and can get up to 80 at times (especially during the cold morning take offs) but usually doesn't go above 60 when driving around with a warm engine. I use only Mobile 1 5W30.

Nick

1997 Oldsmobile Bravada SmarTrac
4.3L V6 W-VIN w/ 145,000. Automatic Transmission.
Factory 3.73 PosiTrac; Z85 Suspension

Last edited by NTL1991; 09-25-2008 at 09:38 PM.
NTL1991 is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 09-25-2008, 10:17 PM
94 s10 in progress
 
FxsX24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Verona NY
Age: 28
Posts: 2,492

User is: FxsX24 is offline
Re: oil pressure switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by ddg1025 View Post
, it was hard to find a socket to take it out I went everywhere looking for one and never found the right one. I ended up breaking the old switch so I could get to the nut.
http://buy1.snapon.com/catalog/item....re&dir=catalog

1999 SAAB 9-3 SE
1994 S-10 PROJECT TRUCK 283 TBI V8
2007 YAMAHA NYTRO
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2002redSdime View Post
only the most hardcore minitruckers are from canada, cuz even their milk is bagged!!
FxsX24 is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 09-25-2008, 11:02 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
ddg1025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Erie, PA
Age: 28
Posts: 109

User is: ddg1025 is offline
Re: oil pressure switch

i bought pretty much the same socket at autozone and it only worked for the new sensor that i got there. the old switch that was in my truck was a bigger size 30mm a little bigger than an 1 1/8". and the oil pressure switch socket was for 1 1/16" and 1".

about the trucks oil pressure it has always been around zero on the gauge when idling and it runs fine. im thinkin that maybe the gauge on the instrument panel might be broken since it does the same thing with the new oil pressure switch.

i use to have an 88 2.8 blazer and the oil pressure gauge on it would also read around zero when idling and it always ran fine
ddg1025 is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 09-27-2008, 10:38 AM
Registered (Ab) User
 
Yogi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Dickinson, TX (Houston)
Posts: 4,137

User is: Yogi is offline
Re: oil pressure switch

And I thought that mine was low!

Mine runs about 18 psi at idle and 45 psi at 2000 rpm.

Try some 20W50 motor oil before you change anything else.

2008 Saturn Sky Red Line Roadster
2.0L LNF Turbocharged Motor
5 Speed Manual Trans.

Custom made Blazer CAI (Click Here)
Yogi is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 10-08-2008, 05:49 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2

User is: a ragin sparky is offline
Re: oil pressure switch

hey yeah im havin about the same problems... my father and i just about 2 months ago put a brand new 4.3 crate into my 1989 s-10. for the first month my oil pressure never went below like 45 and was around 80 when crusing. but now when i first start it up in the morn it hops to 40 or so and falls to around 25 as it warms up.. then at every red light it falls to zero and that annoying light comes on. this seems to be exactly what yall are talking about but i need some experienced advice... i put every dime into this thing and if it goes down im done for.... please hit me back asap guys i appreciate it
a ragin sparky is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 10-08-2008, 06:11 PM
Registered (Ab) User
 
Yogi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Dickinson, TX (Houston)
Posts: 4,137

User is: Yogi is offline
Re: oil pressure switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by a ragin sparky View Post
hey yeah im havin about the same problems... my father and i just about 2 months ago put a brand new 4.3 crate into my 1989 s-10. for the first month my oil pressure never went below like 45 and was around 80 when crusing. but now when i first start it up in the morn it hops to 40 or so and falls to around 25 as it warms up.. then at every red light it falls to zero and that annoying light comes on. this seems to be exactly what yall are talking about but i need some experienced advice... i put every dime into this thing and if it goes down im done for.... please hit me back asap guys i appreciate it
If I had your problem I'd be talking to the guy that sold me the motor about getting another one. You might try a new sending unit but it will prolly read the same. If you don't get any satisfaction from the seller, try some 20W50, but do SOMETHING right away!

And welcome to the Forum!

2008 Saturn Sky Red Line Roadster
2.0L LNF Turbocharged Motor
5 Speed Manual Trans.

Custom made Blazer CAI (Click Here)
Yogi is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 10-09-2008, 08:41 PM
Wire Splicin Fool :-)
 
lesterl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Harrisonville, MO
Age: 36
Posts: 8,692

User is: lesterl is offline
Re: oil pressure switch

Does she knock when the oil pressure drops? I had water contaminating my oil and it do knock just before the light comes on and it dies.

Sensor Resistance Chart -> http://www.s10forum.com/forum/attachments/f107/98606d1222052466-little-help-needed-gm-sensor-chart.gif
1997 Venture 3.4l Auto / 2006 Malibu Maxx 3.5l Auto / 1995 Tahoe 5.7l TBI Auto / 1998 GMC Sierra Z71
Will have another S10 one day.... Anyone have a freebie? :-)
lesterl is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 10-10-2008, 02:11 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
ddg1025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Erie, PA
Age: 28
Posts: 109

User is: ddg1025 is offline
Re: oil pressure switch

i think i failed to mention it but when i replaced the oil pressure switch it fixed the problem with the light coming on. yet when it is warmed up and idling it still reads 0 but it runs smooth and with no ticking. when i accelerate though it goes up to a around 40 and when its cold it goes higher like 60-65 even when idling.
ddg1025 is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 10-18-2008, 04:30 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2

User is: a ragin sparky is offline
Re: oil pressure switch

hey guys thanks for the advice i changed my sending unit and it fixed the pressure problems. at idle its around 40-45 and driving its up around 60-65
a ragin sparky is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 10-18-2008, 04:52 PM
Registered (Ab) User
 
Yogi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Dickinson, TX (Houston)
Posts: 4,137

User is: Yogi is offline
Re: oil pressure switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by a ragin sparky View Post
hey guys thanks for the advice i changed my sending unit and it fixed the pressure problems. at idle its around 40-45 and driving its up around 60-65
Congrats!

2008 Saturn Sky Red Line Roadster
2.0L LNF Turbocharged Motor
5 Speed Manual Trans.

Custom made Blazer CAI (Click Here)
Yogi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome