S-10 Forum banner

No start after adjusting crankshaft plz hellpp

2K views 27 replies 6 participants last post by  odat 
#1 ·
Well I fcked up something I'm sure. I went to do a simply distributor install 2cd time they keep failing and causing misfires. The rotor was about an inch in front of the 6 arrow when installed so I thought the timing was off.

I had a rough day lot of mistakes Im pretty new at the dyi stuff. started turning my crankshaft pulley and at about half a rotation noticed I left it in gear. I then turned it back a bit counterclockwise and took it out of gear.

After all that I turned the pulley around clockwise enough to bring my rotor a full turn back to the 6 I thought it was aligned put it back together put spark plug 1 back in and now it won't start. I can't align the harmonic balancer to the engine because it's missing the part on the block you align it with for some reason. Did I mess something up turning it backwards or while it was in gear. the first time I tried to turn it over I herd a loud metal click like the gears siezing with the cam Mabey. Any suggestions would b great

#2 ·
Take the #1 spark plug out (or all to make it easy), turn the engine by hand with a finger over the #1 plug hole. When you feel pressure put a thin wire like a coat hangar in the plug hole until you feel the piston coming up. Turn it until you feel the piston just start to go back down. Then turn it the other way to get the piston back up. Go back and forth until you know the piston is as close to tdc as possible. The put the distributor in with the rotor pointing at number 1. You may need a long screw driver to turn the oil pump drive a little at a time until the distributor drops all the way down. You'll have to turn the rotor off #1 when you drop it down, it will rotate as it goes down.

So it should end up all the way down, lined up with #1 and the piston at tdc #1 on the compression stroke.

#3 ·