How to set timing on 1994 cpi S10 T15 Blazer Jimmy??? - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

How to set timing on 1994 cpi S10 T15 Blazer Jimmy???

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Engine and Drivetrain Tech > 262ci Forum (4.3)
New User? Register Forgot Password


 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-18-2010, 02:32 PM   #1
Aquatic Goat Farmer
 
uhlhazard's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 541
Location: Montgomery, Texas
User is: OffLine
Exclamation How to set timing on 1994 cpi S10 T15 Blazer Jimmy???

I have a plastic timing cover. This is crazy. You can only see the single timing mark with the fan shroud removed and the air intake removed. I also don't know how anyone would have set timing without the fan removed.

Thanks to electric fans, I don't have a fan or shroud in the way.

When I white outed the 2 marks on the harmonic balancer, I couldn't see them with the timing light. I then white outed the crank pulley where the timing marks correspond so I could get a remote idea where the timing marks when cyl1 fired off.

I am getting cyl1 ignition with the timing marks about -45ish degrees off and even more so with the other timing mark.

I tried to spin the harmonic balancer with 2 hands and I didn't feel any slack or play.

The truck runs fine, just a 1-2mpg lower than my friends identical trucks, slower in a race consistently, and gets hot when under a load which I attribute to timing being off. It's been this way for years and I could never figure out exactly why.

Did someone replace my timing cover with the new plastic ones, or did the 94 just come with it? My friends 93 and 92 has the normal timing cover that we have set timing on countless times. I am waiting to see my other friends 94 to see if he has the plastic cover.

I searched like crazy and couldn't get anywhere so here I am.
Old 08-18-2010, 03:30 PM   #2
Dopin' The Scope
 
944v8indfw's Avatar

 
Age: 53
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 987
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to set timing on 1994 cpi S10 T15 Blazer Jimmy???

As it is a cross over year i THINK it still had the connector you need to disconnect under the carpet to set the timing. Typicallt a brown connector under the right side carpet close to the firewall.
Old 08-18-2010, 03:33 PM   #3
UN-BANNED B!TCHES!!!!!
 
NotaDime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6,950
Location: Verizon's iPhone4
User is: OffLine
Re: How to set timing on 1994 cpi S10 T15 Blazer Jimmy???

yes it does., all those 4.3 obd1's do...
Old 08-18-2010, 04:49 PM   #4
Aquatic Goat Farmer
 
uhlhazard's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 541
Location: Montgomery, Texas
User is: OffLine
Re: How to set timing on 1994 cpi S10 T15 Blazer Jimmy???

Yeah I did that.
Old 08-18-2010, 09:53 PM   #5
goin broke but n style
 
S15vortecpwr's Avatar
 
Age: 34
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12,785
Location: Wetumpka, Alabama
User is: OffLine
Re: How to set timing on 1994 cpi S10 T15 Blazer Jimmy???

my 94 cpi have a metal timing cover.

someone might have put a newer engine in your trk with plastic cover.
Old 08-18-2010, 09:55 PM   #6
UN-BANNED B!TCHES!!!!!
 
NotaDime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6,950
Location: Verizon's iPhone4
User is: OffLine
Re: How to set timing on 1994 cpi S10 T15 Blazer Jimmy???

both my 92 and 93 cpi motors had plastic covers...
Old 08-18-2010, 10:44 PM   #7
Aquatic Goat Farmer
 
uhlhazard's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 541
Location: Montgomery, Texas
User is: OffLine
Re: How to set timing on 1994 cpi S10 T15 Blazer Jimmy???

Have you ever had to set timing on them notadime? If so, how did you do it?
Old 08-19-2010, 09:27 AM   #8
goin broke but n style
 
S15vortecpwr's Avatar
 
Age: 34
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12,785
Location: Wetumpka, Alabama
User is: OffLine
Re: How to set timing on 1994 cpi S10 T15 Blazer Jimmy???

Mine may be plastic, but it looks metal when i changed the water pump, but it has been a few years.

I know its looks different than my 99 blazer i just bought.
Old 08-20-2010, 12:54 AM   #9
Aquatic Goat Farmer
 
uhlhazard's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 541
Location: Montgomery, Texas
User is: OffLine
Re: How to set timing on 1994 cpi S10 T15 Blazer Jimmy???

I have spent about 2 hours searching and come up with blanks. I am wondering if 93 was a split year where gm started installing plastic timing covers. Does everyone have a place to bolt in the crank position sensor? I don't see that on any blocks that aren't plastic timing covered.
Old 08-20-2010, 11:07 AM   #10
Registered User
 
Age: 31
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 235
Location: Norwich
User is: OffLine
Re: How to set timing on 1994 cpi S10 T15 Blazer Jimmy???

My 94 CPI, early 94 built in late 93 has a steel cover. I've owned for its entire life (400k miles), i know it's original. I just recently put a cam, chain, etc. in it and reused the stock steel cover. I've also never unplugged a wire under the seats to set timing.
Old 08-30-2010, 11:30 PM   #11
Aquatic Goat Farmer
 
uhlhazard's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 541
Location: Montgomery, Texas
User is: OffLine
Re: How to set timing on 1994 cpi S10 T15 Blazer Jimmy???

Well, My sadness prevails. I guess no timing for me anytime soon. Noone seems to have an answer for me. I'm going to check fullsizechevy.com and see what they say. If I do get results I will post here.
Old 09-01-2010, 10:04 PM   #12
Aquatic Goat Farmer
 
uhlhazard's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 541
Location: Montgomery, Texas
User is: OffLine
Re: How to set timing on 1994 cpi S10 T15 Blazer Jimmy???

http://www.fullsizechevy.com/showthr...iving-problems.

My fsc post. Heres hoping : (
Old 10-07-2010, 01:43 AM   #13
Aquatic Goat Farmer
 
uhlhazard's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 541
Location: Montgomery, Texas
User is: OffLine
Re: How to set timing on 1994 cpi S10 T15 Blazer Jimmy???

So I'm thinking I can use my scanner to set timing? I think it might show me current timing and I just move the dist until it reads 0? Would that be awesome?
Old 11-18-2010, 11:56 PM   #14
Open mouth, Insert foot!
 
Trip..'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 312
Location: Toiletsville, Mi
User is: OffLine
Re: How to set timing on 1994 cpi S10 T15 Blazer Jimmy???

Updates?
Old 12-09-2010, 02:12 AM   #15
Aquatic Goat Farmer
 
uhlhazard's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 541
Location: Montgomery, Texas
User is: OffLine
Re: How to set timing on 1994 cpi S10 T15 Blazer Jimmy???

Diddley doo. I went to the junkyard and developed some inspiration. Turns out some tbi 4.3's with the tiniest radiators I've ever seen in the gmt400 platform also have composite covers.

After comparing timing mark locations of the tbi and older tbi with metal covers the plastic "mark" or "protrusion" seems to be in line with the 0* mark. I could not imagine how much of a PITA this would be for someone who has a fan/shrouds unlike myself.

I am theorizing that my HB slipped and thats why my marks are basically way off.

I am going to take the plunge possibly friday and buy the timing cover, HB, and try like hell to not drop the oil pan.

O and I'll be sure to rtv my cotter key on the HB because that is a stupid rookie mistake.

Then in a few weeks I'm driving to Michigan. I'll be sure to take some salt back home with me, your cars have plenty of it already.
Old 12-09-2010, 11:39 AM   #16
Registered User
 
Age: 31
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 235
Location: Norwich
User is: OffLine
Re: How to set timing on 1994 cpi S10 T15 Blazer Jimmy???

My 94' has a metal timing cover, and there isn't a plug under the floor for timing. I've had the truck it's entire life and it's the original engine with 400k miles.

If you really can't find an answer let me know, i have all of the 94 GM truck repair manuals from the dealer. It's been years since I've adjusted my timing, although i'll probably do it here in a few weeks.
Old 12-09-2010, 11:48 AM   #17
Electrical Mod
 
deathphoenix99's Avatar

 
Age: 24
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 54,190
Location: Houston, TX
User is: OffLine
Re: How to set timing on 1994 cpi S10 T15 Blazer Jimmy???

what's your email, I can send you the how-to on timing.
Old 12-09-2010, 11:55 AM   #18
Electrical Mod
 
deathphoenix99's Avatar

 
Age: 24
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 54,190
Location: Houston, TX
User is: OffLine
Re: How to set timing on 1994 cpi S10 T15 Blazer Jimmy???

Here it is.

V6 IGNITION TIMING
1. Set parking brake, block drive wheels and place transmission in Neutral or Park. Warm engine
to normal operating temperature. Turn A/C off (if equipped). Ensure Malfunction Indicator
Light (MIL) is off.

NOTE:
The location of the EST by-pass connector has been updated per

General Motors Service Manual Update number 41-65-41, dated
January 4, 1995.

2. Disconnect Tan/Black Electronic Spark Timing (EST) by-pass connector wire. DO NOT
disconnect 4-wire connector at distributor.

3. On models where engine computer is located underhood, on right fenderwell, by-pass connector
which is a single Tan/Black wire, breaks out of wiring harness near engine computer harness
connectors.

4. On models where engine computer is located in passenger compartment under right side of
instrument panel, by-pass connector which is a single Tan/Black wire and breaks out of wiring
harness where heater box and carpet meet on passenger side floor. Pull back carpet to expose
single Tan/Black wire and connector on outside of control module harness.

5. On all models, connect timing light to No. 1 spark plug wire. Check timing and adjust if
necessary. See V6 IGNITION TIMING table. Reconnect EST by-pass connector, and clear
ECM trouble code.

V6 IGNITION TIMING (DEGREES BTDC @ RPM)
Application Man. Trans. Auto. Trans.
4.3L (VIN W & Z) 0 @ Idle 0 @ Idle


Last edited by deathphoenix99; 12-09-2010 at 11:57 AM.
Old 07-09-2012, 12:45 AM   #19
Registered User
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to set timing on 1994 cpi S10 T15 Blazer Jimmy???

Thanks for this. Just put my motor back in the truck this week.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:15 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
SEO by vBSEO
vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.