How to reset a 1998 s10 pickup computer without a scanner - S-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 Old 08-17-2012, 11:35 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Norman, Ok
Age: 34
Posts: 93

User is: bob5731 is offline
Question How to reset a 1998 s10 pickup computer without a scanner

How to reset a 1998 s10 pickup computer without a scanner?
I think it might be the bypass module for my alarm system.
Once before the factory security locked up.
I cannot afford a code scanner I borrowed one from a local auto store and could not find any codes but I have a check engine light.

bob5731 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 Old 08-17-2012, 11:41 AM
Warheads on Foreheads
 
Z06killinsbf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Nor Tejas
Age: 30
Posts: 1,655

User is: Z06killinsbf is offline
Re: How to reset a 1998 s10 pickup computer without a scanner

Unhook battery

Z06killinsbf is offline  
post #3 of 25 Old 08-17-2012, 11:44 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Norman, Ok
Age: 34
Posts: 93

User is: bob5731 is offline
Re: How to reset a 1998 s10 pickup computer without a scanner

For how long?
The other night I Unhook battery for all night.
bob5731 is offline  
post #4 of 25 Old 08-17-2012, 01:22 PM
Have A Nice Day
 
944v8indfw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Age: 55
Posts: 1,015

User is: 944v8indfw is offline
Re: How to reset a 1998 s10 pickup computer without a scanner

unhook neg cable from battery touch it to positive cable hook up negitive done

944v8indfw is offline  
post #5 of 25 Old 08-17-2012, 02:25 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Norman, Ok
Age: 34
Posts: 93

User is: bob5731 is offline
Angry Re: How to reset a 1998 s10 pickup computer without a scanner

Quote:
Originally Posted by 944v8indfw View Post
unhook neg cable from battery touch it to positive cable hook up negitive done
Did not help at all
bob5731 is offline  
post #6 of 25 Old 08-17-2012, 03:49 PM
"factory freak"...
 
Crew Cab Sonoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Age: 50
Posts: 8,494

User is: Crew Cab Sonoma is offline
Re: How to reset a 1998 s10 pickup computer without a scanner

try this:
turn key on (engine off), pull the ECM A and ECM B
fuses from the underhood fuse/relay box.
turn key off, replace fuses. start truck.

on some models, the fuses may be labeled : ECM and ECM1.

01 Sonoma Crew Cab 4WD 4.3 auto (SOLD)
00 Sonoma Ext. Cab 4WD. 4.3 auto 3.42 Torsen diff. front axle removed. leafspring clamps (anti-hop)"W4M" tune. '06 "989" quiet cam, efans, TB UNmod, 3100 valve springs. 2.13 60ft. 9.52 @ 72.7 mph (1/8 mi.)
95 S-10 2.2. Soon to be DD
Crew Cab Sonoma is offline  
post #7 of 25 Old 08-17-2012, 03:51 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 353

User is: KSZR2 is offline
Re: How to reset a 1998 s10 pickup computer without a scanner

Take the truck to Autozone and use their scanner for free to erase codes. I can't reset DTC's on my 2003 either by unhooking the battery.

2003 ZR2 - TB mod, LS1 E-Fan,
2002 Trans Am WS6 - GMMG catback, SLP lid
KSZR2 is offline  
post #8 of 25 Old 08-17-2012, 03:52 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 353

User is: KSZR2 is offline
Re: How to reset a 1998 s10 pickup computer without a scanner

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crew Cab Sonoma View Post
try this:
turn key on (engine off), pull the ECM A and ECM B
fuses from the underhood fuse/relay box.
turn key off, replace fuses. start truck.

on some models, the fuses may be labeled : ECM and ECM1.
Interesting... I didn't notice there were 2 fuses for the computer.

2003 ZR2 - TB mod, LS1 E-Fan,
2002 Trans Am WS6 - GMMG catback, SLP lid
KSZR2 is offline  
post #9 of 25 Old 08-17-2012, 04:45 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Norman, Ok
Age: 34
Posts: 93

User is: bob5731 is offline
Re: How to reset a 1998 s10 pickup computer without a scanner

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crew Cab Sonoma View Post
try this:
turn key on (engine off), pull the ECM A and ECM B
fuses from the underhood fuse/relay box.
turn key off, replace fuses. start truck.

on some models, the fuses may be labeled : ECM and ECM1.
I did that but no luck
I borrowed the scanner from AutoZone and no code was red!!!

The truck will not start at all. But it try to crank over but will not start.
The fuel pump makes a whining noise.
bob5731 is offline  
post #10 of 25 Old 08-17-2012, 05:05 PM
Have A Nice Day
 
944v8indfw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Age: 55
Posts: 1,015

User is: 944v8indfw is offline
Re: How to reset a 1998 s10 pickup computer without a scanner

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob5731 View Post
Did not help at all
wat was this susposed to help? all it will do is clear the DTC's

944v8indfw is offline  
post #11 of 25 Old 08-17-2012, 05:34 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Norman, Ok
Age: 34
Posts: 93

User is: bob5731 is offline
Re: How to reset a 1998 s10 pickup computer without a scanner

what?
bob5731 is offline  
post #12 of 25 Old 08-17-2012, 05:46 PM
"factory freak"...
 
Crew Cab Sonoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Age: 50
Posts: 8,494

User is: Crew Cab Sonoma is offline
Re: How to reset a 1998 s10 pickup computer without a scanner

try leaving the key on in the ign.
for 30 mins. turn off all accessories
to minimize battery drain.

01 Sonoma Crew Cab 4WD 4.3 auto (SOLD)
00 Sonoma Ext. Cab 4WD. 4.3 auto 3.42 Torsen diff. front axle removed. leafspring clamps (anti-hop)"W4M" tune. '06 "989" quiet cam, efans, TB UNmod, 3100 valve springs. 2.13 60ft. 9.52 @ 72.7 mph (1/8 mi.)
95 S-10 2.2. Soon to be DD
Crew Cab Sonoma is offline  
post #13 of 25 Old 08-17-2012, 06:09 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NEPA
Age: 62
Posts: 7,338

User is: poconojoe is offline
Re: How to reset a 1998 s10 pickup computer without a scanner

Check the fuel pressure
Where are you located? I love people that don't at least list their state or put down some wise ass answer like at your momma's house. Sometimes somebody local could help you, if they knew where you were
poconojoe is offline  
post #14 of 25 Old 08-17-2012, 06:14 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Norman, Ok
Age: 34
Posts: 93

User is: bob5731 is offline
Re: How to reset a 1998 s10 pickup computer without a scanner

The check engine light went off briefly and then came back on.
bob5731 is offline  
post #15 of 25 Old 08-17-2012, 06:49 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Norman, Ok
Age: 34
Posts: 93

User is: bob5731 is offline
Re: How to reset a 1998 s10 pickup computer without a scanner

Located in Norman Oklahoma.
What I really need somebody to scan it with the code reader for free.
bob5731 is offline  
post #16 of 25 Old 08-17-2012, 06:58 PM
Registered User
 
Johnniespeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sparta Michigan
Posts: 398

User is: Johnniespeed is offline
Re: How to reset a 1998 s10 pickup computer without a scanner

Perhaps you need someone to diagnose why it wont start. Erasing codes doesnt fix anything.

The thrill of speed overcomes the fear of death.
Johnniespeed is offline  
post #17 of 25 Old 08-17-2012, 10:09 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Norman, Ok
Age: 34
Posts: 93

User is: bob5731 is offline
Re: How to reset a 1998 s10 pickup computer without a scanner

How I read without a scanner?
bob5731 is offline  
post #18 of 25 Old 08-17-2012, 10:25 PM
Warheads on Foreheads
 
Z06killinsbf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Nor Tejas
Age: 30
Posts: 1,655

User is: Z06killinsbf is offline
Re: How to reset a 1998 s10 pickup computer without a scanner

It won't show codes unless its running. Sounds like the PATS is preventing it from running. The CEL won't go out if key on/eng off.

Z06killinsbf is offline  
post #19 of 25 Old 08-17-2012, 10:49 PM
SSRT-S10
 
my_nightmare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,131

User is: my_nightmare is offline
Re: How to reset a 1998 s10 pickup computer without a scanner

^^..LoLz !!!...

I hate to say it.., but from your desription.., the scanner aint gonna fix your issue.... from what you posted.

Quote:
The truck will not start at all. But it try to crank over but will not start. The fuel pump makes a whining noise.


It sounds more like you got a fuel pump issue and NOT sensor issues (which is what a diagnostic scanner is USED for)

In case you didn't know... DTC= Diagnostic Trouble Code
AKA the check engine light on dash or service engine light.(it differs with different model vehicles on the light name.)

DO you know anything mechanical or how to fix or diagnose engine issues ? IF not.., carry it to a qualified mechanic shop and ask them to diagnose the cranking issue.

IF by chance you do know some DIY mechanical stuff.., go back to parts house and get a fuel pressure tester...then test the fuel pressure when it is switched on.., and see if pressure drops whilst waiting with the vehicle STILL SWITCHED ON... If drops like cray and only takes about 1-3 seconds to fall back to 10-30psi..., then either the diagphram is bad or the pump is bad.

IF pressure is holding steady and good then.., then have someone spin over the truck whilst you watch the gauge.... if pressure drops like mad..., then pump is most likely the problem.

Also another test.., spray some carb cleaner into the air cleaner ductwork... IF truck cranks right up and then dies back down after the cleaner burns off..., most likely it the fuel pump....

IF all of the above is good..., then check the spark from the coil..., see if it arcs. If not.., coil or module is bad. IF good.., then pull a plug wire.., test to see if it arcs too... IF Not.., then the dizzy or rotor or cap is at fault. Check to see if the dizzy is loose- If yes.., replace dizzy...(drive gear will be worn...)

If all is good and still wont crank..., carry it to a pro and have them do the diagnostics on it to pinpoint the problem.
my_nightmare is offline  
post #20 of 25 Old 08-17-2012, 10:57 PM
SSRT-S10
 
my_nightmare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,131

User is: my_nightmare is offline
Re: How to reset a 1998 s10 pickup computer without a scanner

WHen you switch the truck on..., look at the instrument cluster. Does the security light come on and blink and then go out after a few seconds ? IF yes.., the security has NOT been activated. IF no on going out..., all it does is blink or stay lighted up.., then the security system (PATS/VATS) has been activated...

Also if the PATS has been activated somehow.., the vehicle will emit the same kind of issues (minus the fuel pump noise...)

the truck will spin over and over and it will have no fire and no fuel pump running. A Full blown Diagnostic scanner can possible dig out the VATS or PATS codes and clear them or you will have to do the VATS relearn procedure to make it bypass the security problem.

But you never mentioned any security problem..., so I assume from what you stated in your first few posts that it sounds like the fuel or firing issue...
my_nightmare is offline  
post #21 of 25 Old 08-18-2012, 03:36 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Norman, Ok
Age: 34
Posts: 93

User is: bob5731 is offline
Re: How to reset a 1998 s10 pickup computer without a scanner

The security light comes on and blink and then go out after a few seconds.
When you started with the remote it tries to crank over and then stops for seconds then repeats the process until I stop it with remote or the break.
bob5731 is offline  
post #22 of 25 Old 08-20-2012, 09:08 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Age: 31
Posts: 247

User is: 87shown'go is offline
Re: How to reset a 1998 s10 pickup computer without a scanner

pats=ford
vats=gm
but i believe these trucks are "passlock II"

01 zr2, knobbies
87shown'go is offline  
post #23 of 25 Old 12-29-2012, 12:45 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rickman, Tennessee
Age: 26
Posts: 30

User is: jrob529 is offline
Re: How to reset a 1998 s10 pickup computer without a scanner

Quote:
Originally Posted by 87shown'go View Post
pats=ford
vats=gm
but i believe these trucks are "passlock II"
i call it "annoying" lol i hate that security crap
jrob529 is offline  
post #24 of 25 Old 12-29-2012, 03:04 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Age: 30
Posts: 6

User is: Mendozamm is offline
Re: How to reset a 1998 s10 pickup computer without a scanner

Im having a security issue on my 98 s10. Installed a bypass passlock module and still no luck
Mendozamm is offline  
post #25 of 25 Old 12-29-2012, 03:24 PM
It really is a POS!
 
poS_10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Greenfield,In
Age: 35
Posts: 704

User is: poS_10 is offline
Re: How to reset a 1998 s10 pickup computer without a scanner

Unhook your negative battery cable, turn on your headlamps to draw off any current/reserve stored in the PCM, hook it back up in about 15 minutes.

00 Blazer LT - Black 4x4 4DR, Dynomax Ultraflo welded Click here to hear it

04 S-10 Crew Cab SOLD

04 Trail Blazer LT EXT 5.3L 4x4 - seating for 7, 300hp, removed onstar 100%, but otherwise stock.
poS_10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome