How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button? - S-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 05-25-2010, 07:34 PM Thread Starter
Stroker Ace
 
frtaylor9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Age: 29
Posts: 589

User is: frtaylor9 is offline
Send a message via AIM to frtaylor9
How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

My truck has trouble starting sometimes could this be fault, 58,000 miles stock cap & button?



2002 Chevy S10 4.3 Vortec (W) 5 Speed 2WD
Spectre CAI, Ported JANTZER TB & Mod w/Trans-Dapt Spacer, Hypertech PPIII & Stat, Flowmaster Super 44, Magnaflow Spun Cat, MSD w/Taylor wires, Billet UD Pulleys, Perma Cool E-Fan
1/4 Mile: 15.2 @ 88mph on a 2.38 60ft
frtaylor9 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 05-25-2010, 08:17 PM
Age: 15 1/2
 
Bill Wheats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,679

User is: Bill Wheats is offline
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

Replace it and see.

Some people are like slinkies - not really good for much.
But they bring a smile to your face when pushed down the stairs.
Bill Wheats is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 05-25-2010, 11:36 PM
"factory freak"...
 
Crew Cab Sonoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 8,501

User is: Crew Cab Sonoma is offline
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

unless there is an abnormal failure of some kind,
the cap and rotor should be good to 100K.
i have 73K on my originals, still doing fine.

01 Sonoma Crew Cab 4WD 4.3 auto (SOLD)
00 Sonoma Ext. Cab 4WD. 4.3 auto 3.42 Torsen diff. front axle removed. leafspring clamps (anti-hop)"W4M" tune. '06 "989" quiet cam, efans, TB UNmod, 3100 valve springs. 2.13 60ft. 9.52 @ 72.7 mph (1/8 mi.)
95 S-10 2.2. Soon to be DD
Crew Cab Sonoma is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 05-26-2010, 12:35 PM
Registered User
 
cstiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: middle tn
Age: 26
Posts: 251

User is: cstiles is offline
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

take the cap off and check em

cstiles is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 05-26-2010, 01:08 PM
Landscaper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Age: 33
Posts: 231

User is: agoetz2005 is offline
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

I did 107K on the originals, but the button was gone. takes literally 10 minutes to do if you work slow.
agoetz2005 is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 05-26-2010, 01:42 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Age: 46
Posts: 120

User is: carlman is offline
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

Could be the plugs... Could be that they are fouled from running rich.. could be clogged fuel filter... could be lots of things. Cap and rotor are likely not the problem at 58,k in my opinion.. I agree that it should last close to 100,k.

2000 S-10 LS 2WD 4.3 vin W 106,k miles
carlman is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 05-26-2010, 02:47 PM Thread Starter
Stroker Ace
 
frtaylor9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Age: 29
Posts: 589

User is: frtaylor9 is offline
Send a message via AIM to frtaylor9
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carlman View Post
Could be the plugs... Could be that they are fouled from running rich.. could be clogged fuel filter... could be lots of things. Cap and rotor are likely not the problem at 58,k in my opinion.. I agree that it should last close to 100,k.
It already has new e3 plugs, taylor wires, msd coil, fuel filter, pressure on my pump is good, I changed it all hoping it would help, then no change.

(ngk's & autolite wires before)

But I didn't do a cap & button swap

what chance is it the maf? or tps?

when it finally starts it wont idle it just shake's & misses like it's cammed to death, then out of no where it smooths out after about 1 minute of pumping the throttle.

on the road driving it runs like a top, but sometimes at stop lights the idle drops low like its gonna quit then shoots back up to normal again.


2002 Chevy S10 4.3 Vortec (W) 5 Speed 2WD
Spectre CAI, Ported JANTZER TB & Mod w/Trans-Dapt Spacer, Hypertech PPIII & Stat, Flowmaster Super 44, Magnaflow Spun Cat, MSD w/Taylor wires, Billet UD Pulleys, Perma Cool E-Fan
1/4 Mile: 15.2 @ 88mph on a 2.38 60ft
frtaylor9 is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 05-26-2010, 02:52 PM
goin broke but n style
 
S15vortecpwr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wetumpka, Alabama
Age: 36
Posts: 12,942

User is: S15vortecpwr is offline
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

Quote:
Originally Posted by frtaylor9 View Post
It already has new e3 plugs, taylor wires, msd coil, fuel filter, pressure on my pump is good, I changed it all hoping it would help, then no change.

(ngk's & autolite wires before)

But I didn't do a cap & button swap

what chance is it the maf? or tps?

when it finally starts it wont idle it just shake's & misses like it's cammed to death, then out of no where it smooths out after about 1 minute of pumping the throttle.

on the road driving it runs like a top, but sometimes at stop lights the idle drops low like its gonna quit then shoots back up to normal again.

I would say this is your problem. I know of plenty of people that have tried them and their vehicle ran like crap. Put OEM's back in and it ran perfect.

I change my cap/rotor about every 40k. i do have MSD 6A box on it and its hard on the rotors.

94 GMC Noma 4.3 CPI auto - under construction
01 Trans Am Ws6 - Garage Queen

12 RAM 1500 CC Hem, stock for now, 17.9 mpg on avg.

01 GMC Noma 2.2L auto - SOLD
99 blazer 4dr 2wd - SOLD

GOIN BROKE BUT N STYLE
S15vortecpwr is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 05-26-2010, 03:26 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Age: 46
Posts: 120

User is: carlman is offline
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

Quote:
Originally Posted by frtaylor9 View Post
It already has new e3 plugs, taylor wires, msd coil, fuel filter, pressure on my pump is good, I changed it all hoping it would help, then no change.

(ngk's & autolite wires before)

But I didn't do a cap & button swap

what chance is it the maf? or tps?

when it finally starts it wont idle it just shake's & misses like it's cammed to death, then out of no where it smooths out after about 1 minute of pumping the throttle.

on the road driving it runs like a top, but sometimes at stop lights the idle drops low like its gonna quit then shoots back up to normal again.
Well, that would've been helpful to know in the first post...
I don't know much about E3's.. But I do know this truck likes to have everything electronic from AC Delco. And plugs could do as described.. but so could a clog in the fuel system...

So what would cause it to clear up? Plugs heat up and ?

MAF and TPS can be tested with an ohm meter for ranges.. I'm not sure how, I read it here somewhere. Doesn't sound like TPS to me... or MAF for that matter.. those throw codes/CEL's. Do you have a check engine light?

-C

2000 S-10 LS 2WD 4.3 vin W 106,k miles
carlman is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 05-26-2010, 03:32 PM
terrible. take a lap.
 
joyride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Tacoma, Wa
Posts: 4,035

User is: joyride is offline
Send a message via AIM to joyride
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

i would just drop the E3's like stated above...from being on this forum long enough and reading how these GM cars and people that work at autozone prefer ac delco for their GM rides, only using ac delco makes me feel better that it'll run right with those on...

Brian

01 xtreme 4.3L 5spd 2/3 drop w/ SS front bumper|.030 over|270 comp cam|500 lift|dual valve springs|10:1 C/R|p&p heads w/ 3 angle valve job|w4me tune|shorty headers|2.25 y pipe|no cat|Spintech muffler|windage tray|LW flywheel|DF clutch|8mm wires|no ac|efan|walbro 255|MPFI upgrade|Comp Cam timing chain|ARP bolts/studs|totaled***
Now owner of a white 2002 Blazer Xtreme
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CO_A1IrbQNM
85 Monte Carlo SS
KCCO
joyride is offline  
post #11 of 18 Old 05-26-2010, 03:37 PM Thread Starter
Stroker Ace
 
frtaylor9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Age: 29
Posts: 589

User is: frtaylor9 is offline
Send a message via AIM to frtaylor9
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

Quote:
Originally Posted by S15vortecpwr View Post
I would say this is your problem. I know of plenty of people that have tried them and their vehicle ran like crap. Put OEM's back in and it ran perfect.

I change my cap/rotor about every 40k. i do have MSD 6A box on it and its hard on the rotors.
well i tryed some stock AC's from my dads vortec 383 they have 10 miles on them & did the same thing, Actually worse, Because I was weird about the e3s as well...I was pissed, cause changing plugs on a 4.3 is not my new drug or anything.

...could the msd coil done something to my cap & button?...I got them ordered I just dont wanna look until I get them in.......cap is tan btw

& it hasnt threw any codes.


2002 Chevy S10 4.3 Vortec (W) 5 Speed 2WD
Spectre CAI, Ported JANTZER TB & Mod w/Trans-Dapt Spacer, Hypertech PPIII & Stat, Flowmaster Super 44, Magnaflow Spun Cat, MSD w/Taylor wires, Billet UD Pulleys, Perma Cool E-Fan
1/4 Mile: 15.2 @ 88mph on a 2.38 60ft

Last edited by frtaylor9; 05-26-2010 at 03:39 PM.
frtaylor9 is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 05-26-2010, 03:42 PM
Sometimes I'm mean...alot
 
RaginInferno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cajun Country, La.
Age: 52
Posts: 1,348

User is: RaginInferno is offline
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

From what I can tell, E3's are Made in China, which is enough for me to never use them... AC Delco all the way!

I don't get why so many young guys here spend so much money to "upgrade" an already outstanding ignition system, when the majority here don't have enough compression, cam or N2O to warrant it.
Is it that important to have bragging rights when your constantly working on your truck?

Quote:
well i tryed some stock AC's from my dads vortec 383...
Never pull plugs from an entirely different engine to put in your stock 4.3.. unless they were AC-Delco 41-932

Plus, all the MSD stuff is now being "made to MSD specs" in China as well..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bentenn14 View Post
If I had to guess, It's gonna be one of those things that seems like a longshot that's gonna be the problem. I've almost exhausted the short-shots.
Jim
'00 Blazer 4dr 4wd, '00 S10 RCSB,'99 Blazer 2dr 4wd, '97 Southwind 35W, '03 2500HD,'02 Yukon, '00 Harley, '06 GSXR, '00 250EX, '10 RZR

Last edited by RaginInferno; 05-26-2010 at 03:47 PM.
RaginInferno is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 05-26-2010, 03:53 PM Thread Starter
Stroker Ace
 
frtaylor9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Age: 29
Posts: 589

User is: frtaylor9 is offline
Send a message via AIM to frtaylor9
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RaginInferno View Post



Never pull plugs from an entirely different engine to put in your stock 4.3.. unless they were AC-Delco 41-932
sorry bro but that's the exact part number. all vortec heads use the same plug. unless your running the aluminum E-tec's. or your running a different heat range.


2002 Chevy S10 4.3 Vortec (W) 5 Speed 2WD
Spectre CAI, Ported JANTZER TB & Mod w/Trans-Dapt Spacer, Hypertech PPIII & Stat, Flowmaster Super 44, Magnaflow Spun Cat, MSD w/Taylor wires, Billet UD Pulleys, Perma Cool E-Fan
1/4 Mile: 15.2 @ 88mph on a 2.38 60ft

Last edited by frtaylor9; 05-26-2010 at 03:55 PM.
frtaylor9 is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 05-29-2010, 12:35 AM Thread Starter
Stroker Ace
 
frtaylor9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Age: 29
Posts: 589

User is: frtaylor9 is offline
Send a message via AIM to frtaylor9
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

well I just swapped my cap & rotor button earlier today, I'm pretty sure I solved my problem; I drove it all day, its was about 85 degrees out here & I started right up every time with no problems at all, you wouldn't believe how much smoother it made the truck rev & idle (starts way better too), I actually had to turn the idle down because the idle quality picked up so much, Its just hard to see how bad the stock cap & rotor looked after 58,000 miles.


2002 Chevy S10 4.3 Vortec (W) 5 Speed 2WD
Spectre CAI, Ported JANTZER TB & Mod w/Trans-Dapt Spacer, Hypertech PPIII & Stat, Flowmaster Super 44, Magnaflow Spun Cat, MSD w/Taylor wires, Billet UD Pulleys, Perma Cool E-Fan
1/4 Mile: 15.2 @ 88mph on a 2.38 60ft
frtaylor9 is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 05-29-2010, 12:49 AM Thread Starter
Stroker Ace
 
frtaylor9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Age: 29
Posts: 589

User is: frtaylor9 is offline
Send a message via AIM to frtaylor9
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

you can see the green & white corrosion & you can actually see dirt in the center.



2002 Chevy S10 4.3 Vortec (W) 5 Speed 2WD
Spectre CAI, Ported JANTZER TB & Mod w/Trans-Dapt Spacer, Hypertech PPIII & Stat, Flowmaster Super 44, Magnaflow Spun Cat, MSD w/Taylor wires, Billet UD Pulleys, Perma Cool E-Fan
1/4 Mile: 15.2 @ 88mph on a 2.38 60ft
frtaylor9 is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 07-24-2010, 01:23 AM
is dekitted...
 
shortS10owner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Macon/Statesboro, GA
Age: 27
Posts: 1,826

User is: shortS10owner is offline
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

this one my problem too man, corroded rotor, just got it figured out finally...thank goodness, it was driving me crazy, but atleast in my game of new parts roullete i have a whole new ign. system basically, with apparently all working spares in the garage just in case, haha


Tyler----2001 Zq8, 4.3, intake, exhaust, 3.5/5.5 drop, stepshavers, 18/20 grey Coy C-5s...and a few other little things

Full Xenon Body kit for ext. cab stepside for sale. Ecc stepshaver roll pan also. Pm for details...
shortS10owner is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 07-24-2010, 01:31 AM
UN-BANNED B!TCHES!!!!!
 
NotaDime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Verizon's iPhone4
Posts: 6,950

User is: NotaDime is offline
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

Quote:
Originally Posted by S15vortecpwr View Post
I change my cap/rotor about every 40k.
this.





and this:
Quote:
Originally Posted by RaginInferno View Post
AC Delco all the way!

WTB cowl hood near valdosta GA NOW...
Quote:
Originally Posted by 96blazer View Post
Seems like there are still a few people (Imperial, NotaDime, etc...) here that still have working brains.
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Master View Post
BTW last post evar on this site. cheers and.....fock off.
Quote:
Originally Posted by v8lonoma View Post
everything notadime said +1.
NotaDime is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 07-24-2010, 02:17 PM
Registered User
 
cstiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: middle tn
Age: 26
Posts: 251

User is: cstiles is offline
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

my button was black & b8urnt looking when i changed it,but who knows how long it was in there

cstiles is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome