How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button? - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Engine and Drivetrain Tech > 262ci Forum (4.3)
New User? Register Forgot Password


 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-25-2010, 07:34 PM   #1
Stroker Ace
 
frtaylor9's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 589
Location:
User is: OffLine
How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

My truck has trouble starting sometimes could this be fault, 58,000 miles stock cap & button?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-25-2010, 08:17 PM   #2
Age: 15 1/2
 
Bill Wheats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,679
Location: Maine
User is: OffLine
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

Replace it and see.
Old 05-25-2010, 11:36 PM   #3
"factory freak"...
 
Crew Cab Sonoma's Avatar
 
Age: 48
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 8,361
Location: Chattanooga, TN
User is: OffLine
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

unless there is an abnormal failure of some kind,
the cap and rotor should be good to 100K.
i have 73K on my originals, still doing fine.
Old 05-26-2010, 12:35 PM   #4
Registered User
 
cstiles's Avatar
 
Age: 24
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 251
Location: middle tn
User is: OffLine
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

take the cap off and check em
Old 05-26-2010, 01:08 PM   #5
Landscaper
 
Age: 31
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 231
Location: Spring Hill, TN
User is: OffLine
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

I did 107K on the originals, but the button was gone. takes literally 10 minutes to do if you work slow.
Old 05-26-2010, 01:42 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Age: 44
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 120
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

Could be the plugs... Could be that they are fouled from running rich.. could be clogged fuel filter... could be lots of things. Cap and rotor are likely not the problem at 58,k in my opinion.. I agree that it should last close to 100,k.
Old 05-26-2010, 02:47 PM   #7
Stroker Ace
 
frtaylor9's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 589
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

Quote: Originally Posted by carlman
Could be the plugs... Could be that they are fouled from running rich.. could be clogged fuel filter... could be lots of things. Cap and rotor are likely not the problem at 58,k in my opinion.. I agree that it should last close to 100,k.
It already has new e3 plugs, taylor wires, msd coil, fuel filter, pressure on my pump is good, I changed it all hoping it would help, then no change.

(ngk's & autolite wires before)

But I didn't do a cap & button swap

what chance is it the maf? or tps?

when it finally starts it wont idle it just shake's & misses like it's cammed to death, then out of no where it smooths out after about 1 minute of pumping the throttle.

on the road driving it runs like a top, but sometimes at stop lights the idle drops low like its gonna quit then shoots back up to normal again.
Old 05-26-2010, 02:52 PM   #8
goin broke but n style
 
S15vortecpwr's Avatar
 
Age: 34
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12,801
Location: Wetumpka, Alabama
User is: OffLine
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

Quote: Originally Posted by frtaylor9
It already has new e3 plugs, taylor wires, msd coil, fuel filter, pressure on my pump is good, I changed it all hoping it would help, then no change.

(ngk's & autolite wires before)

But I didn't do a cap & button swap

what chance is it the maf? or tps?

when it finally starts it wont idle it just shake's & misses like it's cammed to death, then out of no where it smooths out after about 1 minute of pumping the throttle.

on the road driving it runs like a top, but sometimes at stop lights the idle drops low like its gonna quit then shoots back up to normal again.

I would say this is your problem. I know of plenty of people that have tried them and their vehicle ran like crap. Put OEM's back in and it ran perfect.

I change my cap/rotor about every 40k. i do have MSD 6A box on it and its hard on the rotors.
Old 05-26-2010, 03:26 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Age: 44
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 120
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

Quote: Originally Posted by frtaylor9
It already has new e3 plugs, taylor wires, msd coil, fuel filter, pressure on my pump is good, I changed it all hoping it would help, then no change.

(ngk's & autolite wires before)

But I didn't do a cap & button swap

what chance is it the maf? or tps?

when it finally starts it wont idle it just shake's & misses like it's cammed to death, then out of no where it smooths out after about 1 minute of pumping the throttle.

on the road driving it runs like a top, but sometimes at stop lights the idle drops low like its gonna quit then shoots back up to normal again.
Well, that would've been helpful to know in the first post...
I don't know much about E3's.. But I do know this truck likes to have everything electronic from AC Delco. And plugs could do as described.. but so could a clog in the fuel system...

So what would cause it to clear up? Plugs heat up and ?

MAF and TPS can be tested with an ohm meter for ranges.. I'm not sure how, I read it here somewhere. Doesn't sound like TPS to me... or MAF for that matter.. those throw codes/CEL's. Do you have a check engine light?

-C
Old 05-26-2010, 03:32 PM   #10
terrible. take a lap.
 
joyride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,025
Location: Tacoma, Wa
User is: OffLine
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

i would just drop the E3's like stated above...from being on this forum long enough and reading how these GM cars and people that work at autozone prefer ac delco for their GM rides, only using ac delco makes me feel better that it'll run right with those on...
Old 05-26-2010, 03:37 PM   #11
Stroker Ace
 
frtaylor9's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 589
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

Quote: Originally Posted by S15vortecpwr
I would say this is your problem. I know of plenty of people that have tried them and their vehicle ran like crap. Put OEM's back in and it ran perfect.

I change my cap/rotor about every 40k. i do have MSD 6A box on it and its hard on the rotors.
well i tryed some stock AC's from my dads vortec 383 they have 10 miles on them & did the same thing, Actually worse, Because I was weird about the e3s as well...I was pissed, cause changing plugs on a 4.3 is not my new drug or anything.

...could the msd coil done something to my cap & button?...I got them ordered I just dont wanna look until I get them in.......cap is tan btw

& it hasnt threw any codes.

Last edited by frtaylor9; 05-26-2010 at 03:39 PM.
Old 05-26-2010, 03:42 PM   #12
Sometimes I'm mean...alot
 
RaginInferno's Avatar

 
Age: 50
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,348
Location: Cajun Country, La.
User is: OffLine
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

From what I can tell, E3's are Made in China, which is enough for me to never use them... AC Delco all the way!

I don't get why so many young guys here spend so much money to "upgrade" an already outstanding ignition system, when the majority here don't have enough compression, cam or N2O to warrant it.
Is it that important to have bragging rights when your constantly working on your truck?

Quote:
well i tryed some stock AC's from my dads vortec 383...
Never pull plugs from an entirely different engine to put in your stock 4.3.. unless they were AC-Delco 41-932

Plus, all the MSD stuff is now being "made to MSD specs" in China as well..

Last edited by RaginInferno; 05-26-2010 at 03:47 PM.
Old 05-26-2010, 03:53 PM   #13
Stroker Ace
 
frtaylor9's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 589
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

Quote: Originally Posted by RaginInferno



Never pull plugs from an entirely different engine to put in your stock 4.3.. unless they were AC-Delco 41-932
sorry bro but that's the exact part number. all vortec heads use the same plug. unless your running the aluminum E-tec's. or your running a different heat range.

Last edited by frtaylor9; 05-26-2010 at 03:55 PM.
Old 05-29-2010, 12:35 AM   #14
Stroker Ace
 
frtaylor9's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 589
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

well I just swapped my cap & rotor button earlier today, I'm pretty sure I solved my problem; I drove it all day, its was about 85 degrees out here & I started right up every time with no problems at all, you wouldn't believe how much smoother it made the truck rev & idle (starts way better too), I actually had to turn the idle down because the idle quality picked up so much, Its just hard to see how bad the stock cap & rotor looked after 58,000 miles.
Old 05-29-2010, 12:49 AM   #15
Stroker Ace
 
frtaylor9's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 589
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

you can see the green & white corrosion & you can actually see dirt in the center.

Old 07-24-2010, 01:23 AM   #16
is dekitted...
 
shortS10owner's Avatar
 
Age: 25
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,826
Location: Macon/Statesboro, GA
User is: OffLine
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

this one my problem too man, corroded rotor, just got it figured out finally...thank goodness, it was driving me crazy, but atleast in my game of new parts roullete i have a whole new ign. system basically, with apparently all working spares in the garage just in case, haha
Old 07-24-2010, 01:31 AM   #17
UN-BANNED B!TCHES!!!!!
 
NotaDime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6,950
Location: Verizon's iPhone4
User is: OffLine
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

Quote: Originally Posted by S15vortecpwr
I change my cap/rotor about every 40k.
this.





and this:
Quote: Originally Posted by RaginInferno
AC Delco all the way!
Old 07-24-2010, 02:17 PM   #18
Registered User
 
cstiles's Avatar
 
Age: 24
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 251
Location: middle tn
User is: OffLine
Re: How often shold you change your distributor cap & rotor button?

my button was black & b8urnt looking when i changed it,but who knows how long it was in there
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
SEO by vBSEO
vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.