Having trouble changing Motor Mounts! - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

Having trouble changing Motor Mounts!

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Engine and Drivetrain Tech > 262ci Forum (4.3)
New User? Register Forgot Password


 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-28-2006, 04:04 PM   #1
Ground Patrol
 
TempoRaptor's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,078
Location: Upland,CA
User is: OffLine
Having trouble changing Motor Mounts!

i unbolted thebolt that goes through the motor mounts but when i go to jack up the engine the whole truck wants to lift up........................ is there somebolt i am forgetting to un bolt??..............................
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-28-2006, 04:11 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Age: 28
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,370
Location: Red Oak
User is: OffLine
Re: Having trouble changing Motor Mounts!

You have to disconnect the transmission mount i think, and any wires that might be tying you down.
Old 01-28-2006, 09:23 PM   #3
Registered User
 
graniteguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,000
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Having trouble changing Motor Mounts!

It's been a while but i never unbolted anything but the mounts. There is one bolt that is hard see and even harder to get a socket on. If you get a serrated fillet knife or similar, cut the rubber off the mount. This will help a bunch to see it.
Old 01-29-2006, 12:24 AM   #4
Ground Patrol
 
TempoRaptor's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,078
Location: Upland,CA
User is: OffLine
Re: Having trouble changing Motor Mounts!

all right i finnaly got it up and took the old ones out boy was that a pain is the @SS! Then i went to put the new ones in and it was an even BIGGER PAIN!!! I am now having trouble lining up the Long bolt to mount the new motor mounts to the frame...........any ADVICE on this??
Old 01-29-2006, 12:27 AM   #5
rat
Got Fuel Rails?
 
rat's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,539
Location: Omaha, NE
User is: OffLine
Re: Having trouble changing Motor Mounts!

On my 2wd, that has a different frame than you, so this might be slightly different. I bolted the mount to the engine. The bolted the top mount to the bottom mount, then lowered the engine down untill i could get a bolt going into the frame, then i was able to get the rest started.
Old 01-29-2006, 12:29 AM   #6
Ground Patrol
 
TempoRaptor's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,078
Location: Upland,CA
User is: OffLine
Re: Having trouble changing Motor Mounts!

I have a 2wd.......... But ive bolted the mounts to the engine already but when i lower it down i cant get the mount to the frame to line up................
Old 01-29-2006, 12:37 AM   #7
rat
Got Fuel Rails?
 
rat's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,539
Location: Omaha, NE
User is: OffLine
Re: Having trouble changing Motor Mounts!

Try raising and lowering corners of the truck slightly. THe frame might be twisted a little, they are really flopy on these trucks.
Old 01-29-2006, 12:55 AM   #8
Ground Patrol
 
TempoRaptor's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,078
Location: Upland,CA
User is: OffLine
Re: Having trouble changing Motor Mounts!

well i gave that a try and still isnt lineing up yet.............. Should i pry on them to get them to move? I already tryed giving the motor and shake and didnt move any so any other options?
Old 01-29-2006, 01:03 AM   #9
Registered User
 
VT1992S10's Avatar
 
Age: 28
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 441
Location: Peoria, Illinois
User is: OffLine
Re: Having trouble changing Motor Mounts!

you can always loosen the 3 bolts on the engine side, lower the engine so you can get the long bolt thru the hole and lined up, tighten the long bolt, then tighten the 3 motor side bolts. This has worked for me on both my 4x4 and when there was a 4.3 in the 2wd
Old 01-29-2006, 02:53 AM   #10
Ground Patrol
 
TempoRaptor's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,078
Location: Upland,CA
User is: OffLine
Re: Having trouble changing Motor Mounts!

im still not having any luck................. Im going to bed and hopfully ill get it figured out tomarrow................
Old 01-29-2006, 03:02 PM   #11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 10,898
Location: Who cares
User is: OffLine
Re: Having trouble changing Motor Mounts!

Quote: Originally Posted by VT1992S10
you can always loosen the 3 bolts on the engine side, lower the engine so you can get the long bolt thru the hole and lined up, tighten the long bolt, then tighten the 3 motor side bolts. This has worked for me on both my 4x4 and when there was a 4.3 in the 2wd
I believe I've read that elsewhere too. Loosen the bolts so the mounts can
move a bit, spear the long bolts into the upper and lower mounts then tighten.
Old 01-29-2006, 06:29 PM   #12
Ground Patrol
 
TempoRaptor's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,078
Location: Upland,CA
User is: OffLine
Re: Having trouble changing Motor Mounts!

Well after much prying and lifting the engine up and down i was able to get the passenger side bolted up but the driver side is being a huge pain! i ve tryed everthing but it wont line up ive even tryed starting the engine and putting it in gear to put load on the engine to see if it would move the engine into place but that didnt work........................Im going to take a break and then try some more prying..............
Old 01-29-2006, 09:15 PM   #13
Ground Patrol
 
TempoRaptor's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,078
Location: Upland,CA
User is: OffLine
Re: Having trouble changing Motor Mounts!

I found the secret to sucess! 2 ratcheting tiedowns and a long 3/8 extention, put the 3/8 extention behind the motormount and use one ratchet on each side and rap it around your tire opposite the motor mount.................
Old 01-29-2006, 10:09 PM   #14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 10,898
Location: Who cares
User is: OffLine
Re: Having trouble changing Motor Mounts!

Quote: Originally Posted by TempoRaptor
I found the secret to sucess! 2 ratcheting tiedowns and a long 3/8 extention, put the 3/8 extention behind the motormount and use one ratchet on each side and rap it around your tire opposite the motor mount.................
Wow ! I've never heard of it being done like that before, but if it works and you
got your new mounts in, more power to ya..Sounds like a major PITA, and
I'm going to have to do mine soon..Wonderful.
Old 01-29-2006, 10:23 PM   #15
rat
Got Fuel Rails?
 
rat's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,539
Location: Omaha, NE
User is: OffLine
Re: Having trouble changing Motor Mounts!

Now that you are done, i highly recomend poly mounts. They should never break again. Mine were broken, the drivers side came out in 3 pieces. My headers were hitting the frame. New mounts solved everything.
Old 01-29-2006, 10:52 PM   #16
Ground Patrol
 
TempoRaptor's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,078
Location: Upland,CA
User is: OffLine
Re: Having trouble changing Motor Mounts!

Well i sure know that next time they need to be replaced im going to get it done somewhere cause it was a huge PAIN IN THE BUTT!!!!!!!
Old 06-15-2006, 10:02 AM   #17
Searching no more
 
mat1583's Avatar
 
Age: 31
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,463
Location: Madison, Alabama
User is: OffLine
Re: Having trouble changing Motor Mounts!

Quote: Originally Posted by rat
Now that you are done, i highly recomend poly mounts. They should never break again. Mine were broken, the drivers side came out in 3 pieces. My headers were hitting the frame. New mounts solved everything.
Did you have an annoying rattling/vibration. Jon and I installed headers and a new y-pipe on my truck not long ago and now it's really rattling/vibrating when I'm at a stop.
Old 06-15-2006, 02:46 PM   #18
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 10,898
Location: Who cares
User is: OffLine
Re: Having trouble changing Motor Mounts!

Yea thats the one thing I truly hate about the poly mounts. Idle
vibration. Especially when the elec fan kicks in..Sounds and feel
nasty.
Old 06-15-2006, 02:46 PM   #19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 10,898
Location: Who cares
User is: OffLine
Re: Having trouble changing Motor Mounts!

Yea thats the one thing I truly hate about the poly mounts. Idle
vibration. Especially when the elec fan kicks in..Sounds and feel
nasty.
Old 06-15-2006, 05:52 PM   #20
rat
Got Fuel Rails?
 
rat's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,539
Location: Omaha, NE
User is: OffLine
Re: Having trouble changing Motor Mounts!

Mine doesn't really vibrate that much(worse than stock, but still not that bad). I bumped my idle about 25rpm, and it really helped to smooth things out.
Old 06-15-2006, 06:00 PM   #21
Searching no more
 
mat1583's Avatar
 
Age: 31
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,463
Location: Madison, Alabama
User is: OffLine
Re: Having trouble changing Motor Mounts!

Well, I don't actually have poly mounts, just stock. I'm thinking the headers or y-pipe are vibrating against something somewhere. I mean it's more than just a light vibration. This is something loud and something you can feel in your feet in the cab.
Old 06-15-2006, 06:04 PM   #22
Starting from scratch...
 
02_Black_XBlazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,349
Location: Over By There, IL
User is: OffLine
Re: Having trouble changing Motor Mounts!

Quote: Originally Posted by mat1583
Well, I don't actually have poly mounts, just stock. I'm thinking the headers or y-pipe are vibrating against something somewhere. I mean it's more than just a light vibration. This is something loud and something you can feel in your feet in the cab.
What headers are you running? If they're the edelbrock, you might have to clearence the driver's side firewall a bit for the 02 sensor. A had a similiar issue to what you are descibing, and it was b/c the o2 sensor was banging against the firewall.
Old 06-15-2006, 06:10 PM   #23
Searching no more
 
mat1583's Avatar
 
Age: 31
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,463
Location: Madison, Alabama
User is: OffLine
Re: Having trouble changing Motor Mounts!

Quote: Originally Posted by 97NAS10SS
What headers are you running? If they're the edelbrock, you might have to clearence the driver's side firewall a bit for the 02 sensor. A had a similiar issue to what you are descibing, and it was b/c the o2 sensor was banging against the firewall.
Yup, edelbrock! Driver's side firewall though? The o2 sensor is on the passenger side on my truck (94 TBI). I'll check that spot to see if it's banging up against anything though. I never really thought of that spot being a culprit. It's kinda tough finding exactly where the noise is coming from.
Old 06-15-2006, 06:35 PM   #24
Registered User
 
bvr775's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 568
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Having trouble changing Motor Mounts!

Quote: Originally Posted by TempoRaptor
I found the secret to sucess! 2 ratcheting tiedowns and a long 3/8 extention, put the 3/8 extention behind the motormount and use one ratchet on each side and rap it around your tire opposite the motor mount.................


I just use a long prybar
Old 06-15-2006, 11:49 PM   #25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 10,898
Location: Who cares
User is: OffLine
Re: Having trouble changing Motor Mounts!

Quote: Originally Posted by rat
Mine doesn't really vibrate that much(worse than stock, but still not that bad). I bumped my idle about 25rpm, and it really helped to smooth things out.
That's a good idea. I think I'll try that.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:23 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
SEO by vBSEO
vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.