1997 Blazer - Hard Start & Rough Idle - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

1997 Blazer - Hard Start & Rough Idle

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Engine and Drivetrain Tech > 262ci Forum (4.3)
New User? Register Forgot Password

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2005, 09:42 PM   #1

1997 Blazer - Hard Start & Rough Idle

Hello All,
This is my first time to this site and hope I can get some help for my Blazer. Problem: At startup I have to crank it 2 or 3 times before it starts, and after it starts it idles a bit rough. I have change spark plugs, wires, distributor cap, rotor, gas filter, coil, air filter, ran seafoam to clean the injectors, and nothing seems to fix my problem. I have noticed that once it turns over and I shut it off and restart it right away it will crank right up, time and time again, but once it sits for about 5 minutes it will give me trouble again.
Truck has been running like this for about a month, any ideas??

Thanks!
Old 11-10-2005, 11:41 PM   #2

Re: 1997 Blazer - Hard Start & Rough Idle

I'd start with the cheap stuff ...

I'd start by cleaning the IAC ...

then ...

clean MAF
clean TB butterfly
replace PCV valve

have you ever replaced the ignition switch? it's not a matter of if ... it's a matter of when ...

what brand plugs are you using?

Quote: Originally Posted by tlksanchez
Hello All,