tach install - S-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 03-20-2009, 12:24 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
prupnurp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: cresco, ia
Age: 26
Posts: 607

User is: prupnurp is offline
tach install

hey guys im puttin a tach in my 88 s10 ext cab with the 2.8L. How do i hook it up? Ive hooked them up on v8s but idk where to hook the actual tach wire on a 2.8.

prupnurp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 03-20-2009, 12:35 AM
2000 noma highrider
 
Toyota h8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sylvania, Oh
Age: 28
Posts: 516

User is: Toyota h8r is offline
Send a message via AIM to Toyota h8r Send a message via MSN to Toyota h8r Send a message via Yahoo to Toyota h8r
Re: tach install

on mine it was a white wire on the coil plug. id have to go look to see what plug it was wether the blk one or grey plug.

IIRC there is a harness that goes from the distributor to the coil and then the other plug being the grey plug.


I want to say the gry plug is the one with the white tach wire.

i had a 5" monster tach on my 2.8L/5spd s10 lol

my rides...
--2000 Sonoma highrider Zr2 4.3L/a4 3.73 gears(stock) AWAITING SFA
--1992 s10 x-cab 2wd 2.8L/m5BLOWN UP.....RIP
--1988 s10 blazer 4wd(sold)GONE BUT NOT FORGOTTEN
Toyota h8r is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 03-20-2009, 01:10 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
prupnurp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: cresco, ia
Age: 26
Posts: 607

User is: prupnurp is offline
Re: tach install

i just got a super sun pro 2 layin around its like a 3inch tach i belive
prupnurp is offline  
post #4 of 19 Old 03-20-2009, 07:01 AM
first car and proud
 
93v6banger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lebanon, IN
Age: 22
Posts: 757

User is: 93v6banger is offline
Re: tach install

it's pretty simple when you actually look at it. if you can't figure it out i'll get some pics if you want.

1993 chevy s10. regular cab short bed. 2.8 5 speed
1995 Ford Mustang Cobra. 5.0 5 speed - sold
2003 Ford Mustang Cobra. S/C DOHC 32V 6 speed.
93v6banger is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 03-20-2009, 12:42 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
prupnurp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: cresco, ia
Age: 26
Posts: 607

User is: prupnurp is offline
Re: tach install

thats ok i found it and am hooked it up in a lil bit
prupnurp is offline  
post #6 of 19 Old 03-20-2009, 11:48 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Age: 35
Posts: 476

User is: onecrazyfoo4u is offline
Re: tach install

So what wire was the tach signal wire? I'm trying to install a tach on my 84 3.4l and need to hook it up as well.
onecrazyfoo4u is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 03-21-2009, 12:24 AM
Registered User
 
Bagged1984S10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: York, Pennsylvania
Age: 32
Posts: 1,462

User is: Bagged1984S10 is offline
Send a message via AIM to Bagged1984S10
Re: tach install

What if the vehicle didn't come with a tach? Would there still be a tach wire available to hook an aftermarket tach up to?


Xbox Live Gamertag: My Tango Sucka
Bagged1984S10 is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 03-21-2009, 12:52 AM
George Smith
 
SoLowS10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: watervliet, mi
Age: 32
Posts: 891

User is: SoLowS10 is offline
Send a message via AIM to SoLowS10
Re: tach install

yes damn near every vehicle has a tach wire i have not found one that doesnt


1991 S-10 To much to put in this small area

Project "MY BANK"
http://www.s10forum.com/forum/f143/p...y-bank-499120/
SoLowS10 is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 03-21-2009, 09:37 AM
first car and proud
 
93v6banger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lebanon, IN
Age: 22
Posts: 757

User is: 93v6banger is offline
Re: tach install

not sure if you call it a "tach wire"...but every vehicle has a hot side on an ignition coil. so yes. every vehicle (except diesel maybe?) can have an aftermarket tach.

1993 chevy s10. regular cab short bed. 2.8 5 speed
1995 Ford Mustang Cobra. 5.0 5 speed - sold
2003 Ford Mustang Cobra. S/C DOHC 32V 6 speed.
93v6banger is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 03-21-2009, 01:19 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
prupnurp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: cresco, ia
Age: 26
Posts: 607

User is: prupnurp is offline
Re: tach install

hey guys i tried the white wire on the grey plug and it dosnt work.
prupnurp is offline  
post #11 of 19 Old 03-21-2009, 04:14 PM
The One and Only
 
84projectdragger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Huntington West Virginia
Age: 30
Posts: 43

User is: 84projectdragger is offline
Send a message via AIM to 84projectdragger Send a message via MSN to 84projectdragger
Re: tach install

i hooked up a 3 inch sunpro tach in my 90 2.5 and the directions that came with it told me to splice a wire on my dist. im thinking the white wire thats in the harness going into the side of my dist.

Serving In The U.S. Army
84projectdragger is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 04-12-2009, 11:47 AM
Registered User
 
91nomamx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Age: 29
Posts: 49

User is: 91nomamx is offline
Re: tach install

does anyone have a pic of where they ran their signal wire to? cause i've been tryin to figure this out and i'm starting to think that i'm a lil retarded...
91nomamx is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 04-12-2009, 11:54 AM
first car and proud
 
93v6banger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lebanon, IN
Age: 22
Posts: 757

User is: 93v6banger is offline
Re: tach install



it splices into the white wire on the grey plug on the coil.

1993 chevy s10. regular cab short bed. 2.8 5 speed
1995 Ford Mustang Cobra. 5.0 5 speed - sold
2003 Ford Mustang Cobra. S/C DOHC 32V 6 speed.
93v6banger is offline  
post #14 of 19 Old 04-12-2009, 03:22 PM
Automatic is crap.
 
Ilikemice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: North Warwickshire, England
Age: 30
Posts: 399

User is: Ilikemice is offline
Re: tach install

Nice one. Cheers for the pic - I'm gonna install my tach this week I think if I can find a decent place to mount it. Your pic will be a great help!

Member of the I love CSI coalition.

1987 S10 Blazer 2.8 auto 4x4
1997 Ford Explorer 4.0 auto 4x4
1999 VW Polo 1.0 5-speed - "The Slowpo"
Ilikemice is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 04-12-2009, 04:07 PM
4x4 v6 blazer
 
neo71665's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: rison arkansas
Age: 36
Posts: 7,517

User is: neo71665 is offline
Re: tach install

Quote:
Originally Posted by 93v6banger View Post
not sure if you call it a "tach wire"...but every vehicle has a hot side on an ignition coil. so yes. every vehicle (except diesel maybe?) can have an aftermarket tach.


Yep, on s-10s its a light tan almost white wire going to the ECM (if you don't feel like running it out the cab) or the hot side of the coil.


On diesels they pull the RPMs off the alternator normally. It can be done on the CS130 also. I wanna say terminal S in the plug but I'd have to look to make 100% sure.

87 blazer tahoe 2 door, 5.7, auto, sfa 4x4
91 noma reg cab, 3.4, 5speed, lowered
President of the Arkansas chapter Anti-bag Coalition
"Bags are for groceries"
Quote:
Originally Posted by alarm_the_alarm View Post
Lift That Sh*t, Fat Girls Can't Jump
Quote:
Originally Posted by mostizzle View Post
i just made love to your bowels......and then reported them.

neo71665 is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 04-13-2009, 02:26 PM
Registered User
 
'91 Shortbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hartwood, VA
Posts: 70

User is: '91 Shortbox is offline
Re: tach install

It is the white wire, just went through it.
'91 Shortbox is offline  
post #17 of 19 Old 04-13-2009, 06:48 PM
Automatic is crap.
 
Ilikemice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: North Warwickshire, England
Age: 30
Posts: 399

User is: Ilikemice is offline
Re: tach install

My signal wire was a yellowy colour. It may have been white is some past life but it works.



And looks pretty sweet too.

Member of the I love CSI coalition.

1987 S10 Blazer 2.8 auto 4x4
1997 Ford Explorer 4.0 auto 4x4
1999 VW Polo 1.0 5-speed - "The Slowpo"
Ilikemice is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 04-13-2009, 10:17 PM
first car and proud
 
93v6banger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lebanon, IN
Age: 22
Posts: 757

User is: 93v6banger is offline
Re: tach install

yay whorage!


mine at night..........yeah my speedo lights and stuff SUCK but they don't look as bad as this pic makes them look.


it's on the other side of the steering column now. and i also have a fancy hose clamp holding it on now! woohoo!

1993 chevy s10. regular cab short bed. 2.8 5 speed
1995 Ford Mustang Cobra. 5.0 5 speed - sold
2003 Ford Mustang Cobra. S/C DOHC 32V 6 speed.
93v6banger is offline  
post #19 of 19 Old 04-19-2009, 06:56 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
prupnurp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: cresco, ia
Age: 26
Posts: 607

User is: prupnurp is offline
Re: tach install

got mine hooked up works great
prupnurp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome