Suspected ignition module failure - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

Suspected ignition module failure

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Engine and Drivetrain Tech > 60v6 Forum (2.8/3.4)
New User? Register Forgot Password

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2011, 12:22 AM   #1

User is: OffLine
Suspected ignition module failure

I have been driving my 88 S15 4X4 for nearly two years now. Mostly it is a very good running little truck and has been very dependable. This morning it was hard starting, engine spins over real good with the starter but no start. After hitting the starter about four times this morning it fired up and I drove to work, it ran perfect on the way to work. Tonight after work it wouldn't start. This is the same way it acted about six months ago and I fixed it by putting in a new ignition module. My wife had to pick me up at work and I left the truck there. I'll take my tools with me tomorrow and dig deeper after work. If it is another ignition module failure, what would make them fail after only about six months?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-10-2011, 12:32 AM   #2
Littering And?

Re: Suspected ignition module failure

hmmm. Maybe its the spark plugs such as the cap and rotor or coil. It could be the ICM but after 6 months but you never know wtih autozone or oreily parts lol. It may be acting funny. I do believe that autozone will test the ICM for you. Check to see if your not getting spark or fuel or both.
Old 03-10-2011, 12:37 AM   #3