Smog pump question - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

Smog pump question

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Engine and Drivetrain Tech > 60v6 Forum (2.8/3.4)
New User? Register Forgot Password


 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-05-2009, 01:51 AM   #1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 35
Location:
User is: OffLine
Smog pump question

I've got a bad smog pump and wondering if there is a way to remove it from the system with a serpentine belt on a 87 2.8. I've got a timing cover and all the pulleys for a 85 but the oil pan is different than the 87 as it actually bolts to the timing cover in the front and I don't have one. I was thinking of switching my belt system to a v-belt one from the 85 and just not running the smog belt but did not realize the oil pans were different. The engine is out as I'm resealing it so I thought it would be easy to do this. Any ideas? If I stick with the serp belt drive can the smag pump be bypassed? Thanks Anthony
Old 10-05-2009, 08:48 AM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 447
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

I have heard of guys hollowing them out before and just keeping the pulley as an idler. The LSx guys claim a noticeable increase in throttle response.
Old 10-06-2009, 12:31 AM   #3
Doin' Work
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 40
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

I just picked up an 89 2.8 last week. The smog pump was siezed and I didnt have time to gut it. I dont know if its all the same on the 87's, but I sized up a rope and got an 860k6 belt and bypassed the pump altogether. Belt fits nice and tight.
Old 10-07-2009, 10:58 PM   #4
Registered User
 
chaospartners's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,538
Location: Somewhere in Ohio
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

Quote: Originally Posted by E.Morel
I just picked up an 89 2.8 last week. The smog pump was siezed and I didnt have time to gut it. I dont know if its all the same on the 87's, but I sized up a rope and got an 860k6 belt and bypassed the pump altogether. Belt fits nice and tight.

Is there any way maybe u could get a pic of how u got ur belt ran? Im wanting to take my smog pump off to but the way im looking at it the belt would rub itself in order to turn the water pump the right way.
Old 10-08-2009, 12:18 PM   #5
Doin' Work
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 40
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

Ill snap a pic or two tonight. Basically I just ran it the same way as normal, leaving out the smog pump. It looks like it would hit at the tensioner, but its got a good 3/4 or an 1" of clearance.
Old 10-08-2009, 02:13 PM   #6
Registered User
 
chaospartners's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,538
Location: Somewhere in Ohio
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

Did it help the power any?
Old 10-08-2009, 05:31 PM   #7
GRM Challenge Truck
 
Age: 32
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 542
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

nope. it didnt for me. theres all the info you need in my build thread, incuding routing and belt number

michael
Old 10-08-2009, 07:46 PM   #8
George Smith
 
SoLowS10's Avatar
 
Age: 31
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 888
Location: watervliet, mi
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

i gutted mine and ran a smaller belt
Old 10-09-2009, 06:44 AM   #9
Registered User
 
chaospartners's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,538
Location: Somewhere in Ohio
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

did u ever get pics?
Old 10-09-2009, 07:46 AM   #10
Doin' Work
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 40
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

Sorry got kind of busy yesterday. I'll get some ASAP.
Old 10-09-2009, 11:29 AM   #11
Registered User
 
chaospartners's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,538
Location: Somewhere in Ohio
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

Thanks man
Old 10-10-2009, 01:14 AM   #12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 35
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

sure appreciate the replies. I gutted the pump but I think the front bearing is shot. Still not sure how to proceed. Pics? Thanks again Tony
Old 10-10-2009, 08:54 AM   #13
Registered User
 
chaospartners's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,538
Location: Somewhere in Ohio
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

yea im still waiting on them to lol
Old 10-10-2009, 11:07 AM   #14
Doin' Work
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 40
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

Im sorry guys! lol. Ive been busy! Last night I actually removed the hood from the truck to sand it and put it in primer and I completely forgot to take the pics. Ill do it today. I promise this time. lol
Old 10-10-2009, 02:22 PM   #15
Registered User
 
chaospartners's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,538
Location: Somewhere in Ohio
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

PICS YET???? lol
Old 10-10-2009, 05:33 PM   #16
Doin' Work
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 40
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

Alright folks. Here we go. the first pic is the orig. belt diagram, the second is a photoshop of the diagram with how I bypassed the pump. The third pic shows clearence between the tensioner and where the belt comes back up by it, and the last pic shows the smog pump, bypassed with no pully on it.







Old 10-10-2009, 06:32 PM   #17
Registered User
 
chaospartners's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,538
Location: Somewhere in Ohio
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

SWEET!! thanks man
Old 10-10-2009, 10:31 PM   #18
Registered User
 
chaospartners's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,538
Location: Somewhere in Ohio
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

Do u have ac? the belt u said u used was way to long for me!
Old 10-10-2009, 11:52 PM   #19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 35
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

Thanks very much,
Tony
Old 10-11-2009, 01:33 AM   #20
Doin' Work
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 40
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

Shit, yes sorry, I do have AC.
Old 10-12-2009, 01:51 PM   #21
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 36
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

did anybody figure out the non-ac belt #? i have ac but want to bypass that and the air pump
Old 10-12-2009, 06:05 PM   #22
Doin' Work
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 40
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

All i did was take a piece of rope (something that can't stretch too much) and ran it around the pullies that I wanted it to go around. I pulled it nice and tight and taped it where the end met back at the beginning. I brought it to the store and said "I need a belt this big...". Got it first try.
Old 10-12-2009, 09:14 PM   #23
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 36
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

Quote: Originally Posted by E.Morel
All i did was take a piece of rope (something that can't stretch too much) and ran it around the pullies that I wanted it to go around. I pulled it nice and tight and taped it where the end met back at the beginning. I brought it to the store and said "I need a belt this big...". Got it first try.
yeah i know about the rope method, i just never seem to have luck getting it right the first couple tries. and with it being an almost 40 mile round trip to the nearest auto parts store i would rather not take multiple trips
Old 10-13-2009, 12:49 AM   #24
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 35
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

I had ac also but it's now removed. With power steering your belt length will be 80 inches. Napa has them.
Tony
Old 10-13-2009, 08:44 AM   #25
Registered User
 
chaospartners's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,538
Location: Somewhere in Ohio
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

I gave up!! i went to autozone 5 times trying different belts. I would get one that was just a bit to short so id go get one that was 1/4in bigger still could not get it to slip over the alternator pulley! this was with my dad bottoming out the tensioner and me trying to pull and work the belt onto the alternator! so it just wasnt going on so i went and got that was an 1in bigger and it had to much slack in it, and let the tensioner rub the water pump so that was no good either.. I said the hell with it and put the smog pump pulley back on .

Needless to say i tried 5 different belts to no avail!!
Old 01-03-2010, 02:04 PM   #26
FFAMatt
 
FFAMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 143
Location: Central Missouri
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

I know this is an old thread but does the computer throw any codes when the smog pump is removed? I want to take mine off but I don't know if there are any ill side effects.
Old 01-03-2010, 03:32 PM   #27
ASE certified MasterTech
 
jtcfanof3's Avatar
 
Age: 38
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8,685
Location: A little here and a little there....
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

No side effects and no code, but when I did my 3.4 swap I left the electrical connection still connected to the actuater portion, or w/e that portion is called on the pump. You may be able to just solder in a resistor and be good to go. I will have to research that connection and its values. And I welded the exhaust hole closed on the manifold.
Old 01-03-2010, 06:51 PM   #28
FFAMatt
 
FFAMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 143
Location: Central Missouri
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

Could you just trace the wire from the electrical connection back to its source and take it off? And I plan to just find correct size bolts to put in place of the injection ports. That is if I do not get headers before then.
Old 01-04-2010, 12:26 AM   #29
Registered User
 
bullbear's Avatar
 
Age: 52
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 74
Location: duvall wa.
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

I asked this ? else where on this site on how deleting the pump will effect the cat. I believe its purpose is also to cool the cat or to ad air to help burn exhuast. Will it hurt my. cat? 84 2.8
Old 01-04-2010, 09:45 AM   #30
ASE certified MasterTech
 
jtcfanof3's Avatar
 
Age: 38
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8,685
Location: A little here and a little there....
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

It's actually called an A.I.R. System, it is used to help add oxygen into the exhaust system to completely burn off any extra hydrocarbons before it gets to the catalytic converter. It also adds cool oxygen into the converter to aid in the conversion process.
So will it burn up your converter? No, will it shorten its life? Yes, by how much, I don't know. So if you are removing your A.I.R. system, might as well remove your converter, unless you have to have a converter to pass inspection, but if that is required I almost bet the pump has to still be functional as well so it's a moot point.
Old 01-04-2010, 09:03 PM   #31
Registered User
 
bullbear's Avatar
 
Age: 52
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 74
Location: duvall wa.
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

There is no emiissions where I live and the truck is exempt cause of age. I was under the impression the cat was also needed for proper back pressure ( told that by a muffler shop) I would prefer to delete it.
Old 01-04-2010, 09:12 PM   #32
ASE certified MasterTech
 
jtcfanof3's Avatar
 
Age: 38
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8,685
Location: A little here and a little there....
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

You may loose some back pressure, but as long as you stay with close to stock exhaust diameter you will be fine.
Old 01-04-2010, 09:24 PM   #33
Registered User
 
bullbear's Avatar
 
Age: 52
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 74
Location: duvall wa.
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

I have a ported stock intake, installing a crate 3.4 carb. engine w/ headers 1.5" in and 2.25" out collector, and my thought was to go from stock 2" to2.25" exhuast pipe. Without the cat whats your opinion on how it will run?
Old 04-19-2010, 06:24 PM   #34
Sling'n Ink & Drag'n Ass
 
Hoosierink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 120
Location: Outside the box, Indiana
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

from what i have gathered with a non-ac setup is you need to have the ac bypass in order to avoid belt rub when deleting the smog pump.
Old 04-19-2010, 11:55 PM   #35
4x4 v6 blazer
 
neo71665's Avatar
 
Age: 34
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7,506
Location: rison arkansas
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

http://members.shaw.ca/betterthanyou...airremoval.htm
Old 05-02-2010, 07:23 PM   #36
Registered User
 
Fontes's Avatar
 
Age: 23
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 76
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

i do this and the belt dont fit what other belt could i put?
Old 05-25-2010, 03:21 AM   #37
Registered User
 
Fontes's Avatar
 
Age: 23
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 76
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

BUMP!!!

here in the pictures do you drill the tensioner to put it in 90 degrees position like it says in the post o betterthanyou o do you put the stock 2.8 tensioner?
Old 07-14-2010, 01:35 AM   #38
Registered User
 
smallblock9466's Avatar
 
Age: 24
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 59
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

did you remove the smog pump or just bypass it ?
Old 07-14-2010, 07:30 PM   #39
Registered User
 
Fontes's Avatar
 
Age: 23
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 76
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

i removed it all from that smog sh77tt
Old 07-15-2010, 12:13 AM   #40
Registered User
 
smallblock9466's Avatar
 
Age: 24
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 59
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

howd that work with your alternator there on the same bracket arent they
Old 07-17-2010, 12:48 AM   #41
Registered User
 
Age: 35
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

I removed all the smog stuff. I left gthe plug unplugged no codes or bad effects. Ill get my belt size for you guys tomorrow. I cut the air pipe looses and put a freeze plug in the nut from the pipe and screwed it back in. I have also gutted my cat and am running a cherry bomb with the stock pipe size and the truck has alot more mid to upper rpm power
Old 07-17-2010, 06:17 AM   #42
New Old Timer
 
MadJack's Avatar
 
Age: 48
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 378
Location: Central Florida
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

I've see betterthanyou's write-up before. It's the most complete and simple write-up I've found for this mod.
Old 07-22-2010, 01:47 AM   #43
Registered User
 
jman85's Avatar
 
Age: 21
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,444
Location: bc canada
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

thats weird u could still get the belt on the tensioner without the smog pump i couldnt and ended up useing an old sytle belt tensioner of a 84 cutless supream just had to entend it abit but i originaly used the 85 alt bracket and trimmed it abit
Old 08-02-2010, 10:07 PM   #44
Registered User
 
smallblock9466's Avatar
 
Age: 24
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 59
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Smog pump question

myy autoshops are stupid i had to buy a belt for a 83 cj7 becasue i couldnt just get teh belt that was the length and rib i needed but its on its working just the belt touches from the tenser pulley and the water pump pulley
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
SEO by vBSEO
vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.