How to pull your SES or check engine light codes - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Engine and Drivetrain Tech > 60v6 Forum (2.8/3.4)
New User? Register Forgot Password


 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-14-2008, 09:41 PM   #1
4x4 v6 blazer
 
neo71665's Avatar
 
Age: 34
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7,507
Location: rison arkansas
User is: OffLine
How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

This seems to keep popping up so I'll make a whole post on this. I know its found all over the net but still we get asked this all the time.

To enter the diagnostics, either connect a scan tool to the ALDL/DLC (thats the plug under the dash on the drivers side) connector or use a jumper wire to connect terminals A and B and begin flash diagnosis.

On carbureted vehicles, the jumper should be connected with the ignition switch turned ON to begin code display.

For fuel injected vehicles, the jumper should be connected with the ignition OFF, then with the jumpers in place, the switch should be turned ON to begin code read out.

In both cases, the engine should NOT BE RUNNING. Once the jumper is properly connected, the control module will enter the diagnostic program and report trouble codes on the scan too or by flashing the SES/check engine light.

All codes are 2 digits between 12 and 82. Codes are displayed on the CHECK ENGINE or SERVICE ENGINE SOON light by flashing the MIL with short and long pauses to distinguish digits of 1 from digits of another.The short pause is used between digits of the same code, long pauses are between codes. For Code 12, the sequence will be: flash, pause, flash-flash, long pause

1. When the diagnostic mode is entered, Code 12 is displayed 3 times. This indicates that the internal diagnostic is operating. If Code 12 is not displayed, the self-diagnostic program is not functioning properly. If no systems malfunctions have been stored, Code 12 will continue to repeat.

On many applications, entering dignostic mode will cause solenoids and relays to activate. Pulse-width modulated solenoids may be rapidly energized and de-engergized, causing a clicking noise. Do not be startled by or concerned with this underhood noise during self-diagnosis code display.

2. After code 12 flashes to indicate diagnostic display, any existing system fault codes are displayed in order from lowest to highest code number. Each code is displayed 3 times, followed by the next code if any.

3. When all codes have been displayed, Code 12 will flash again.


<<<<pics coming in a few minutes as soon as I get off the phone with my wife, if ya'll want this a sticky request it>>>>

Last edited by neo71665; 03-14-2008 at 09:42 PM.
Old 03-14-2008, 09:44 PM   #2
4x4 v6 blazer
 
neo71665's Avatar
 
Age: 34
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7,507
Location: rison arkansas
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

Look here for the codes and what they meanhttp://www.autozone.com/az/cds/en_us...rInfoPages.htm
Old 03-14-2008, 10:21 PM   #3
4x4 v6 blazer
 
neo71665's Avatar
 
Age: 34
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7,507
Location: rison arkansas
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

This is a pic of the cheap-o scan tool I have (Had it for years but it was around 20 bucks), a chiltons book which I highly suggest getting if your gonna work on your own truck (also around $20), and I'm using a piece of 14 gauge copper wire to show you how to jump the diagnostic port out (I'm an electrician so I have it laying around but a paper clip is what is normally suggested).
Here are 2 pics of where you need to put the jumper wire if you don't have a scan tool.


Old 03-14-2008, 11:46 PM   #4
Mr. Clean
 
EYEROCK89's Avatar
 
Age: 36
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 828
Location: Birmingham, AL
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

Nice article. I'm sure by the end of the weekend though, we'll still have two or three new threads about how to pull an SES code.
Old 03-18-2008, 02:11 AM   #5
Forum Dictator
 
What?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 19,899
Location: Hell
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

done, if there's anything else, PM me for make more sticky, threads into one, etc, anything else relating the topic
Old 03-18-2008, 07:09 PM   #6
4x4 v6 blazer
 
neo71665's Avatar
 
Age: 34
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7,507
Location: rison arkansas
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

Thanks
Old 05-07-2008, 10:47 AM   #7
Registered User
 
quinrugger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 60
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

Does this work for OBD-II? I was under the impression this method only worked on OBD-I.
Old 05-07-2008, 06:14 PM   #8
4x4 v6 blazer
 
neo71665's Avatar
 
Age: 34
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7,507
Location: rison arkansas
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

OBD1 was all the first gens had and since this is in the 60 degree v6 section, which was only offered in first gens.

For obd 2 first I suggest asking in the right section but you have to have a code reader.
Old 05-11-2008, 06:49 PM   #9
the crush velvet man
 
anotherbaggeds10's Avatar
 
Age: 31
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 222
Location: mi
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

you can also use a paper clip and bend it to go into those same spaces. done this many times and works great
Old 05-11-2008, 11:32 PM   #10
4x4 v6 blazer
 
neo71665's Avatar
 
Age: 34
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7,507
Location: rison arkansas
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

Quote: Originally Posted by neo71665
(I'm an electrician so I have it laying around but a paper clip is what is normally suggested).
Quote: Originally Posted by anotherbaggeds10
you can also use a paper clip and bend it to go into those same spaces. done this many times and works great
Thanks??
Old 12-19-2008, 09:07 PM   #11
Registered User
 
Mattpyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 877
Location: Lacey, Wa.
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

Do these trucks store the fault codes (ie will past fault codes that have not been cleared show up)? or do you have to check them when the light is on?


fwiw the vehicle i'm working on is a 2.8 fuel injected model.
Old 12-20-2008, 11:11 AM   #12
4x4 v6 blazer
 
neo71665's Avatar
 
Age: 34
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7,507
Location: rison arkansas
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

Might wanna search next time.
http://www.s10forum.com/forum/f106/c...-light-379245/
Old 12-20-2008, 03:47 PM   #13
Registered User
 
Mattpyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 877
Location: Lacey, Wa.
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

Thanks. Just thought it'd be some good info to have in this post anyways.
Old 03-16-2009, 06:28 AM   #14
Registered User
 
Age: 32
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Location: Croatia
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

I tried reading the codes but my check engine and ses lights don't work, which fuse is responsible for those lights? My cig-lighter and horn don't work also-is it the same fuse?

Thanks
Old 03-17-2009, 12:17 AM   #15
4x4 v6 blazer
 
neo71665's Avatar
 
Age: 34
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7,507
Location: rison arkansas
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

don't trash up a sticky with questions, search then start a thread.
Old 05-27-2009, 11:30 PM   #16
plays with trains
 
tsayyote's Avatar

 
Age: 28
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,680
Location: Yorba Linda, Ca
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

autozone link no worky anymore.
Old 12-31-2009, 12:08 AM   #17
FFAMatt
 
FFAMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 143
Location: Central Missouri
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

Neo could you repost the autozone link? it ain't working anymore
Old 06-02-2010, 06:21 PM   #18
Registered User
 
Age: 21
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 9
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

Need a link to the engine codes, autozone one doesn't work anymore.

I just need to know what codes 32 and 44 are.
Old 06-02-2010, 10:24 PM   #19
Registered User
 
34blazer's Avatar
 
Age: 31
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,053
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

Quote: Originally Posted by nick88
Need a link to the engine codes, autozone one doesn't work anymore.

I just need to know what codes 32 and 44 are.
32=sticky EGR valve

44= O2 is lean

solution= clean your EGR valve
Old 06-02-2010, 10:31 PM   #20
Registered User
 
34blazer's Avatar
 
Age: 31
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,053
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

all the error codes from WINALDL
Attached Thumbnails
How to pull your SES or check engine light codes-winaldlerrorcodes.jpg  
Old 10-09-2010, 04:15 PM   #21
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

I have a 1998 that keep giving me a a stupid p401 code- there is a new egr -egr tube to the manifoid. I just took a guy who has a emission shop and it keeps on saying its not ready to do the test. and then I get the code. Any ideas??
Old 10-09-2010, 05:12 PM   #22
Mr. SQ
 
bobditts's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,302
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

Quote: Originally Posted by itsoez2
I have a 1998 that keep giving me a a stupid p401 code- there is a new egr -egr tube to the manifoid. I just took a guy who has a emission shop and it keeps on saying its not ready to do the test. and then I get the code. Any ideas??
I highly doubt you have a 2.8L from 1998
Old 05-18-2011, 11:48 AM   #23
Registered User
 
Age: 35
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 296
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

Any idea of what would cause a code 15 - coolant temperature low?
Old 05-19-2011, 12:33 AM   #24
86' S-10
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 899
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

A stuck open thermostat most likely. If that is not it, the only other thing I can think of is a bad coolant temperature sensor...

HTH...
Old 05-22-2011, 09:32 AM   #25
Registered User
 
Age: 35
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 296
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

It was the coolant temp sensor. I figure it wasn't the thermostat, because the temp would go up and down while driving which means the thermostat was opening and closing. This $11 sensor was causing random high idles, and hard starts when warm but sitting for enough time to run into and out of a store.
Old 05-23-2011, 11:56 PM   #26
86' S-10
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 899
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

Good job figuring it out
Old 05-26-2011, 07:08 PM   #27
Registered User
 
Age: 35
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 296
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

Thanks. What is weird though, is I cleared the code, and my truck runs so much better, like no real problems better, yet I am still getting the same code. I wonder if someone installed a different temp thermostat, and it is causing the problem. I will probably change it out on Memorial day just in case.
Old 02-07-2012, 02:36 AM   #28
Registered User
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes



There are many auto repair shops and auto parts stores that offer a Free Check Engine Light Check or Free Check Engine Light Diagnosis. I personally don't view these offers as scams, but see them more like an opportunity. What these auto facilities will do for free is pull the Check Engine Light Code from the computer in your car. What they will not do is diagnose the problem with your vehicle. When a code is pulled from your car's computer, it gives a pretty general idea of what the problem is. The purpose of this code is the give a technician or a mechanic a place to start with their diagnosis. This helps prevent just guessing, and ultimately replacing parts that don't need to be replaced.
Old 04-23-2012, 10:20 PM   #29
lonemeno
 
lonemeno's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 62
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

i have a 42 est how would i go around fixing that i did some timeing when i have the plug under the dash unplugged and set the timing to ten re plugged i drove around and the code came on
Old 04-25-2012, 12:54 AM   #30
4x4 v6 blazer
 
neo71665's Avatar
 
Age: 34
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7,507
Location: rison arkansas
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

Clear the code and see if it comes back. If it does its the black square thing on the firewall above the dizzy (est) you have to replace. Sometimes when you redo the timing it will still trigger a code for that even if its fine.
Old 04-26-2012, 12:26 AM   #31
lonemeno
 
lonemeno's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 62
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

i messed with the wires before work and then turned on the truck and it never came back on since but i know for a fact ever thing was connected so it was one of those freak kind of things
Old 08-16-2014, 12:49 PM   #32
Registered User
 
RainH2o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 49
Location: Houston
User is: Online
Re: How to pull your SES or check engine light codes

I am trying to figure out a bad running s-10 blazer 2.8 TBI When I short across the terminals A and B on OBD plug I get no response from CEL it just stays on the whole time no flashing. Is it possible that ECM is bad even though the engine runs (very badly I might add)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:03 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
SEO by vBSEO
vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.