Fuel gauge not working - S-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 34 Old 09-26-2011, 03:25 AM Thread Starter
97 long bed w/ 5/7 drop
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bay area
Posts: 22

User is: Mikey R6 is offline
Fuel gauge not working

Hey guys so I have a problem with my fuel gauge. It only reads full at first I thought it was a stuck float and thought it had to fall down one day. Well here I am 6 months later and still a fuel gauge stuck at full. I called the auto parts store they said it's my fuel sending unit and I'm looking at $400. So any ideas on what to do? This thing is dipping into my lowering money. Thanks

Mikey R6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 34 Old 09-26-2011, 04:46 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tualatin, OR
Age: 26
Posts: 38

User is: zahmin89 is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

You may just have a wiring problem... If there is a short in the wiring and that gauge is being fed power at all times with the key on it will stay at full regardless of the actual contents of the tank or position of the float. Get a wiring diagram and test the signal wire at the tank and then at the back of the gauge if you can before spending zillions on a new sender...

THUMPER
'85 S10 Tahoe
2.8l, 4 speed auto trans
California emissions
zahmin89 is offline  
post #3 of 34 Old 09-26-2011, 03:02 PM Thread Starter
97 long bed w/ 5/7 drop
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bay area
Posts: 22

User is: Mikey R6 is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

Thanks for the info I'll take a look
Mikey R6 is offline  
post #4 of 34 Old 09-26-2011, 04:06 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Everett, WA
Posts: 287

User is: FaceLoran is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

Rock auto would be a better choice if you do need to replace the sending unit. Its about $200 cheaper.
FaceLoran is offline  
post #5 of 34 Old 09-27-2011, 08:16 AM
Registered User
 
Skutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Vancouver, Wa
Posts: 72

User is: Skutt is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

Before you spend that money drop the gas tank and check the wiring inside the tank to the sending unit. Another thing you can do is what I do. When I put in a new fuel pump I also put in the new gauge wiring harness but the gauge is like yours since. Always on full. I think I screwed it up myself but I don't want to pull the tank again so I just live with it that way. I always carry two gallons of gas with me and fill up when I get gas. Each time I fill up I set the trip odometer and I know I can go about 320 miles or slightly more on a fill up. I have no problem doing it this way although that is a bit redneck. Just never be without a can of gas in the back, nobody has ever stolen my can of gas either, I'm a little surprised with that. Been driving for over two years with it like that. When I put a new bed on the truck, the old one has a rust problem then I will pull the pump and gauge sending unit and fix it.

Another thing, if you carry gas with you never and I mean NEVER carry it inside the cab with you. Better to let someone steal it than have it inside during an accident.

Age and treachery win over youth and skill every time!
Skutt is offline  
post #6 of 34 Old 09-28-2011, 05:56 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Age: 24
Posts: 288

User is: michanic220 is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

they cant just tell you 'its your sending unit' without even diagnosing the problem. it could be something as minor as a wire clipped somewhere. mine didnt work on the truck when i got it. and since my whole gauge cluster is electronic i pulled it out because alot of my gauges didnt work.. turns out the windshield leaks and water got on the wire tape on the back of the gauges and the copper croaded/melted in two. im pretty sure if you have a open sending wire it will make it read full, then if you connect it to ground it should go to empty.
michanic220 is offline  
post #7 of 34 Old 09-28-2011, 06:02 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Age: 24
Posts: 288

User is: michanic220 is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

another thing.. theres a plug ontop of the sending unit.. unsure of your year.. mines a 93 and i can get to it and unplug it. if you can unplug it (one should be for the pump and the other should be the sending unit. these are both positive that run through the pump and sending unit then to ground. if you can figure which wire is which you can ground that gauge wire.. if your gauge goes to empty then you know its in the tank/sending unit. if nothing changes it from that wire forwards.
michanic220 is offline  
post #8 of 34 Old 10-05-2011, 12:46 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 29

User is: swarn2racing is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

my fuel gauge didnt work wen i bot my s10 the first thing i did was replace the gauge cluster and it wrks now i got mine from junk yard for 10 bucks
swarn2racing is offline  
post #9 of 34 Old 10-22-2011, 05:20 AM Thread Starter
97 long bed w/ 5/7 drop
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bay area
Posts: 22

User is: Mikey R6 is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

Thanks I haven't been to worried about the cluster since a buddy and I are getting ready to swap out my interior for the 2002. And I'll give it a shot to unplug it and see what happens. Thanks for the help guys
Mikey R6 is offline  
post #10 of 34 Old 10-22-2011, 05:31 AM
Ford guy stuck w/ chebby
 
n8rsk8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: tWilightZone
Posts: 3,117

User is: n8rsk8r is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

mine is the same way. I am sick of this truck. It used to be a little wonky. now it is full-on fecked. Keep updating the thread. Hopefully you find out the issue.. and help a brother out.

-Nathan

1999 2WD Automatic S10 standard cab.

I have nearly rebuilt this damn truck 100%!!
n8rsk8r is offline  
post #11 of 34 Old 10-23-2011, 03:48 AM Thread Starter
97 long bed w/ 5/7 drop
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bay area
Posts: 22

User is: Mikey R6 is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

Will a 2002 4.3L 4wd non vortec fuel pump work in my 1997 2wd 4.3L vortec motor?
Mikey R6 is offline  
post #12 of 34 Old 10-27-2011, 11:26 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Age: 24
Posts: 288

User is: michanic220 is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

IMHO, buying a used fuel pump is asking for trouble.
when i do mine, ill do it once. the first time, and get it over with.
you can buy just the pump, and put it on your bracket assembly.
if ur wanting to fix the gauge and then sending unit is bad, then
you'd be lookin for something like this

http://www.ebay.com/itm/97-02-Chevy-...#ht_1822wt_949
michanic220 is offline  
post #13 of 34 Old 10-27-2011, 11:35 PM
Registered Hoosier
 
Hoosier Rick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Frankton, Indiana
Age: 58
Posts: 3,619

User is: Hoosier Rick is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

If the level sensor is bad, you might be able to replace the sensor by itself without replacing the whole tank unit.

1992 rcsb 4.3,at 357,000 miles.
2000 Jimmy 4x4 4dr. 252,000 miles
2002 rcsb, 2.2 at, 253,000 miles
1967 C10
Hoosier Rick is offline  
post #14 of 34 Old 10-27-2011, 11:48 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Age: 24
Posts: 288

User is: michanic220 is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-FUEL-LEV...#ht_2286wt_881

$60 on the whole assembly is a steal, mines $277 for my 93 =[
michanic220 is offline  
post #15 of 34 Old 10-28-2011, 02:56 AM Thread Starter
97 long bed w/ 5/7 drop
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bay area
Posts: 22

User is: Mikey R6 is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

for $65 bucks how long do you think it will last. I saw that same item but thought for 65 bucks somethings gotta go wrong with it.
Mikey R6 is offline  
post #16 of 34 Old 10-28-2011, 03:17 AM
Registered User
 
bagddime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: tucson az
Posts: 1,325

User is: bagddime is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

my friend has a 97 and he had the same problem. replaced the sending unit, fuel pump, wiring... the whole nine yards. turned out to be a chip under the dash in a box on the wiring. not sure what its called but i happened to have an extra one and his problem is solved

im not fat... im a minitrucker
bagddime is offline  
post #17 of 34 Old 10-28-2011, 11:00 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Age: 24
Posts: 288

User is: michanic220 is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

like i posted above, if you unplug the gauge lead at the tank and ground it, it should go to empty. if it does not, the problem is from that wire up to the gauge. if it does go to empty then its from that wire back to the sending unit. simple 2 minute test. make sure the grounds are good though so you dont get thrown for a loop.
michanic220 is offline  
post #18 of 34 Old 10-29-2011, 01:48 AM Thread Starter
97 long bed w/ 5/7 drop
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bay area
Posts: 22

User is: Mikey R6 is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

Sounds good then when I pull the bed to do my leafs and put in the C notch I'll check that out. Thanks for all the help I'll let you know
Mikey R6 is offline  
post #19 of 34 Old 10-29-2011, 11:54 PM
Ford guy stuck w/ chebby
 
n8rsk8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: tWilightZone
Posts: 3,117

User is: n8rsk8r is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

someone post pics of this. I am not sure i understand what you are saying..

1999 2WD Automatic S10 standard cab.

I have nearly rebuilt this damn truck 100%!!
n8rsk8r is offline  
post #20 of 34 Old 10-31-2011, 03:30 AM Thread Starter
97 long bed w/ 5/7 drop
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bay area
Posts: 22

User is: Mikey R6 is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

It's gonna take me about 3 weeks before I do it. I just ordered my 5" drop for the front and next week imma pick up my 3" leafs for the rear to pair with my 4" blocks. So as fast as the suspension source can ge me the kit is as fast as I can get the pics. I see what your saying Michanic and I'll check that soon as I get the bed off.
Mikey R6 is offline  
post #21 of 34 Old 10-31-2011, 10:51 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Age: 24
Posts: 288

User is: michanic220 is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

@ n8rsk8r, my truck is a 93, it has a side sadle gas tank on it. i can access the plug from the side of my driver side wheel well. its a little black plug. there are two of them, one for the fuel gauge and one for the fuel pump. the fuel pump will have power going to it. so take out the fuel pump relay or the fuel pump fuse to keep from popping the fuse. then ground the fuel gauge wire going into the cab (or to the front of the vehicle). make sure your grounding it to a good surface. you grounding it should make the gauge read empty when grounded.
michanic220 is offline  
post #22 of 34 Old 10-31-2011, 03:04 PM
Ford guy stuck w/ chebby
 
n8rsk8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: tWilightZone
Posts: 3,117

User is: n8rsk8r is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

I am going to go through checking all the connections and also grounds. Something I have been needing to do for some time. I did get to alot of the grounds when I did the last bit of work to the truck (trans out and back in). I am thinking there is corrosion at the wires for the fuel pump.s Thanks, I will try to see if it is the same for 98+.

1999 2WD Automatic S10 standard cab.

I have nearly rebuilt this damn truck 100%!!
n8rsk8r is offline  
post #23 of 34 Old 11-01-2011, 02:20 AM Thread Starter
97 long bed w/ 5/7 drop
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bay area
Posts: 22

User is: Mikey R6 is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

Yah my fuel pump/sending unit is right under my bed so there's no way I can get to it without the bed being off.
Mikey R6 is offline  
post #24 of 34 Old 11-03-2011, 12:01 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Age: 24
Posts: 288

User is: michanic220 is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

i've read alot on these trucks that its easier to pull the bed then it is to drop the tank..
michanic220 is offline  
post #25 of 34 Old 11-03-2011, 01:26 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Age: 28
Posts: 27

User is: yzrmbsg is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

Hey guys, first post, just bought an 89 Black Standard Cab 5 Speed S15 2.5l Vin E last week. Not sure how many prior owners on it, but apparently the guy who owned it previous to the guy I bought it from, swapped out the gas tank for a 20gal one. Fuel gauge has not worked since. Fuel gauge reads empty no matter what.

I am planning on pulling the bed tomorrow and seeing if i can track down the issue (or do I even need to?) Where should I start? The dash? the tank?

Another quiestion is, I'm not sure what size tank this truck came with to begin with... but if he reused the fuel pump assembly in the larger tank, could that be a part of the issue? If that's even possible?

And another question, does anyone know if I have a low fuel "dummy" light? If so it's not working, anyone have a picture of that particular dash with all the dummy lights lit? Not sure if I have blinker lights either, I have the left and right blinker "tick-tick-tick" but no lights flashing.... any help is appreciated!
yzrmbsg is offline  
post #26 of 34 Old 11-03-2011, 02:02 AM
Registered User
 
zeek624@yahoo.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: joanna sc
Posts: 34

User is: zeek624@yahoo.com is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

check the ground wire next to ur tank mine did the same and it was my ground wire
zeek624@yahoo.com is offline  
post #27 of 34 Old 11-03-2011, 02:53 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Age: 28
Posts: 27

User is: yzrmbsg is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeek624@yahoo.com View Post
check the ground wire next to ur tank mine did the same and it was my ground wire
yours read empty no matter what you did? tank full or empty? (just want to make sure as all the other fuel gauge issue threads I have read, their gauges were reading all the ranges above empty)

Where exactly is this notorious ground wire you and others speak of? Is it black like most ground wires are? When I was under it trying to track an oil leak the other day, I saw what looked to be a pinkish colored wire coming from the tank area up towards the cab...could that possibly be my sending unit +?
yzrmbsg is offline  
post #28 of 34 Old 11-04-2011, 04:01 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Age: 28
Posts: 27

User is: yzrmbsg is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

Found the ground wire, it's nice and solid, located just in front of the drivers side rear tire, on top of the frame rail. I really wish this damn fuel gauge would just work.
yzrmbsg is offline  
post #29 of 34 Old 11-09-2011, 03:02 AM Thread Starter
97 long bed w/ 5/7 drop
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bay area
Posts: 22

User is: Mikey R6 is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

Yah so I ended up picking up a new fuel pump from a guy on craigslist it worked out cuz I also got his center console because I'm pulling my bench out for 2 buckets and a console. I also am swapping my interior out from my 97 to a 03 including the cluster that's gonna be the fun part!! So I shouldn't have any more gauge issues unless something was wrong with my wiring. Cant wait let the fun begin.
Mikey R6 is offline  
post #30 of 34 Old 06-17-2013, 06:12 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1

User is: superv8s10 is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

my problem is different my shows empty all the time even when it is full. Also put a new fuel pump and sending unit still reading empty. The truck is a 98 extended cab. I also put a instrument cluster into the truck because my had a error on it.
superv8s10 is offline  
post #31 of 34 Old 06-18-2013, 03:07 PM
Registered User
 
Compression_M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: PA
Posts: 25

User is: Compression_M is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

check the wiring
Compression_M is offline  
post #32 of 34 Old 06-20-2013, 04:28 AM
Registered User
 
sammy-10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Conway, Arkansas
Age: 26
Posts: 15

User is: sammy-10 is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working

I have a similar problem as well, mine doesn't read full or empty all the time. But it is off. When the tank is full it's WAY over the full mark on the gauge, and when it's empty it shows still a quarter tank or so on the gauge. Not quite sure what the deal is, I just put a new pump on it a few months ago and just put on a new tank. Could it just be an issue with the gauge? Or is it something like a bad wire somewhere?

'82 S-10 Tahoe (my slow metal death trap)
100% original....for now
Single Cab LWB
sammy-10 is offline  
post #33 of 34 Old 01-20-2015, 02:04 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2

User is: bradbooth is offline
Re: Fuel gauge not working gos to full to empty when i tap on the gauge it gos back t

my gauge gos from full to empty if i tap on the gauge it gos back to full. is it a ground or wiring problem.
bradbooth is offline  
post #34 of 34 Old 01-22-2015, 08:18 PM
4 Year Intermediate Tech
 
greasemonkeys10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: mountain home arkansas
Age: 25
Posts: 1,805

User is: greasemonkeys10 is offline
IMO cheap fuel pump assemblies and cheap fuel sensors cause this as well as a worn out rheostat on the sensor. Just changed mine in the 95 and got the delphi HP70001 fuel pump assembly for 190$ from rockauto. When I originally thought I had a quarter tank I have removed the 8 bed bolts and pulled the pump. Turned out to be the ac Delco original hanger and pump which had 280,000 miles. The rheostat in the fuel sender looked burnt and the strainer on the bottom had rubbed a huge hole in itself. After replacement I realized I didn't have a quarter tank but it was on the last red line before the letter E. Mine went way over to the letter Feb fore replacement when I filled it. Probably time for a new one. Now starts like a dream.

Last edited by greasemonkeys10; 01-22-2015 at 08:19 PM.
greasemonkeys10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome