Where does this vacuum line go? - S-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 07-31-2011, 11:00 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
slick203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Texas
Age: 34
Posts: 302

User is: slick203 is offline
Where does this vacuum line go?

Trying to find whhat component (s) this vacuum tee feeds into? One side is currently tee'd into the throttle body... the other remains a mystery



slick203 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 07-31-2011, 11:19 PM
always something new
 
S10dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sacramento,Ca.
Age: 63
Posts: 53,981

User is: S10dude is offline
Re: Where does this vacuum line go?

...............to the vaccuum accumulator located in drivers fender just behind ABS unit . good luck finding it and re-attaching it

All truck pics
http://s93.photobucket.com/user/sdim...?sort=3&page=1.........


Marc .........."01" ExCab 2.2 - 5sp ......On Air......
.......... 2014 Harley Street Glide Special
S10dude is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 07-31-2011, 11:23 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Age: 23
Posts: 55

User is: dan33klein is offline
Re: Where does this vacuum line go?

Is that accumulator required? Or can you just plug the line?
dan33klein is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 07-31-2011, 11:45 PM
Registered User
 
metalhdmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: greenville, s.c.
Age: 33
Posts: 784

User is: metalhdmatt is offline
Garage
Re: Where does this vacuum line go?

yeah... id like to know this Q: as well.. lol, i looked for ****ing days for this, had no idea there was something in the fender so i just plugged it... lol what does it do and does it need to be put back in???
metalhdmatt is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 08-01-2011, 12:08 PM
Pony's got a nice rear
 
ratrace2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Somerset, NJ
Posts: 961

User is: ratrace2 is offline
Re: Where does this vacuum line go?

Quote:
Originally Posted by slick203 View Post
Trying to find whhat component (s) this vacuum tee feeds into? One side is currently tee'd into the throttle body... the other remains a mystery

S10DUDE is correct.

The vacum acumulator allows the cooling vents--vacum activated--to work properly by supply a reserve supply of vacuum when the engine has a "low" vacum state.

Older S10 vacuum reserves were like a "ball" and hung from the underside of the hood.


TO RE-ATTACH:
It's realy simple, the vacum accumulator is bolted to the drivers side (left) fender just behind the ABS--like S10DUDE said--and, it is bolted flush with the fender on the inside. SO, just feel around for the "nipple"
and push the vacum hose back on......


Damn. That is Loud !!

ratrace2 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 08-01-2011, 01:06 PM
iLongboard
 
insaneredrooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 224

User is: insaneredrooster is offline
Mine is very exposed

The collision center just left it there after they repaired my fender.
Just thought I'd throw in a pic of what it looks like...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAutoguide1312218264.022776.jpg
Views:	167
Size:	46.7 KB
ID:	118688  

INSANEREDROOSTER
insaneredrooster is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 08-01-2011, 06:18 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Age: 23
Posts: 55

User is: dan33klein is offline
Re: Where does this vacuum line go?

Does plugging the line hurt the engine any performance wise
dan33klein is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 08-02-2011, 03:20 PM
Registered User
 
BEAVER50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: KENTUCKY
Age: 48
Posts: 421

User is: BEAVER50 is offline
Re: Where does this vacuum line go?

I plugged mine a couple months back.It didnt hurt a thing.It helped my A/C controls.Like was said it for the controls.the older ones had the ball.Go ahead and and plug it wont hurt nothing.

BEAVER!!!
BEAVER50 is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 08-03-2011, 12:09 AM
Tech Mod
 
beandip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: South, OK
Age: 28
Posts: 30,537

User is: beandip is offline
Re: Where does this vacuum line go?

Dont plug it up, just connect it.




-Jonathan



2000 Sonoma Extended cab 2.2L 5 Speed with Hurst short throw shifter, 3/4 Drop on staggered gray boss 338 18s, Flowmaster original 40 series.
My Project thread--->http://www.s10forum.com/forum/f30/pr...driver-361848/

{PROJECT ZR2} 2000 S10 ZR2 181,XXX miles, 31x10.5 BFG KM2 MT on 15" Pro Comp 152s, Iron front diff, 1.5" T-bar crank & custom bumpers & shackles, + more
http://www.s10forum.com/forum/f30/be...ct-zr2-485836/

1992 GMC Jimmy - Project Daily Beater Status/Ordinary beater
http://www.s10forum.com/forum/f30/da...status-520683/

2009 Harley Nightrain

2008 Silverado 2500- "the usual" done to it.
beandip is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 08-05-2011, 08:08 PM
Registered Un-dependent
 
Mechnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,060

User is: Mechnix is offline
Re: Where does this vacuum line go?

If it didn't do something worthwhile why would they put it on there?

Mine became disconnected and my air controls wouldn't work, I was happy to just put it back!
Mechnix is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 10-03-2011, 02:45 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK
Age: 28
Posts: 22

User is: motobruce is offline
Re: Where does this vacuum line go?

I bought my 99 s10 5 days ago and it has a few problems so while nosing around i found that where this pipe connects to the throttle body it had broken so i have replaced the whole pipe and the two from the T valve.

I now know the connector on the inner wing is for the vacum accumulator but what does the other pipe that goes in to cab with the wiring loom do?

Thanks, Dan.
motobruce is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 10-03-2011, 03:06 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Southern California
Age: 60
Posts: 774

User is: nstoolman1 is offline
Re: Where does this vacuum line go?

Quote:
Originally Posted by motobruce View Post
I bought my 99 s10 5 days ago and it has a few problems so while nosing around i found that where this pipe connects to the throttle body it had broken so i have replaced the whole pipe and the two from the T valve.

I now know the connector on the inner wing is for the vacum accumulator but what does the other pipe that goes in to cab with the wiring loom do?

Thanks, Dan.
It is the supply line for the Heating/cooling system inside of the cab.
nstoolman1 is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 10-03-2011, 05:06 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK
Age: 28
Posts: 22

User is: motobruce is offline
Re: Where does this vacuum line go?

Thank you, Will get my Aircon regassed and see how it works now ive repaired the vacuum pipe..
motobruce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome