No high speed fan - S-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 08-16-2006, 05:24 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 14

User is: sparkyspider is offline
No high speed fan

I have no hi speed blower motor. I have replaced the fan switch, the blower relay,and still have ni High speed, on a/c or vent or anything. Anyone else had this problem?

sparkyspider is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 07-16-2007, 09:41 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Age: 34
Posts: 84

User is: Clean96Noma is offline
Send a message via AIM to Clean96Noma
Re: No high speed fan

I have this exact same problem. I replaced the blower motor resistor inside the housing ($10 for an AC Delco brand new part), also replaced blower motor, blower motor relays, and the HVAC control unit all with brand new AC Delco parts, still didn't figure out how to fix it...
Clean96Noma is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 12-28-2009, 01:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NE Arkansas
Posts: 2,116

User is: V8S15Jimmy is offline
Re: No high speed fan

same problem, on the 2000 S10 which wire(s) control the high setting? I'm getting low (somewhat) but no high fan.

I know the lower settings go though the resistor and I changed the relay. Another thing I noticed was lack of 12 volts at the plug when set on "high"

The HVAC fuses in the dash panel are good

Help!
V8S15Jimmy is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 12-30-2009, 08:51 AM
4 wheels aren't as fun
 
serpentracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Age: 40
Posts: 1,954

User is: serpentracer is offline
Re: No high speed fan

our 2006 chevy work truck was doing that and it was the plug/wires from the motor to the control.
for that truck it was a service bulletin. they gave us a new plug with heavier wires and connectors and now it works.
but ours was a plug inside the truck to the heater box. didn't even have to take anything off the dash to fix.
I would bet you guys have the same problem.

http://www.motorcity1.com/TSB_Heater.htm

02 sonoma 4.3L auto
97 sonoma 2.2L manual

Last edited by serpentracer; 12-30-2009 at 08:54 AM.
serpentracer is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 03-21-2011, 10:34 PM
Registered User
 
code_red63366's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dardenne Prairie
Posts: 617

User is: code_red63366 is offline
Re: No high speed fan

I know this article is old, but I have had the very same issue now forever. I have replaced the blower motor, Hvac control module on the HVAC housing under the hood and today I replaced the blower switch on the dash, yet still cant get number 4 speed to work. Sometimes it does pop on and work and other times it wont. Where abouts is this hush panel/close out panel located . I have a 2001 S10 2.2 litre.
code_red63366 is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 03-22-2011, 12:46 AM
m m m myyyyy sonoma
 
eyeofthetiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Age: 33
Posts: 193

User is: eyeofthetiger is offline
Re: No high speed fan

Sometimes my high fan speed starts working if I pound my fist on the dash, but it usually stops the next time I go over a bump. Oh, well.

#20: 1996 GMC Sonoma 2wd xtendocab 2200cc 4L60E
modz: Powertrax Lock-Right, kthxbai.
eyeofthetiger is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 03-22-2011, 09:04 AM
Registered User
 
code_red63366's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dardenne Prairie
Posts: 617

User is: code_red63366 is offline
Re: No high speed fan

Samething here eyeofthetiger. It comes on at odd times and not when you wan it to come on, im thinking its a bad ground or short in the wire. Myabe a factory issue?
code_red63366 is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 03-22-2011, 03:08 PM
Registered User
 
SunnyDeez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 23

User is: SunnyDeez is offline
Re: No high speed fan

You know I had a similar issue. My fan would only blow on low and would stop working altogether at times. And if I turned my heat on and off real fast my abs and brake light would flash...

Anyway it turned out to be my ignition switch (by ignition switch I mean the cluster of wires attached to the ignition). I looked closely and the plastic was slightly melted by the contacts and they were corroded. Swapped out the ignition switch and the fan worked perfectly on all settings. It also got rid of the flashing lights. Its been over 6 months and its still running great.

I've read up on it and it seems bad ignition switches can cause some strange electrical problems with stuff like blower motors and electric windows in s10's. That might be your problem.
SunnyDeez is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 03-22-2011, 09:31 PM
Registered User
 
code_red63366's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dardenne Prairie
Posts: 617

User is: code_red63366 is offline
Re: No high speed fan

Quote:
Originally Posted by SunnyDeez View Post
You know I had a similar issue. My fan would only blow on low and would stop working altogether at times. And if I turned my heat on and off real fast my abs and brake light would flash...

Anyway it turned out to be my ignition switch (by ignition switch I mean the cluster of wires attached to the ignition). I looked closely and the plastic was slightly melted by the contacts and they were corroded. Swapped out the ignition switch and the fan worked perfectly on all settings. It also got rid of the flashing lights. Its been over 6 months and its still running great.

I've read up on it and it seems bad ignition switches can cause some strange electrical problems with stuff like blower motors and electric windows in s10's. That might be your problem.
Yes i was reading about this also in another post, I guess it would be worth a shot at looking at it. I hate chasing down electrical gremlins. This morning when i got onto the on ramp for highway 70, I hah forgotten i had the blower switch set on number 4, well when i hit the gas to speed up, it came on, but wasnt working before??? Im trying to make note of when it does come on and what was done when it came on, in hopes to track it down to the problem.
code_red63366 is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 03-22-2011, 09:33 PM
Registered User
 
code_red63366's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dardenne Prairie
Posts: 617

User is: code_red63366 is offline
Re: No high speed fan

Oh sunny, question, when you replace your ignition switch can you use your old key or do you have a new one you have to use? I know this is probably a dumb question, but the way the make cars now and days, I never know what to expect.
code_red63366 is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 03-23-2011, 11:57 AM
Registered User
 
SunnyDeez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 23

User is: SunnyDeez is offline
Re: No high speed fan

You dont need a new ignition. Its easy to swap. Just drop the steering wheel and its cake.

Heres a link to the part on ebay. They have cheaper versions, but ACdelco is always the way to go:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ACDEL...Q5fAccessories
SunnyDeez is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 03-23-2011, 09:02 PM
Registered User
 
code_red63366's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dardenne Prairie
Posts: 617

User is: code_red63366 is offline
Re: No high speed fan

Thanks for the info!
code_red63366 is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 01-19-2015, 04:50 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1

User is: xrayd is offline
Re: No high speed fan

Only when the fan speed switch is set to the highest setting the blower motor relay is pulled in. A separate +12v source then flows through this relay and supplies voltage to the blower motor. This separate +12v source is fed from a 30amp (green) green fuse in the 'Underhood Fuse Block'. Look for a blown 30 amp fuse under the hood, and not in the cabin. Replaced mine and FIXED!
xrayd is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 03-01-2015, 12:03 PM
Registered User
 
code_red63366's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dardenne Prairie
Posts: 617

User is: code_red63366 is offline
Re: No high speed fan

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrayd View Post
Only when the fan speed switch is set to the highest setting the blower motor relay is pulled in. A separate +12v source then flows through this relay and supplies voltage to the blower motor. This separate +12v source is fed from a 30amp (green) green fuse in the 'Underhood Fuse Block'. Look for a blown 30 amp fuse under the hood, and not in the cabin. Replaced mine and FIXED!
Thanks for the reply. I did check that..the fuse was good. It ended up being the relay for the circuit. It kept melting the wiring and relay. Changed out the wiring and connector and then got a relay from Orielly's with a lifetime waranty. Now when it ruins the relay , i simply take it back and have it replaced for free till i can track down the source of the issue. I have yet to change the blower resistor on it so this will be my next task.It worked fine till about a couple months ago and now it only blows slow on 3 and 4 with hardly anything coming out on 1 and 2. I am guessing the resistor on an 01 2.2 base is under the hood on the hvac housing near the firewall. I will try and give it a go today, weather permitting.

Mike...... 2001 S10 2.2, Flex fuel, 5 speed, base model, all stock
2nd vehicle.......2003 Ford Excursion, 5.4, gas, 4 wheel drive, all stock
code_red63366 is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 03-01-2015, 06:56 PM
Registered User
 
code_red63366's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dardenne Prairie
Posts: 617

User is: code_red63366 is offline
Re: No high speed fan

Ok.. So I replaced the blower motor resistor and it did not solve my problem. After a little more research I found that my issue was not electrical yet it was a simple vacuum hose under the hood near the abs unit and master cylinder. The hose was dry rotted. I replaced it with a new hose and the vent control selector issue is now cured. All is normal once again....for now

Mike...... 2001 S10 2.2, Flex fuel, 5 speed, base model, all stock
2nd vehicle.......2003 Ford Excursion, 5.4, gas, 4 wheel drive, all stock
code_red63366 is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 07-16-2015, 10:58 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 13

User is: Dalz102 is offline
Re: No high speed fan

Hey codered,
What's the part number on that O'Reilly warranted part?
Dalz102 is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 07-23-2016, 01:35 PM
DKO
Registered Users
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 6

User is: DKO is offline
Cool Re: No high speed fan

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrayd View Post
Only when the fan speed switch is set to the highest setting the blower motor relay is pulled in. A separate +12v source then flows through this relay and supplies voltage to the blower motor. This separate +12v source is fed from a 30amp (green) green fuse in the 'Underhood Fuse Block'. Look for a blown 30 amp fuse under the hood, and not in the cabin. Replaced mine and FIXED!
Thanks! Switching the fuse fixed mine.
DKO is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome