how do i fix this code? P1626 - S-10 Forum

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 09-16-2007, 04:13 PM Thread Starter
Sik-98
 
chevyDime98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SJ, Ca. (408)
Age: 29
Posts: 3,809

User is: chevyDime98 is offline
how do i fix this code? P1626

i scanned my truck and came up with this

P1626 Theft Deterrent Fuel Enable Signal Not Received/ B+ Supply To VCRM A/C Circuit Malfunction

what n the world does this mean and how can i fix it cause my truck runs like crap


CHRIS

chevyDime98 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 09-16-2007, 11:21 PM Thread Starter
Sik-98
 
chevyDime98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SJ, Ca. (408)
Age: 29
Posts: 3,809

User is: chevyDime98 is offline
Re: how do i fix this code? P1626

mods or anyone who works at a gm dealership i could really use some help with this one.

CHRIS

chevyDime98 is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 09-17-2007, 12:49 AM
got me some 20s
 
rockyroad217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pine Bluff, AR
Age: 29
Posts: 4,008

User is: rockyroad217 is offline
Re: how do i fix this code? P1626

here man..dont know if it will help, but looks useful http://www.gearchatter.com/viewpost14016.php

-Ryan
1996 S10 2.2 5 speed, kinda low


http://www.waylayedinc.com

Posting Nothing- Please Wait
rockyroad217 is offline  
post #4 of 19 Old 09-17-2007, 12:51 AM
got me some 20s
 
rockyroad217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pine Bluff, AR
Age: 29
Posts: 4,008

User is: rockyroad217 is offline
Re: how do i fix this code? P1626

oh and this too lol http://findarticles.com/p/articles/m...1/ai_n15871185

-Ryan
1996 S10 2.2 5 speed, kinda low


http://www.waylayedinc.com

Posting Nothing- Please Wait
rockyroad217 is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 09-17-2007, 01:38 PM Thread Starter
Sik-98
 
chevyDime98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SJ, Ca. (408)
Age: 29
Posts: 3,809

User is: chevyDime98 is offline
Re: how do i fix this code? P1626

wow thats some tuff stuff to understand.

ok so where is the
VTD?
BCM?
PCM?

CHRIS

chevyDime98 is offline  
post #6 of 19 Old 09-17-2007, 02:58 PM
is a fungineer
 
ka_jd7and1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Age: 30
Posts: 6,109

User is: ka_jd7and1 is offline
Send a message via AIM to ka_jd7and1
Re: how do i fix this code? P1626

body control module (BCM)
powertrain control module (PCM)

Those were in the 2nd article.

I'm guessing VTD would be Passlock, GM's Vehicle Theft Deterrent (VTD), but that's purely a guess.
ka_jd7and1 is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 09-17-2007, 07:48 PM Thread Starter
Sik-98
 
chevyDime98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SJ, Ca. (408)
Age: 29
Posts: 3,809

User is: chevyDime98 is offline
Re: how do i fix this code? P1626

haha i read the pages, i asked where? as in can i located them on my truck to see if anything is wrong. were are they located?

CHRIS

chevyDime98 is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 09-17-2007, 08:01 PM
Blazin on 8!
 
leroyme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wichita, KS
Age: 35
Posts: 1,782

User is: leroyme is offline
Send a message via MSN to leroyme Send a message via Yahoo to leroyme
Re: how do i fix this code? P1626

The BCM and PCM are under your dash in the center. Its over the hump in your floor, directly under your stereo/ac area. I would bet your passlock is screwed up. Sorry I can't tell you where to go from there.



I got to mine from the driver's side, WAY up under there.

Matt... Just Matt.

Last edited by leroyme; 09-17-2007 at 08:02 PM.
leroyme is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 09-17-2007, 08:19 PM Thread Starter
Sik-98
 
chevyDime98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SJ, Ca. (408)
Age: 29
Posts: 3,809

User is: chevyDime98 is offline
Re: how do i fix this code? P1626

do i have to take the dash out or can it be reached from underneath. also what does it look like/what am i looking for?

leroyme......why did u have to/what did u do to yours?

CHRIS

chevyDime98 is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 09-17-2007, 08:27 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: tampa
Posts: 476

User is: lampug is offline
Re: how do i fix this code? P1626

itcould be your ignition, bcm, or wires. that code means that the pcm is not receiving the signal from the bcm to turn on your injectors. the bcm needs the signal from your ignition lock cylinder. if it doesnt see the same key on signal as the previous then the bcm will prevent the engine from starting. these parts are not cheap. i think the ignition goes for 400.00 and the bcm sells for 300.00-400.00. your most likely cause is the ignition.
lampug is offline  
post #11 of 19 Old 09-17-2007, 08:35 PM Thread Starter
Sik-98
 
chevyDime98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SJ, Ca. (408)
Age: 29
Posts: 3,809

User is: chevyDime98 is offline
Re: how do i fix this code? P1626

my truck starts and runs great......until u go under a load or are on the freeway then it studders and seems to not get enough gas......n other words, im still driving it to school and work everyday, its just a pain in the ass cause its hard to get up to speed and merge. its also embarassing cause i have exhaust thats makes it noticable to others that it runs like crap lol

CHRIS

chevyDime98 is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 09-17-2007, 11:04 PM Thread Starter
Sik-98
 
chevyDime98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SJ, Ca. (408)
Age: 29
Posts: 3,809

User is: chevyDime98 is offline
Re: how do i fix this code? P1626

anyone have a pic or discription of the bcm? i need to know what im looking for lol. thanks

CHRIS

chevyDime98 is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 09-18-2007, 06:34 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: southold, NY
Age: 30
Posts: 647

User is: fishindabay is offline
Send a message via AIM to fishindabay
Re: how do i fix this code? P1626

if you're having this stumble/hesitation problem at highway speeds, it's not caused by that DTC. the diagnostic for that DTC runs when the ignition switch is turned to crank. the BCM talks to the PCM and decides whether the PCM will provide fuel. if you have a remote start, this code is commonly in every PCM i've gone into.

as far as you problem with the truck... i'd check your fuel filter. you didn't mention if it is a 4.3, or 2.2... but either way i've seen a ton of drivability problems due to clogged fuel filters. if its a 4.3, i'd check the cap and rotor for a "snowstorm"... thats when all of the terminals in the cap and rotor have this white corrosion stuff all caked onto the terminals
fishindabay is offline  
post #14 of 19 Old 09-18-2007, 01:45 PM Thread Starter
Sik-98
 
chevyDime98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SJ, Ca. (408)
Age: 29
Posts: 3,809

User is: chevyDime98 is offline
Re: how do i fix this code? P1626

well i got a 2.2 lol this is in the 2.2 section, and when my truck was scanned, it currently has this code P1626. i have replaced the fuel filter,cat, plugs, wires, coils, cleaned egr carbon...

either way id like to see what the bcm looks like. what am i looking for lol

CHRIS

chevyDime98 is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 09-18-2007, 01:49 PM
Negative 10
 
illest G's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: vacaville
Age: 28
Posts: 22,389

User is: illest G is offline
Re: how do i fix this code? P1626

hey chris you have a scanner? could it scan for why my abs light is on?

~KENNY~
MY GAL---->PROJECT THREAD<----MY GAL
illest G is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 09-18-2007, 02:20 PM Thread Starter
Sik-98
 
chevyDime98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SJ, Ca. (408)
Age: 29
Posts: 3,809

User is: chevyDime98 is offline
Re: how do i fix this code? P1626

joe help me with the scan, his brother has one

CHRIS

chevyDime98 is offline  
post #17 of 19 Old 09-18-2007, 03:29 PM
is a fungineer
 
ka_jd7and1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Age: 30
Posts: 6,109

User is: ka_jd7and1 is offline
Send a message via AIM to ka_jd7and1
Re: how do i fix this code? P1626

Quote:
Originally Posted by chevyDime98 View Post
haha i read the pages, i asked where? as in can i located them on my truck to see if anything is wrong. were are they located?
Sorry, reading > me.
ka_jd7and1 is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 09-18-2007, 07:54 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: tampa
Posts: 476

User is: lampug is offline
Re: how do i fix this code? P1626

bcm should be mounted under the drivers kick panel. its hiding under the steering column.
lampug is offline  
post #19 of 19 Old 09-19-2007, 01:56 AM Thread Starter
Sik-98
 
chevyDime98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SJ, Ca. (408)
Age: 29
Posts: 3,809

User is: chevyDime98 is offline
Re: how do i fix this code? P1626

cool, what does it look like.

CHRIS

chevyDime98 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome