vortec 350 timing set ??? - S-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 03-10-2010, 09:51 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dayton, 10-UH-C
Posts: 696

User is: the_dam_man is offline
vortec 350 timing set ???

can I install a double roller or gear drive on a vortec 350 if I am using the crank/cam sensor in the stock timing cover? is there a performance upgrade for these motors?

the_dam_man is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 03-10-2010, 11:48 PM
Registered User
 
eric0o1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: fort worth, tx
Age: 36
Posts: 829

User is: eric0o1 is offline
Send a message via AIM to eric0o1
Re: vortec 350 timing set ???

With my double roller, the reluctor would have made contact with the chain links. I had to space the reluctor out about 1/8" or .125", or the thickness of the reluctor itself. I simply cut the center out of another reluctor, so it would still be keyed on the crank. About 2.5" over all diameter. I installed the "spacer", then the reluctor the crank sensor actually reads. I am still in the process of getting everything together so I have not run it yet, however there appears to be no harm in how the sensor will read.

You can't use a gear drive because of the noise interference with the knock sensor.

02 Blazer (2wd), supercharged 383 in the works http://www.s10forum.com/forum/f10/20...3-swap-456167/

Last edited by eric0o1; 03-10-2010 at 11:50 PM.
eric0o1 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 03-11-2010, 10:24 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dayton, 10-UH-C
Posts: 696

User is: the_dam_man is offline
Re: vortec 350 timing set ???

what if I disable the knock sensor with my tuner?
the_dam_man is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 03-12-2010, 10:51 AM
Registered User
 
eric0o1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: fort worth, tx
Age: 36
Posts: 829

User is: eric0o1 is offline
Send a message via AIM to eric0o1
Re: vortec 350 timing set ???

If it were me I wouldn't. I would rather run a factory timing chain as opposed to disabling the knock.

Also, I have heard it is not suggested to run a gear drive with a roller camshaft. I have no idea the reasoning behind it, but it could lead back to roller camshafts being more commonly found in EFI applications where a knock sensor is present. Again this is something I'm only heard second hand and have never had experience with. I've never looked any further into it because I personally hate gear drives because most guys simply install them for the "blower" whine.

02 Blazer (2wd), supercharged 383 in the works http://www.s10forum.com/forum/f10/20...3-swap-456167/
eric0o1 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 03-12-2010, 01:44 PM
Registered User
 
DIRTRIDER56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: CLARKSVILLE, TN
Age: 26
Posts: 103

User is: DIRTRIDER56 is offline
Re: vortec 350 timing set ???

ya i wouldnt go without the knock either... youd be taking a chance on ruining that vortec 350. i dont know why you want a gear set up inless you want that blown whine... to much work to make a little noise for me lol... go for the real deal!

2000 Xtreme s10... 350 HO crate
DIRTRIDER56 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 03-12-2010, 05:24 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dayton, 10-UH-C
Posts: 696

User is: the_dam_man is offline
Re: vortec 350 timing set ???

I was simply posting the question. I recalled reading somewhere where there was a hi-po chain for the LT motors that worked on the vortecs (some GM part)
the_dam_man is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 03-12-2010, 09:23 PM
Registered User
 
eric0o1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: fort worth, tx
Age: 36
Posts: 829

User is: eric0o1 is offline
Send a message via AIM to eric0o1
Re: vortec 350 timing set ???

I believe it is the LT4 timing chain

02 Blazer (2wd), supercharged 383 in the works http://www.s10forum.com/forum/f10/20...3-swap-456167/
eric0o1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome