Throttle Cable Too Long!!!!!!!!! - S-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 07-02-2004, 09:05 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Age: 32
Posts: 7

User is: njdad61 is offline
Exclamation Throttle Cable Too Long!!!!!!!!!

I've just dropped a 305 into my '82 S10 that originally had a 2.8 V6. Besides beating the living crap out of the firewall for some clearance and using a floor ratchet shifter instead of the column, everything stock has worked perfectly. Until now........ I bought a throttle cable bracket and went to attach the cable to the carb, and it's wayyyyyy too long. I can't remember exactly, but I'd guess the throttle was on the passenger side of the old carb, and I only have to go straight forward on the driver's side. Is there a certain cable I can buy somewhere, or can the factory one be cut???? Thanks for the help.

njdad61 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 07-02-2004, 09:47 PM
LT1 Powered
 
Navecm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Southern NH
Age: 31
Posts: 2,467

User is: Navecm is offline
Send a message via AIM to Navecm
Re: Throttle Cable Too Long!!!!!!!!!

i currently have a cut one, looks awful like its going to break, but has held up for a few months, i will eventually replace it.

www.lokar.com carries throttle cables

94 S10 Blazer 2DR - LT1/4L60E|3.42s|3716lbs
94 S10 Reg Cab/Longbed - LB4/NV3500|2.73s
Navecm is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 07-04-2004, 12:40 AM
Race Cop
 
S10Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: "He's in the Garage"
Age: 58
Posts: 70

User is: S10Fan is offline
Re: Throttle Cable Too Long!!!!!!!!!

I used one from a early 90's Caprice but I still had to shorten it a little.

’87 Long Bed, 350 V-8, TH-350 A/T, p/s, p/b, p/w, p/dl
Lowered 5/5, Full Tweed Interior, custom door panels, dash, and center console. Coilover rear suspension. Viper red.
S10Fan is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 07-04-2004, 12:45 AM
Registered User
 
sdime90v8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Age: 27
Posts: 1,536

User is: sdime90v8 is offline
Re: Throttle Cable Too Long!!!!!!!!!

go to auto zone i dont know if thay still do it but a buddy of mine had them order hime one he told them how long he needed it to be and payed for it and they got it in like 2 days later
sdime90v8 is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 07-05-2004, 12:27 AM
SIC-Founder & WA Ch. Head
 
low-blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Poulsbo, WA
Age: 38
Posts: 1,697

User is: low-blazer is offline
Send a message via AIM to low-blazer
Re: Throttle Cable Too Long!!!!!!!!!

I used one out of a 73-87 full size chev...dropped right in, worked like a charm. No shortening at all..
low-blazer is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 07-05-2004, 12:30 AM
Awesome User
 
Diablo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: USA
Age: 12
Posts: 10,445

User is: Diablo is offline
Re: Throttle Cable Too Long!!!!!!!!!

i just looped my stock one
Diablo is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 07-05-2004, 01:18 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Central IL
Age: 37
Posts: 300

User is: Jeffyboy is offline
Send a message via AIM to Jeffyboy
Re: Throttle Cable Too Long!!!!!!!!!

Looped stocker here, too

Silver '85 standard cab short box S-10: .040 over 350, 10.5:1, 3.42 zexel posi, TH350, leather buckets, Autometer gauges, fuel cell, Xtreme rims with 255/50/16 rear and 225/55/16 front Sumitomos. 13.26 @ 104.5 mph on street tires
http://s10v8.com/members/jeffyboy/
'98 ZQ8 Sonoma - sold!
http://www.cardomain.com/jeffyboy78
Jeffyboy is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 07-05-2004, 10:25 AM
One Piece At A Time
 
sic ones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Comanche, Ok
Age: 30
Posts: 211

User is: sic ones is offline
Send a message via AIM to sic ones Send a message via MSN to sic ones Send a message via Yahoo to sic ones
Re: Throttle Cable Too Long!!!!!!!!!

I actually went to the parts store and bought a small electrical connecter. You know, the type that is used to hook up to the output stud on the alt? I clamped that on my throttle cable and then soldered over it. It works great!!

One Piece At A Time -1989 Single cab short-bed 4x4
305 V8. Undergoing SM465/NP208 and solid axle swap.
Hell Hound-1992 Blazer Tahoe 2-door 4x2 4.3L Vortec V6/4L60-E. The new fixxxer-upper.
sic ones is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 07-05-2004, 11:41 AM
The One
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indiana
Age: 34
Posts: 89

User is: Smokedawg is offline
Re: Throttle Cable Too Long!!!!!!!!!

I built a bracket out of aluminum and bolted it to the high rise intake and attached the cable to it and made it work....

-Smoke

1990 Mustang GT-
347 Stroker--Compucar Nitrous, AFR, Systemax Intake, AFM, 30lbers, full suspension and lots more

1995 Chevy S-10
406 SBC, Dart 215 Pro-1 heads, Dual tunnel ram, Nitrous, full tub, 4-link, adjustable drag shocks, coil-overs, 9in rearend, 4.56 gears...etc
Smokedawg is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 07-05-2004, 08:14 PM
SK WUT?!?!?
 
JDime98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Andover MN
Posts: 1,302

User is: JDime98 is offline
Send a message via AIM to JDime98 Send a message via MSN to JDime98
Re: Throttle Cable Too Long!!!!!!!!!

go to the bone yard and get one out of a 87 full size truck a guy I know had the same problem and he used the full size cable and worked fine
JDime98 is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 07-07-2004, 05:46 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Age: 32
Posts: 7

User is: njdad61 is offline
Re: Throttle Cable Too Long!!!!!!!!!

Thanks for the advice, guys!!! I tried to loop my stock cable yesterday, and it seemed to work fine, but i guess it was so old that when i tried to mount it in the new bracket i bought, part of the clip broke off!!! I took a trip down to o'reilly's and had them pull one for an 80's model full size, and the cable was a lot shorter. I went ahead and bought it, and it works great, although I still have to loop it a little. Thanks Again, E1!!!!!
njdad61 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome