Make your own motor mounts.... - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

Make your own motor mounts....

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Engine and Drivetrain Tech > V8 Discussion
New User? Register Forgot Password


 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-09-2012, 05:24 AM   #1
First Gens FTW!
 
Kansas Dime's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 621
Location: Kansas
User is: OffLine
Make your own motor mounts....

I've got an 87 S-10, the original motor was a 2.5 four banger. A buddy and I have a welder. Do any of you guys have a template to fab up some homemade motor mounts?

Thanks in advance, just trying to save some coin.
Old 06-10-2012, 04:11 PM   #2
1sikdime
 
zizzybalooba's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 108
Location: Ontario, Cananda
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

If this is your first v8 swap you should look into getting the book on SBC swaps into S10s. I believe it even come with a template for the mounts. Your also going to need to buy stock 2.8 mounts to bolt to your frame.
Old 06-10-2012, 05:53 PM   #3
Registered User
 
chevyman39452's Avatar
 
Age: 23
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 192
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

You can take the motor mount plate that bolts to the motor and then bolts to the frame mount from a 70s or 80s Chevy vehicle and cut a piece off of it and bolt it to the s10 frame mount just like V8 swap mounts, they work just fine I've used them several times when on a budget. I tried drawing you an illustration but its not to good but maybe you can get the picture of what I mean.
Old 06-10-2012, 05:55 PM   #4
Registered User
 
chevyman39452's Avatar
 
Age: 23
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 192
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

Dang its upside down lol sorry
Old 06-10-2012, 06:48 PM   #5
First Gens FTW!
 
Kansas Dime's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 621
Location: Kansas
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

Quote: Originally Posted by zizzybalooba
If this is your first v8 swap you should look into getting the book on SBC swaps into S10s. I believe it even come with a template for the mounts. Your also going to need to buy stock 2.8 mounts to bolt to your frame.
Yes it will be our first V8 swap, I'll look into the book. What gives with having to go to V6 mounts on the frame though?
Old 06-10-2012, 06:53 PM   #6
First Gens FTW!
 
Kansas Dime's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 621
Location: Kansas
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

Quote: Originally Posted by chevyman39452
You can take the motor mount plate that bolts to the motor and then bolts to the frame mount from a 70s or 80s Chevy vehicle and cut a piece off of it and bolt it to the s10 frame mount just like V8 swap mounts, they work just fine I've used them several times when on a budget. I tried drawing you an illustration but its not to good but maybe you can get the picture of what I mean.
I appreciate it, not sure I'm quite tracking with you exactly though.
Old 06-10-2012, 07:16 PM   #7
Registered User
 
chevyman39452's Avatar
 
Age: 23
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 192
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

Yea it would be better to explain in person ill try to get an actual pic of what I'm talking about instead of a crappy drawing lol
Old 06-10-2012, 07:22 PM   #8
First Gens FTW!
 
Kansas Dime's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 621
Location: Kansas
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

Quote: Originally Posted by chevyman39452
Yea it would be better to explain in person ill try to get an actual pic of what I'm talking about instead of a crappy drawing lol
Thanks, I sure would appreciate it.
Old 06-10-2012, 07:48 PM   #9
Registered User
 
chevyman39452's Avatar
 
Age: 23
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 192
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

Here's a pic of the mounts I'm talking about there the top mount mainly found on Chevy trucks but cars also you cut one of the bolt holes off then bolt it to the s10 frame mount so that it will set the motor forward like the swap mounts do its not as strong but I've used them with mild 350s in s10s with no problem. I also drew another picture so it will show you a little more of what I'm talking about

Old 06-10-2012, 10:46 PM   #10
First Gens FTW!
 
Kansas Dime's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 621
Location: Kansas
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

Thanks brother, I think I'm tracking alittle better now.
Old 06-10-2012, 11:43 PM   #11
Registered User
 
chevyman39452's Avatar
 
Age: 23
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 192
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

Yea its actually really simple just harder to explain on the internet
Old 06-10-2012, 11:57 PM   #12
First Gens FTW!
 
Kansas Dime's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 621
Location: Kansas
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

With running that set up are you good to go using the stock driveshaft and a 350 turbo?
Old 06-11-2012, 12:07 AM   #13
Ticket Magnet
 
Rhotpursuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 8,371
Location: Spanaway, Wa
User is: Online
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

Www.v8s10.org has all of the info you need including the best motor mounts.
Old 06-11-2012, 01:02 AM   #14
First Gens FTW!
 
Kansas Dime's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 621
Location: Kansas
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

Quote: Originally Posted by Rhotpursuit
Www.v8s10.org has all of the info you need including the best motor mounts.
Thanks alot, I'll check the site out.
Old 06-11-2012, 10:49 AM   #15
Registered User
 
chevyman39452's Avatar
 
Age: 23
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 192
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

Yea trans and driveshaft will work
Old 06-11-2012, 01:52 PM   #16
First Gens FTW!
 
Kansas Dime's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 621
Location: Kansas
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

Quote: Originally Posted by chevyman39452
Yea trans and driveshaft will work
Sweet, thanks alot brother!
Old 06-11-2012, 05:24 PM   #17
1sikdime
 
zizzybalooba's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 108
Location: Ontario, Cananda
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

Im almost positive your speedometer cable will even work on a th350. If your truck is a reg cab short box your gunna need the th350 with the shorter tail shaft to run the stock driveshaft
Old 06-11-2012, 05:55 PM   #18
Registered User
 
chevyman39452's Avatar
 
Age: 23
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 192
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

I've done 4 regular cab short bed s10s and I've always used a long tailshaft th350 with my stock driveshaft
Old 06-11-2012, 05:57 PM   #19
First Gens FTW!
 
Kansas Dime's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 621
Location: Kansas
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

Quote: Originally Posted by zizzybalooba
Im almost positive your speedometer cable will even work on a th350. If your truck is a reg cab short box your gunna need the th350 with the shorter tail shaft to run the stock driveshaft
Mine is a regular cab shortbed, I figured it would have to have the shorter tail shaft.
Old 06-11-2012, 07:02 PM   #20
Registered User
 
chevyman39452's Avatar
 
Age: 23
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 192
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

Quote: Originally Posted by Kansas Dime
Mine is a regular cab shortbed, I figured it would have to have the shorter tail shaft.
I've always used a long tail with stock driveshaft
Old 06-12-2012, 01:28 AM   #21
First Gens FTW!
 
Kansas Dime's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 621
Location: Kansas
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

Quote: Originally Posted by chevyman39452
I've always used a long tail with stock driveshaft
Well damn you said one thing and the other guy said the opposite lol.
Old 06-12-2012, 11:08 AM   #22
Registered User
 
chevyman39452's Avatar
 
Age: 23
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 192
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

Yea that's just how I've always done it my current s10 has a long tail in it and I'm using the stock driveshaft
Old 06-14-2012, 01:07 AM   #23
First Gens FTW!
 
Kansas Dime's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 621
Location: Kansas
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

Quote: Originally Posted by chevyman39452
Yea that's just how I've always done it my current s10 has a long tail in it and I'm using the stock driveshaft
Ok, just wondering though. Could I possibly use my 4 speed that was bolted up on my 2.5 and make that work if I didn't use a 350 turbo?

Just wondering, it never hurts to ask questions.
Old 06-14-2012, 10:23 PM   #24
1sikdime
 
zizzybalooba's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 108
Location: Ontario, Cananda
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

I had my motor and trans as far back as possible. maybe thats why? Maybe if you move it all the way forward a long tailshaft will work?

And no your 2.5 trans wont work.
Old 06-14-2012, 10:24 PM   #25
Registered User
 
chevyman39452's Avatar
 
Age: 23
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 192
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

No the 2.5 trans want bolt up
Old 06-14-2012, 11:55 PM   #26
First Gens FTW!
 
Kansas Dime's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 621
Location: Kansas
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

That sucks about the tranny but thanks for letting me know guys.
Old 06-15-2012, 12:19 PM   #27
Registered User
 
chevyman39452's Avatar
 
Age: 23
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 192
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

If your truck is a 4 cylinder truck and it has the original rear end its proly low gears. You can check the rpo code to see what gears you have. If you have low gears like 3.73s or lower you might want a 700r trans if your gonna drive it a lot.
Old 06-15-2012, 04:44 PM   #28
1sikdime
 
zizzybalooba's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 108
Location: Ontario, Cananda
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

Ya 10 4 on that.. mine had the 2.5 with 3.73s and i swaped in a 350/th350 and left the gears alone. It was ok for street but if your going on the highway look for a 700r4 for the extra gear.
Old 06-16-2012, 02:10 AM   #29
Registered User
 
chevyman39452's Avatar
 
Age: 23
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 192
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

Yea mine has 373 gears th350 3000 stall it runs a lot of rpms on the street at 50-60 mph I try to stay off the highway.
Old 06-17-2012, 12:35 AM   #30
First Gens FTW!
 
Kansas Dime's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 621
Location: Kansas
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

Me and a buddy were able to fab these up.



Old 06-17-2012, 01:13 AM   #31
Ford guy stuck w/ chebby
 
n8rsk8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,071
Location: tWilightZone
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

hell yeah!

where in KS you? I am in Olathe. If close we should combine forces on some projects.. would help a ton!

-Nathan
Old 06-17-2012, 01:25 AM   #32
First Gens FTW!
 
Kansas Dime's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 621
Location: Kansas
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

Just north of the speedway a bit brother. We have a template to make the mounts if you'd be interested.
Old 06-17-2012, 11:29 AM   #33
Registered User
 
chevyman39452's Avatar
 
Age: 23
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 192
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

Them mounts look good man
Old 06-17-2012, 09:08 PM   #34
First Gens FTW!
 
Kansas Dime's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 621
Location: Kansas
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

Quote: Originally Posted by chevyman39452
Them mounts look good man
Thanks, it was kind of a pain in the ass with the tools we had, but we managed.
Old 11-08-2012, 11:26 PM   #35
Registered User
 
87s10guy's Avatar
 
Age: 25
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 167
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Make your own motor mounts....

Does cutting a full size mount really work I want to save some money but not if it's to week
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
SEO by vBSEO
vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.