97 Blazer 4dr. LT AWD 4.3 swap to 96 Tahoe 5.7 - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

97 Blazer 4dr. LT AWD 4.3 swap to 96 Tahoe 5.7

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Engine and Drivetrain Tech > V8 Discussion
New User? Register Forgot Password

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-28-2009, 08:18 PM   #1
1997 and 1977 Blazers

User is: OffLine
Question 97 Blazer 4dr. LT AWD 4.3 swap to 96 Tahoe 5.7

I am just beginning an engine and transmission swap in my 1997 Blazer LT AWD 4dr. 4.3 Vortec (190hp/250 torque) that I ordered in July of 1996 with every extra that was offered including full length overhead console, towing package and 3.42 rear axle ratio. The towing package included suspension upgrade, transmission cooler, oil cooler and remote oil filter (under radiator). I purchased a cowl induction hood and Gibson cat-back exhaust for it while I was waiting on it to be delivered and installed both before it had 500 miles on it. I also installed a B&M deep transmission pan on it at about 10k when I purchased a travel trailer. It has given good service pulling the travel trailer and being driven daily for 160k now but needs a little more power for pulling the travel trailer.

I have acquired a 5.7 Vortec (250hp/335 torque) and 4L60e transmission from a 1996 Tahoe that was rolled with 57k on it. I was lucky to get to the Tahoe before anything was removed from it so I was able to get everything that I wanted including the complete under hood wiring with the ECM and all hoses, brackets, ducting and tubing on engine and transmission.