700r4 vs. 4L60E - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

700r4 vs. 4L60E

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Engine and Drivetrain Tech > V8 Discussion
New User? Register Forgot Password


 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-22-2008, 01:10 PM   #1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,505
Location:
User is: OffLine
700r4 vs. 4L60E

What is the difference between the two. I read through the swap post at the top and there were 4-5 different explainations. What is the difference between the two? Will both work with the stock automatic floor shifter thats in my truck?
Old 02-22-2008, 02:12 PM   #2
Bored as hell
 
Petterle's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,704
Location: oakley, california
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

4l60e is eletronicly controled and has 4 speeds 700r4 is a 3 speed with overdrive and has a low first gear
Old 02-22-2008, 02:25 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,505
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

is the 700r4 computer controlled as well?
Old 02-22-2008, 02:41 PM   #4
4.3 FlexFuel E85 :-)
 
Age: 34
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 62
Location: Patterson, LA
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

A 4L60E is a 700R4 just computer controlled. The only difference is the power handeling abilitys of the ones that came on v6's and the ones that came on v8's and thats for both models.

Quote: Originally Posted by MydicksXtreme
4l60e is eletronicly controled and has 4 speeds 700r4 is a 3 speed with overdrive and has a low first gear
Old 02-22-2008, 04:07 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,505
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

So would a 700r4 swap in just fine with a vortech 5.7L? and would it still work with the stock floor shifter in the truck? The more i read about this the more confused im getting. How do i know what tranny i have right now?
Old 02-22-2008, 05:34 PM   #6
Bored as hell
 
Petterle's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,704
Location: oakley, california
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

Quote: Originally Posted by therule546
So would a 700r4 swap in just fine with a vortech 5.7L? and would it still work with the stock floor shifter in the truck? The more i read about this the more confused im getting. How do i know what tranny i have right now?
a 5.7 and a 700r4 should be fine, ive heard stories that the 700 is weak but in my experiances they were bulletproof, as for the floor shifter im not sure
Old 02-22-2008, 06:23 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,505
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

Is it normal for a 97 ex cab p/u to have the shifter on the floor in an automatic?
Old 02-22-2008, 07:29 PM   #8
Registered User
 
acgreaser05's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 186
Location: Oakland County, Mi
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

Man they put these trucks together so many different ways, with so many different parts, is the truck 2wd?
...and what motor came in it?
Old 02-22-2008, 08:05 PM   #9
Bored as hell
 
Petterle's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,704
Location: oakley, california
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

Quote: Originally Posted by therule546
Is it normal for a 97 ex cab p/u to have the shifter on the floor in an automatic?
auto's are usually colum shifted, i have seen blazer autos with floor shifters though. i have never seen a floor shifter in an s10 unless its a stick
Old 02-23-2008, 05:50 AM   #10
An ol Scott
 
SilverWings's Avatar
 
Age: 70
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 835
Location: Missoula Montana
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

I have seen automatic Sonoma's with a factory installed floor shifter but not any S10's as of yet. Not that there isn't though. Thats just something I haven't run across.

Go with the 700r4. It will out last a stock 4L60E by a long shot.
Old 02-23-2008, 11:12 AM   #11
LSx and V8 Mod
 
SweetS10V8's Avatar
 
Age: 36
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,204
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

Quote: Originally Posted by SilverWings
Go with the 700r4. It will out last a stock 4L60E by a long shot.
I disagree, the 4L60 is computer controlled the 700r4 is just a mechanical piece that doesn't adjust if something changes.

4L60s are a part of GMs 100k mile warranty. Back (pre 93) when 700r4s were prevalent, I bet the drive line had the 36k mile warranty.
Old 02-23-2008, 01:28 PM   #12
Registered User
 
bigjoe1015's Avatar
 
Age: 42
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 454
Location: Des Moines, Iowa, 50317
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

Quote: Originally Posted by SweetS10V8
I disagree, the 4L60 is computer controlled the 700r4 is just a mechanical piece that doesn't adjust if something changes.

4L60s are a part of GMs 100k mile warranty. Back (pre 93) when 700r4s were prevalent, I bet the drive line had the 36k mile warranty.

You are correct, sir!

Besides, if the 700R4 was so superior, they wouldn't have added more electronics to it. They added them to it to increase its longevity, and so that it would communicate with the PCM so that it did exactly what it was supposed to WHEN it was supposed to.
Old 02-24-2008, 11:20 AM   #13
stuck static
 
lowxpectationz20's Avatar
 
Age: 28
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,440
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

Quote: Originally Posted by therule546
Is it normal for a 97 ex cab p/u to have the shifter on the floor in an automatic?
I have! 97 is the only year they came! A kid on ohio mini trucks, named noma97 had one!
Old 02-24-2008, 12:14 PM   #14
Registered User
 
85smallblock's Avatar
 
Age: 24
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 857
Location: Calgary
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

4l60e for the win. basically a 700r4 with a computer controlled valve body. the best thing about the 4l60e is you can program it to shift harder and at whatever points you want

and since you are running a vortec,it already came with a 4l60e. so the vortec computer will operate the trans
Old 02-24-2008, 05:10 PM   #15
stuck static
 
lowxpectationz20's Avatar
 
Age: 28
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,440
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

so if ive got a 4l60e in my blazer, and i want to swap over to a 350, it shouldnt be an issue?
Old 02-24-2008, 09:24 PM   #16
Registered User
 
85smallblock's Avatar
 
Age: 24
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 857
Location: Calgary
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

your engine light will stay on. it might run different without getting info from the trans.
Old 02-24-2008, 09:57 PM   #17
L98 Blazer
 
j_slezak187's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 519
Location: Rhode Island
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

Quote: Originally Posted by 85smallblock
your engine light will stay on. it might run different without getting info from the trans.
like only reverse....no forward gears. the 4L60E needs all the PCM inputs to function correctly.
Old 02-24-2008, 10:04 PM   #18
Stepsides are cool
 
xxannihilationx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,180
Location: Jax,FL
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

Quote: Originally Posted by lowxpectationz20
I have! 97 is the only year they came! A kid on ohio mini trucks, named noma97 had one!
i have an automatic floor shifter too. its pretty badass, because im not a big fan of column shifters
Old 02-26-2008, 12:12 PM   #19
stuck static
 
lowxpectationz20's Avatar
 
Age: 28
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,440
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

so my 4l60e, in my cpi 4.3 blazer will work on a for example tbi 350? TCI makes a 4l60e controller so your able to run it on a carbed application also. But is the 4l60e different from the v6 to a v8?
Old 02-29-2008, 11:16 AM   #20
L98 Blazer
 
j_slezak187's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 519
Location: Rhode Island
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

if you are staying with TBI, then you can go with the '427 PCM that came in the last gen TBI trucks. they have all the outputs for the 4L60E.
Old 02-29-2008, 01:40 PM   #21
Banned
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,361
Location: warner robins, GA
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

4L60E is the same no matter what. v6's and v8 trucks had the same dang 4L60E. its a strong tranny. i just had mine built with the stongest parts you could buy, plus corvette servo's and a B&M shift kit.
Old 02-29-2008, 02:40 PM   #22
Registered User
 
Age: 34
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

I use a 700r4 behind my vortech with no problems, but everyone's setup and
variations will be the deciding factor on which one is best for you.
Old 02-29-2008, 10:01 PM   #23
the youngest has been
 
tippmann243's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4,195
Location: FLORISSANT MO
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

Quote: Originally Posted by 4x4zr2GA
4L60E is the same no matter what. v6's and v8 trucks had the same dang 4L60E. its a strong tranny. i just had mine built with the stongest parts you could buy, plus corvette servo's and a B&M shift kit.
this is not ture. there is a different number of clutch pack inside the trans for 4 cyl to v6 to v8
Old 03-01-2008, 06:34 PM   #24
Registered User
 
Age: 41
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

I'm a GM tech. so lets clear this up. GM has a 4L60,70 and 80. they changed the code rpo numbers in the late 80s. IT IS THE SAME TRANS with the additions of servos and electronics thats why the "e" is on the end.Later 4L60s will not work with out an ECM of the same year due to TPS and RPM feedback.You cant run this trans without a TPS. If your truck is caburated then go with the 700r4. you'll have less problems.And about durabilty, I'd worry more about the factory rear end cause you'll grenade it long before the trans.
Old 03-01-2008, 06:38 PM   #25
Registered User
 
Age: 41
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

also rember that 4L60Es 92 AND UP HAVE ELECTRONIC SPEEDODMETER FEEDBACK NOT THE OLD CABLE
Old 03-01-2008, 06:54 PM   #26
An ol Scott
 
SilverWings's Avatar
 
Age: 70
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 835
Location: Missoula Montana
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

Quote: Originally Posted by SweetS10V8
I disagree, the 4L60 is computer controlled the 700r4 is just a mechanical piece that doesn't adjust if something changes.

4L60s are a part of GMs 100k mile warranty. Back (pre 93) when 700r4s were prevalent, I bet the drive line had the 36k mile warranty.
Then my personal experrience with a rebuilt and mildy hot rodded 4L60E was an abnormal one. It did'nt last a year and I wasn't racing it every weekend all year long.
I'm getting ready to install a GM 350 RamJet Crate engine and a decission about what trasmission to use is the next thing to deside on.
Old 03-01-2008, 06:58 PM   #27
An ol Scott
 
SilverWings's Avatar
 
Age: 70
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 835
Location: Missoula Montana
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

Quote: Originally Posted by mrholley_3997
I'm a GM tech. so lets clear this up. GM has a 4L60,70 and 80. they changed the code rpo numbers in the late 80s. IT IS THE SAME TRANS with the additions of servos and electronics thats why the "e" is on the end.Later 4L60s will not work with out an ECM of the same year due to TPS and RPM feedback.You cant run this trans without a TPS. If your truck is caburated then go with the 700r4. you'll have less problems.And about durabilty, I'd worry more about the factory rear end cause you'll grenade it long before the trans.
Then which one would you suggest I use behind my 350 RamJet?
Old 03-01-2008, 07:39 PM   #28
the youngest has been
 
tippmann243's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4,195
Location: FLORISSANT MO
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

Quote: Originally Posted by mrholley_3997
also rember that 4L60Es 92 AND UP HAVE ELECTRONIC SPEEDODMETER FEEDBACK NOT THE OLD CABLE
good try

but 89 was the first year for the electric speedometer
Old 03-01-2008, 07:39 PM   #29
the youngest has been
 
tippmann243's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4,195
Location: FLORISSANT MO
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

Quote: Originally Posted by SilverWings
Then my personal experrience with a rebuilt and mildy hot rodded 4L60E was an abnormal one. It did'nt last a year and I wasn't racing it every weekend all year long.
I'm getting ready to install a GM 350 RamJet Crate engine and a decission about what trasmission to use is the next thing to deside on.
4l80e and call it done
Old 03-02-2008, 02:39 AM   #30
stuck static
 
lowxpectationz20's Avatar
 
Age: 28
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,440
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

well I plan on swapping the cpi 4.3 out once it decides to call it quits for a tbi 350. no one has yet given me a straight answer if the 4l60e I have now will work. One guy said if i use a certain pcm, and another guy said its got different clutch packs. so whats the overall thought on doing this?
Old 03-02-2008, 10:01 PM   #31
the youngest has been
 
tippmann243's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4,195
Location: FLORISSANT MO
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

Quote: Originally Posted by lowxpectationz20
well I plan on swapping the cpi 4.3 out once it decides to call it quits for a tbi 350. no one has yet given me a straight answer if the 4l60e I have now will work. One guy said if i use a certain pcm, and another guy said its got different clutch packs. so whats the overall thought on doing this?
yes it will work as long ay you get a tbi wiring harness and ecu from the same year truck.

there is a different number of clutch packs but thats just limits the power that it will handle.
Old 03-03-2008, 04:49 PM   #32
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 6
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

Quote: Originally Posted by SilverWings
Then which one would you suggest I use behind my 350 RamJet?
I am going to use the same motor when I make my swap(looking for right truck). Everything I have read points me towards a 700R. The Ram Jet will come with it's own computer which I think bolts to the firewall. I'm just "Old School" and want less electronics. TCI and B&M both have 700R's from $1400---$2200 depending on what you want. The Ram Jet you are talking about is 350hp and both make good trannys for up to 450hp. If your S10 has a V6, from what I have read, you can reuse the electrical harness for altern, AC etc. You may have an issue when you get it inspected. Not sure how O2 sensors will work. I'm sure there is a way to solve this, just haven't gotten that far.

UMP
Old 03-03-2008, 11:35 PM   #33
Registered User
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 700r4 vs. 4L60E

Are you stuck on four speeds? Yes from street driving it is nice but a 2 or three is better on the track. I'm just finishing up my th350b tranni. it is now bullet proof and the total cost was only $700!!! New TCI low-reverse roller clutch, Full b$m trans pak, all new thrust washers, All new bushings, and of course a complete seal and gasket kit. the only problem is there is some maching involved. the pistons on the low-reverse, forward, direct and intermeditate clutches can be machine a lot to fit more clutches. I have a 4-6-6-6 combo right now. better than the orginal 3-4-5-4. it should be able to stand up to 500 hp easy. at least i hope. my tranni before last exploded literally when i threw the forward clutch through the side of the tranni. amazing feat to be honest. Now if you are stuck on a 4 speed the 4l80e is your best bet. strong as hell and it should work with the computer for that vortec. the ramjet i am not sure about though. it should be able to be adapted though. hell just use switchs to control the two shift solenoids lol. possible.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:30 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
SEO by vBSEO
vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.