305 bored over .030 what to do help!!!!!!!! - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

305 bored over .030 what to do help!!!!!!!!

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Engine and Drivetrain Tech > V8 Discussion
New User? Register Forgot Password


 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-16-2008, 12:52 AM   #1
*2nd nature fabrication*
 
93blazer4dr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,907
Location: louisville ky
User is: OffLine
305 bored over .030 what to do help!!!!!!!!

ok i have a 305 thats been bored over .030 and was wanting to find the best cam i can put in it. i was looking at the thumpr cams but they said it might not work because its a 305 but if it was a 350 it would. and i looked at a few other i just want a good sound dont rreally care alot of the power just want the sound and decent gas milage any of your motor guys can help me out it will be a big help.
oh yeah the guys at compcams told me it doesnt matter if the motor is bored or not that its still the same . is this true??
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-16-2008, 01:03 AM   #2
Hurrrr.........
 
Camwi_003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 41
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 305 bored over .030 what to do help!!!!!!!!

One, yes this is true, two, Go with the Comp 280H, its cheaper, and a great cam. Trust me on this one, you really need about 9 or 9.5 to 1 compression.
Old 02-16-2008, 01:09 AM   #3
*2nd nature fabrication*
 
93blazer4dr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,907
Location: louisville ky
User is: OffLine
Re: 305 bored over .030 what to do help!!!!!!!!

ok ill have to look into it. im not much of a motor person i only no tha basics but i never built a motor or anything so i dont really no much.
im wanting it to have a good sound but have it also where i can drive it everyday with out any problems.

so since the motor is bored out. it doesnt help or do much??

im going for the hot rod sound with the rough idle. i want a daily driver out of it also sorry for being random im still learning lol

Last edited by 93blazer4dr; 02-16-2008 at 01:11 AM.
Old 02-16-2008, 01:33 AM   #4
Registered User
 
85smallblock's Avatar
 
Age: 24
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 857
Location: Calgary
User is: OffLine
Re: 305 bored over .030 what to do help!!!!!!!!

download the comp cam engine dyno software from their website and it will ak you what your looking for and basically the one with the lower lsa will have a meaner idle.
Old 02-16-2008, 01:57 AM   #5
*2nd nature fabrication*
 
93blazer4dr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,907
Location: louisville ky
User is: OffLine
Re: 305 bored over .030 what to do help!!!!!!!!

Quote: Originally Posted by 85smallblock
download the comp cam engine dyno software from their website and it will ak you what your looking for and basically the one with the lower lsa will have a meaner idle.
ok alot of the stuf listed on there i dont understand and am not sure of what to mark.

its a stock 305 carb motor thats been bored .030 and has the stock cam in it im pretty sure so if you could help me with this that would be awsome
Old 02-16-2008, 02:00 AM   #6
Registered User
 
85smallblock's Avatar
 
Age: 24
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 857
Location: Calgary
User is: OffLine
Re: 305 bored over .030 what to do help!!!!!!!!

Quote: Originally Posted by 93blazer4dr
ok alot of the stuf listed on there i dont understand and am not sure of what to mark.

its a stock 305 carb motor thats been bored .030 and has the stock cam in it im pretty sure so if you could help me with this that would be awsome
what year engine? what heads? what intake?
Old 02-16-2008, 02:10 AM   #7
*2nd nature fabrication*
 
93blazer4dr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,907
Location: louisville ky
User is: OffLine
Re: 305 bored over .030 what to do help!!!!!!!!

1980-1985 i think the heads-stock intake-carbarated
it came out of a c10 ill have to ask my dad tomorrow he nos alot more then i do but thats all i can tell you for now
Old 02-16-2008, 02:12 AM   #8
stuck static
 
lowxpectationz20's Avatar
 
Age: 28
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,440
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 305 bored over .030 what to do help!!!!!!!!

you can find out your heads by pulling a number off of them under your valve cover. if you get that number and post it up, I can run the casting number and let you know what heads youve got. the casting number on the block will be back by the distributor right about where you bolt the tranny to the motor.
Old 02-16-2008, 02:14 AM   #9
*2nd nature fabrication*
 
93blazer4dr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,907
Location: louisville ky
User is: OffLine
Re: 305 bored over .030 what to do help!!!!!!!!

ok ill have to get it i still got to pull the motor thanks for the help and ill try and get more into on this tomorrow
Old 02-16-2008, 02:16 AM   #10
stuck static
 
lowxpectationz20's Avatar
 
Age: 28
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,440
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 305 bored over .030 what to do help!!!!!!!!

no problem man, if you need anything or info on the swap shoot me a PM
Old 02-16-2008, 02:25 AM   #11
Registered User
 
85smallblock's Avatar
 
Age: 24
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 857
Location: Calgary
User is: OffLine
Re: 305 bored over .030 what to do help!!!!!!!!

something like the extreme energy 262h will have a mean idle and should fit stock heads with no mods
or even the high energy 268h looks like a good cam. and the 268 is even carb approved.
Old 02-16-2008, 02:31 AM   #12
stuck static
 
lowxpectationz20's Avatar
 
Age: 28
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,440
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 305 bored over .030 what to do help!!!!!!!!

Quote: Originally Posted by 85smallblock
something like the extreme energy 262h will have a mean idle and should fit stock heads with no mods
or even the high energy 268h looks like a good cam. and the 268 is even carb approved.
where you finding this? hes looking for about the same thing I am as far as a cam, but anytime i try to do somthing and say "This is all i want" i end up going more in the long run anyways
Old 02-16-2008, 02:44 AM   #13
Registered User
 
Age: 49
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,015
Location: Mississippi Gulfcoast
User is: OffLine
Re: 305 bored over .030 what to do help!!!!!!!!

Just downloaded the comp cam "camquest" software. It's pretty cool. I'm going to have some fun playing with this.
Old 02-16-2008, 03:09 PM   #14
*2nd nature fabrication*
 
93blazer4dr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,907
Location: louisville ky
User is: OffLine
Re: 305 bored over .030 what to do help!!!!!!!!

i cant get any numbers off of it because its stuck out in the mud but ill do more calling around and ask them about the cam
85smallblock it says those are for an amc v8 will this work in a chevy v8 ?? sorry if its a bumd question

Last edited by 93blazer4dr; 02-16-2008 at 03:16 PM.
Old 02-16-2008, 11:14 PM   #15
Registered User
 
85smallblock's Avatar
 
Age: 24
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 857
Location: Calgary
User is: OffLine
Re: 305 bored over .030 what to do help!!!!!!!!

it might be the same grind but for a different engine. the amc engine is totaly different.

just look under 55-86 262-400 sbc hydraulic flat tappet cams. and check out what they have. you can eliminate many cams quickly by seeing what they operate at and what they need. also check to see how much lift you can get away with on your stock heads. you carb guys are lucky to be able to run fairly large cams on stock heads. efi is a pain in that asspect.
Old 02-16-2008, 11:31 PM   #16
*2nd nature fabrication*
 
93blazer4dr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,907
Location: louisville ky
User is: OffLine
Re: 305 bored over .030 what to do help!!!!!!!!

ok thanks alot you have been a big help i think ill call compcams and jegs and summitracing and see what all they got to say and go from there
Old 02-18-2008, 11:21 AM   #17
376ci LSX MCSS? Say what?
 
llorracs93s10's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7,588
Location: Middletown, DE
User is: OffLine
Re: 305 bored over .030 what to do help!!!!!!!!

ask what 72vega91s10 has, he has a 305 bored 0.30 over and he ran 14.2 on shitty slicks that needed to be replaced bad.
Old 02-18-2008, 04:21 PM   #18
*2nd nature fabrication*
 
93blazer4dr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,907
Location: louisville ky
User is: OffLine
Re: 305 bored over .030 what to do help!!!!!!!!

will do thanks for the help guys and the truck is still stuck in the mub and now i got the flu
but how do i get ahold of him or how do i look him up on here ?? i put the sn in the search but it came up with nothing

Last edited by 93blazer4dr; 02-18-2008 at 04:22 PM.
Old 02-18-2008, 11:30 PM   #19
376ci LSX MCSS? Say what?
 
llorracs93s10's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7,588
Location: Middletown, DE
User is: OffLine
Re: 305 bored over .030 what to do help!!!!!!!!

72Vega_91S-10 put this in the sn part of the search. he also has a thread in the v8 section that you can look up to get his sn.
Old 02-19-2008, 09:31 AM   #20
LSx and V8 Mod
 
SweetS10V8's Avatar
 
Age: 36
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,204
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 305 bored over .030 what to do help!!!!!!!!

Quote: Originally Posted by 93blazer4dr
so since the motor is bored out. it doesnt help or do much??
Exactly, its not even worth talking about. All it does is say you had cylinder walls that needed cleaned up. People like to use it like a punch line, such as "4 bolt main" or "160* T-stat". All which dont really matter in most cases. Some people are also just stupid when they go from a standard bore to the maximun bore just to try to eek a few cubic inches out of the engine.

Think about it, if your engine needs to go .020 over and you take it .060 over just for the heck of it, you just missed at least two more rounds of rebuilds that the block was good for.

For the love of God, dont go around calling your 305 a 310 since its .030 over, its still a 305.
Old 02-19-2008, 03:15 PM   #21
Trust Me
 
The Griff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,491
Location: Zegema Beach
User is: OffLine
Re: 305 bored over .030 what to do help!!!!!!!!

Quote: Originally Posted by SweetS10V8
Exactly, its not even worth talking about. All it does is say you had cylinder walls that needed cleaned up. People like to use it like a punch line, such as "4 bolt main" or "160* T-stat". All which dont really matter in most cases. Some people are also just stupid when they go from a standard bore to the maximun bore just to try to eek a few cubic inches out of the engine.

Think about it, if your engine needs to go .020 over and you take it .060 over just for the heck of it, you just missed at least two more rounds of rebuilds that the block was good for.

For the love of God, dont go around calling your 305 a 310 since its .030 over, its still a 305.
quoted
Old 02-19-2008, 09:27 PM   #22
L98 Blazer
 
j_slezak187's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 519
Location: Rhode Island
User is: OffLine
Re: 305 bored over .030 what to do help!!!!!!!!

im no engine builder, but it seems to me that a 262 grind or so would be plenty for a stock motor. pardon the pun, but the hot cam all the L03 guys on TGO are using is the LT1 cam. however, this is only for roller motors.
Old 02-19-2008, 10:31 PM   #23
CHANGE YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 419
Location: wpb fl
User is: OffLine
Re: 305 bored over .030 what to do help!!!!!!!!

The biggest cam I'd use in a street driven 305 would be a comp's 268 or crane 272 a 280 in a 305 wouldn't be fun on the street. What you need is at minmum is the 305 4bbl heads or a set of 305 vortec heads will have the right combution chamber cc and remember don't use over 1.94 intake valves or they will hit,don't use 350 heads. It won't make power without good heads no matter what cam you us.

Last edited by ezrollin; 02-19-2008 at 10:36 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
SEO by vBSEO
vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.